Curve Completed- dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily Alsip

Member Since 2022
I did a curve at home today after realizing I hadn't gotten any mid cycle numbers (let alone a curve!) in a very long time.

Preshot was 158. That's very typical for her... ranges from 140s-180s.

+2 was 75
+4 was 81
+6 was 95
+8 was 121
+10 was 154
+12 was 167

Opinions on what it means that she dropped so fast and +2 was her lowest number?

Should we stay at 0.1U 2x daily or are there any changes you'd make?

She's had access to her typical wet foods throughout the day. She eats the Weruva Wx line. Ate about 1.5 three oz cans today and I just fed her another.

Her dose is 0.1 Lantus. I use the Freestyle Precision Neo meter. She's also on 2.5mg prednisolone daily and Chlorambucil every other day.


THANK YOU!
 
Yes I would stay with that dose….see further down…changed
However I would encourage you to get some mid cycle tests in as you have very few midcycle tests since October. You really need to try and get at least one mid cycle test on each cycle to see what is happening with the dose.
Not sure why she dropped early. Not much data to go on. She could have an early onset.
Or she could have been coming off a bounce although she did have a mid cycle green yesterday.
Could you put SLGS into the SS please?
As you are following SLGS you earned a reduction to a drop of insulin
Do you know how to do a drop?
 
Last edited:
Happy Cat Year! I don't have any solid advice for you, very sorry. Holland had a beautiful run today. Drops low early to the lagoon then gradually comes up to sun at the beach. You're following SLGS so your dose changes are going to be gradual.
Copied/pasted:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Nadir was early @ +2
Copied/Pasted:

nadir:
The lowest point on a BG curve, often considered the same as the peak insulin reading.

Maybe Holland didn't have sufficient food on board to combat the insulin thus the early nadir? Or maybe there's some steroid influence from the pred?
According to SLGS you should be reducing Holland's dose. More peeps will come along and offer advice.

If you can try to post on the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilar Forum. There's lots of peeps on that forum with experience that can offer advice and keep their peepers on yens!;):bighug::bighug:

 
I have a really hard time getting extra readings. I typically am away at work 7:30-6:00, and she's also a special girl from a hoarding situation. There are still times I just can't get hands on her. Prior to her diagnosis I had never once picked her up in 13 years. To do the curve today, I had to keep her crated. So while I'd like to get more tests in, my schedule and her temperament are hurdles. I'll do my best.
 
I have a really hard time getting extra readings. I typically am away at work 7:30-6:00, and she's also a special girl from a hoarding situation. There are still times I just can't get hands on her. Prior to her diagnosis I had never once picked her up in 13 years. To do the curve today, I had to keep her crated. So while I'd like to get more tests in, my schedule and her temperament are hurdles. I'll do my best.
Ok. That is all you can do. You may have read my answer before I changed something after I saw the SLGS next to the SS in your signature. Could you read my answer again please.
 
I have heard people talk about a drop dose but I don't feel very confident doing it. Even the 0.1U... when I squirt it out on the counter just to see if it's uniform all the time, it's really not.
 
I have heard people talk about a drop dose but I don't feel very confident doing it. Even the 0.1U... when I squirt it out on the counter just to see if it's uniform all the time, it's really not.
Ok to get a drop, you push the plunger of the syringe in and hold it down.
Then you put the needle into the insulin container and let go of the plunger then take it out of the insulin container.
There should be a drop in the syringe.

I would try it a few times to practise with a used syringe and some water. Push the dose out to see you have draw up a drop.
Let me know how you go with it.
 
It will look like there is nothing in the syringe but there is
After you insert the needle into him, push the plunger and count to ten if he will let you.. Also can you please add SLGS to your spreadsheet :cat:
 
Thank you! I will practice as suggested.

So continue with a drop dose for a week and then do another curve?
 
Emily --

You do what you can. Like you, I was working full time and Gabby's full time caregiver. The big difference seems to be she would put up with my poking and I was a testaholic primarily because she would drop into low numbers early in the cycle.

You asked about the +2. Not all cats read the rule book and have their nadir at +6. Gabby was a prime example. Her nadir was at around +2 or +3 -- except those cycles when it wasn't. It helps to remember that nadirs can, and do vary. Some cats have an early or late nadir.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top