Curve issues

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have not been testing very regularly and do not have to add testing to my sheet right now, But I ran a curve yesterday and am a little stumped. AMPS was 267 I shot 4 units which is what I have been doing for a long time. At +5 reading was 31. Freaked out and fed him some food with gravy. At +6 he was 110, at +9 he was 132, at + 11 he was 178, so did not shoot at +12. Then at +14 he was 417 so I shot 3. This morning which is +8 from last shot he is 202. I leave for work in 20 minutes and will not shoot. I am going to break from work some how at about +12 for this cycle. Do I stick with 3 units, go back to 4? I know it depends on reading. How do I get back on my regular schedule which is 3 hours off now?
 
If you can monitor, I would shoot. It is very hard to give advice based on one cycle. It is clear 4 units was too much. IF you can monitor carefully, you might shoot 2.5? My theory is that you can always raise the dose on the next cycle, but you can't get the insulin out of the cat once shot. To get back to your schedule, give the shot 30 minutes early for the next few cycles as long as the number is rising, not falling and is over 200. The lower dose of 2.5 might help you do this safely.
 
Hi Ron, and good catch with that 31. Sue's dosing is a good choice for now but it would really help if you can get your SS updated and test more so that we can see what is going on with Felix. How is he otherwise? Eating okay? Litterbox habits? Is he active and purring and preening himself?
 
So at the +12 this morning I shot 2 instead of 2.5. A little unsure of things. But now I just got home tested him at +7 and he is 377. What the heck! He was 246 this morning at +12. Guess I will give 3 later like I did last night. Yes I will start testing when I can. I have a hectic schedule. You know, he is in every way himself. Almost like the diabetes does not affect him. The only time he seems odd is the hour or two after the shot. He seems more lethargic and goes off to bed by himself for a few hours. But of course we know cats sleep a lot anyway. But he just seems off for that time.
 
I will do that. I just thought since he shot up so high it might be best. But you are right, better safe than sorry. Thanks for all the help!! This forum has been awesome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top