Curve Day - Thoughts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tupelo

Member Since 2021
We are doing a Curve Day for Sherlock. His numbers appear to be good? I am thinking we need to reduce his dosage, but not 100% sure.

Thoughts?
 
Based on this:

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
It would seem that we should be reducing to 1.75 or even 1.5.
 
From the information your posted, it looks like you're following Start Low Go Slow as your dosing strategy. The drop below 90 warrants a dose reduction of 0.25u.

Let me offer a few thoughts.
  • Please get tests during the PM cycle. You're seeing dose reduction worthy numbers during the AM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. You may have missed low numbers. It's not only important to know if a dose reduction is indicated, it's important to have that data so you can keep Sherlock safe. Further, without PM tests, you're missing half of your data.
  • Lantus dosing is based on the nadir (i.e., the lowest number in the cycle) and not on the pre-shot numbers. I'm not quite sure what you're basing your dosing decisions on.
  • Because Lantus is a depot type of insulin, you need to hold doses for several days after a dose change in order for the depot to stabilize.
  • Lantus also does best if you are dosing every 12-hours. I'm not sure if the lack of information at shot times means that you skipped a dose or just forgot to enter the information.
If you've not read the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board, you may want to familiarize yourself with that information. You may want to consider posting there since it is where the majority of Lantus users post.
 
Did you see Wendy's post on your other thread?

"Upper green is good, too low green is hypo range. That's why the spreadsheet switches to lime green below 68 on the AT. It's a "pay attention" and feed higher carbs number.
I disagree with your vet on the no testing. If you hadn't been testing lately, you wouldn't have caught the fact that the dose was too high and he was in hypo range. Not all cats show signs when they are in low numbers."

You NEED to test every day. And to keep testing if you get a number in the 50s or 60s. That can be very dangerous if Sherlock goes lower and you have not tested. Any number 68 or lower, PLEASE feed Sherlock and get another test in 20 minutes.

It's great that you did a curve, but next time don't wait two hours to test again if you get a 59. Especially so soon after giving insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top