Curve day again - thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bree & Misty

Member Since 2021
Hi,
Another curve, this one is not nearly as good as last week's :( why so high and flat?
What should I do with the dose, if anything?
@Bron and Sheba (GA) you told me I could tag you in this on my last post.
Any thoughts?
Thanks!
 
Hi Bree, yes I think you can increase the dose to 1.25 units.
It’s important though that you get a test in every pm cycle if you can. A before bed test is a good habit to get into. If that test is lower than the preshot BG, I would set the alarm and get up check it again later. Cats often go lower at night.
 
Hi Bree, yes I think you can increase the dose to 1.25 units.
It’s important though that you get a test in every pm cycle if you can. A before bed test is a good habit to get into. If that test is lower than the preshot BG, I would set the alarm and get up check it again later. Cats often go lower at night.
Thanks for the help :) a couple questions though,
Any idea why this curve was so much worse than the last on the exact same dose?
Also, we reduced from 1.25 just a few weeks ago because she went below 90. Won't she just go low again and have to lower back to 1?
I can definitely get a before bed test every night, I need to be better at that. Although, the before bed test seems to be at least a little lower than the preshot most nights, and I really can't afford to lose that much sleep more than maybe once a week. On weekends it's doable, weekdays are a different story. Any ideas?
 
Any idea why this curve was so much worse than the last on the exact same dose?
It could be because she is bouncing this last curve, but we can’t see where from because there were no tests in the pm cycle the last three nights. Or she may just need the dose increasing.
Also, we reduced from 1.25 just a few weeks ago because she went below 90. Won't she just go low again and have to lower back to 1?
Not necessarily. Things change all the time. What happened a couple of weeks ago, won’t necessarily happen again. But you will have to keep testing.

I can definitely get a before bed test every night, I need to be better at that. Although, the before bed test seems to be at least a little lower than the preshot most nights, and I really can't afford to lose that much sleep more than maybe once a week. On weekends it's doable, weekdays are a different story. Any ideas?
It will be trial and error and you will get to know her cycles. If the before bed test is at +2 or +3 and it has dropped a lot then I think you will need to get up and test again. For example on 8/10 the BG dropped from 439 to 245 at +3..that is a big drop and she most likely dropped further. But if the before bed test is around +5 when she is getting near nadir, you could just leave some food out for her.
 
It could be because she is bouncing this last curve, but we can’t see where from because there were no tests in the pm cycle the last three nights. Or she may just need the dose increasing.

Not necessarily. Things change all the time. What happened a couple of weeks ago, won’t necessarily happen again. But you will have to keep testing.


It will be trial and error and you will get to know her cycles. If the before bed test is at +2 or +3 and it has dropped a lot then I think you will need to get up and test again. For example on 8/10 the BG dropped from 439 to 245 at +3..that is a big drop and she most likely dropped further. But if the before bed test is around +5 when she is getting near nadir, you could just leave some food out for her.
Thanks for the reply. I always auto feed her at +3 and +6, so that part is covered.
At what amount of bg drop would you say I absolutely have to get up again and test? Say I take the before bed test at +3, how much of a drop would nessecitate getting up again?
 
Thanks for the reply. I always auto feed her at +3 and +6, so that part is covered.
At what amount of bg drop would you say I absolutely have to get up again and test? Say I take the before bed test at +3, how much of a drop would nessecitate getting up again?
That is good you have the automatic feeder
Any drop at +3 and I would test again. Once you get to know her cycles, you may feel confident to just leave out extra food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top