Curve Today; 8/8 Garth AMPS 117, +2 149, +4 111, +6 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

StefO

Member Since 2017
8/8 Garth AMPS 117, +2 149, +4 111, +6 154

We haven't been able to do much between shot testing, so since I have to time today, I am doing a curve.

I like the looks of these numbers since we were in the red for most of last week, but I know things can change at any moment.

Unfortunately, we have not been able to get syringes with half unit markings, but I chose to reduce his dose from 3U to 2U when his number was under 200 a few days ago. Now we know what to ask for

We are off the Seafood FF and onto the Poultry & Beef with freeze dried chicken treats. He still cries all day, every day for food tho.

I'm not sure if he is constipated but he only wants to poop on my upstairs bath mat! He is now quarantined to the kitchen downstairs and no accidents to report of. (It's been 3 days.) I put some plastic wrap in his litter in hopes of being able to test his urine. I haven't had any success yet, mostly because he prefers peeing elsewhere.

Can he still be at risk for DKA with lower BG? Just curious....in the mornings, he does this chomping this with his teeth and I thought his breath smelled sweet but I am also one of those paranoid moms!
 
It would be good if you could get urine testing done, on fresh urine. With those BG numbers, they are pretty good. I'm pretty sure DKA occurs as much lower levels. You also need to ensure he is getting enough food.

One of my goals is to ensure Leo has a little fat on him. That way he gets thru the lean spots in the day. And there are occasional periods of 2-5 days where he eats less. So the fat gets him through that too. The opposite is to have a real thin cat, and they are harder to regulate, and are more prone to big issues when they have eating issues.
 
I was bummed that his PMPS was 351! but 164 for todays AMPS

I was able to collect a urine sample last night, he tested negative for ketones but there was a color change for leukocytes, however, the internet has said that urine test strips can often test falsely.

I am giving him 4 cans of FF a day, 1 can every 6 hours and he does get treats often, whether it is freeze dried chicken or bonito flakes. our home scale shows that he has gained 4oz but still hovering around 10lbs, which 8 months ago, he was 15lbs! Hoping to see some changes with the switch from seafood to poultry/beef
 
That all sounds good. I am very conservative, and afraid of hypos. So you dosed when Garth was 120 yesterday, then you monitored closely. I don't dose Leo if he is under 200. But if I did, I would also monitor closely like you did.

Garth's recent numbers look good. A good goal would be to get Garth back to his target weight. If you regulate him, he can eat as much FF or chicken as he wants until he gets back to a healthy weight. From his chart, it looks like he had some very high numbers. At those numbers his body was just dumping the calories that he was eating. It is always a challenge to balance intake while balancing BG.

Kudos to you on keeping the chart updated. If you can take more nadir (6hr) readings, it will show whether the insulin is getting his BG down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top