Curve ?'s and Weight loss diet ?'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

krazy4kritters

Member Since 2018
I am currently doing a curve test on Diamond. This is day eight of insulin. I feel like I've been left high and dry with my vet as far as how to proceed with his care after he was diagnosed. I wasn't, told if or when I should bring him back for another appointment. She knew I planned on home testing but didn't tell me what I was looking for. I was told I should not adjust his dose without talking to them first. She did mention she had one client who did but frowned on that. After reading a lot and taking advice from the wonderful people on the FDMB I've thrown that thinking pretty much out the door.
So, what am I looking for in this curve? How often should I be doing it? How do I know his dose is correct?

Now, on to my "tubby kins" losing weight. We did discuss weight loss. She is under the impression "canned food is canned food". I know better than that. I switched to mainly fancy feast classic with some Solistice, and Tiki cat. But, the fat content in Fancy Feast is higher than the protein. I don't think that is helping him lose weight. He has neuropathy and doesn't move around much. Hell he didn't move around much before either. Helping with his bulging waistline I'm sure. I'm not opposed to making my own food. I actually plan on it. But I need to take baby steps financially. I know a grinder and start up vitamins are going to be quite a start up expense. Hopefully I can order a scale next week. Any advice on a canned food with low carbs and higher protein that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. I have a print out copy of Dr. Lisa's canned foods and bring it with me to the store. Or I reference it off my phone when cat food shopping. Take me forever. People probably think I'm nuts!
 
Congratulations on testing at home!! that's great

The idea behind doing a curve is to see how he's reacting to the insulin during the day to find out what his nadir (lowest number ) is and determine if you need to raise or lower his dose, considering that what you want to achieve is that he can have normal blood glucose numbers, that of course takes time sometimes even months so be patient, so far his numbers look good considering you just started giving him insulin.


How often you have to do a curve and how to adjust the dose depends on his numbers of course, but also on the protocol you will be following, have you decided if you are going to follow Tight regulation (TR) or Start low go slow (SLGS)?

Since you are on Lantus you could take a look at the latus/levemir forum and post your questions, even your daily results there

On a general guideline and according with SLGS protocol I'm copying the paragraph below) and looking his numbers I think you should consider raising his dose to 1.25units

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
I guess I'm on the SLGS method since he started on 1U. I had read some of the info you linked right after Dx and before I started insulin but it was a lot to take in (still is) and didn't fully understand. I wanted to try the TR method because it seems to have the best outcome for remission. But, he should have started on like 2.5U. I know remission is a goal. I'm really hoping at some point I can get there. My life now revolves around Diamond. I can't go on vacation or leave the house for more than 12 hrs now because I'm the only one he trusts to even be pet by.
 
I guess I'm on the SLGS method since he started on 1U. I had read some of the info you linked right after Dx and before I started insulin but it was a lot to take in (still is) and didn't fully understand. I wanted to try the TR method because it seems to have the best outcome for remission. But, he should have started on like 2.5U. I know remission is a goal. I'm really hoping at some point I can get there. My life now revolves around Diamond. I can't go on vacation or leave the house for more than 12 hrs now because I'm the only one he trusts to even be pet by.

I know the feeling, I pretty much have the same situation with Babu, I'm the only one that can shoot or test him, I did eventually managed to arrange with the vet to go to my house or send a vet tech to shoot when I couldn't

If you can test enough and if he's already switched to wet food completely you could do TR, you can consider 1 unit as your starting dose and take it from there but remission can be achieved also with SLGS
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top