Curt lower than normal BG and shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThomasCat

Member
Curt is on 1 unit of Pro Zinc every 12 hours. Well this morning I slept thru the alarm clock and his shot was a little over an hour late. Tonight at +10 he is only at 177. Usually at that time he is approaching 300 or higher. Should I reduce to .75 or maybe no shot at all? Im actually about to leave for the evening and would hate to come home to a hypoing cat. Whats the safe thing to do?
 
Has he eaten? If not, is there any chance you can wait 20 minutes and test again to see if he goes up to 200? Do you have a number before this one so you know whether he is headed up or down?
 
That was his first test today. I may test again in a few. (his poor ears are so tore up:() He is acting like he is starving, but wouldnt eat much earlier. He really wants the dry food and im not letting him have it. Ill let you know in a few what his next number is.
 
No shot. He is continuing to go down; you don't want to shoot a number that isn't rising.

Could be that the dose needs to be reduced. Could be that his pancreas is waking up.

Remember, tomorrow morning it will be 24 hours since his last shot so he will probably be high. You won't want to react to that. I would reduce the dose a little - maybe .50 - especially if you won't be home.

Maybe you can get a curve this weekend and decide about a dose adjustment.

I am so glad you are testing!
 
Wow, he is still only 202 at +18. Could this be pancreas????? I have time before work in the morning I may test again, but do you think i should just go with .5 or .75 since I will be gone at work all day??
 
also, if its worth anything, he has eaten 5 times since his last shot, all wet food of course, and acts like he's starving (like he used to back when he was 20 pounds and healthy)
 
Great number! Definitely test him before the morning shot, he may go back down if it is the pancreas... I would also think about a lower dose no matter what number you get

Carl
 
I will be at work during the morning and afternoon, but home evenings.. decided not to shoot again, will see at +36 what he is. may go with .5 or something if its above 200.
 
Mini dosing is tricky, but the best way to handle off schedule numbers under 200. You set a target number - somewhere in your comfort zone, maybe between 180 -200. When he reaches that number, and you are sure he is rising, you mini dose (again somewhere in your comfort zone .2 - .5). Then you monitor. The next time he goes up there again, you mini dose. It seldom falls into a 12/12 schedule.

Check out Cello's spreadsheet. She mini dosed for several weeks getting her cat OTJ.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/lv?key=0ApRoVAkSuXuUdDltSnA3ZFVHQ3BUdlNLanJYRkQzSnc
 
What time does Curt eat supper?

You might try to test before feeding, test again about 60-90 minutes later (should be higher), then test about an hour later to see if it dropped. If so, his body is trying to regulate itself. That would be great to see. If he hasn't had insulin for 2.5 days, then obviously that sort of thing is going on. It may continue, but give you even lower numbers each cycle.... awesome.

Carl
 
He eats a whole can of wet food at 8 am and 8 pm... im out of the house most day between those times so i leave a half can or so out for him and the civvies to nibble on. Then around 12 or 1 am he gets a part of a can before I hit the hay... So pretty much 2 big meals and then nibbles the rest of the day. I always test before eating and then a few hours after the shot. All of his numbers are on his spreadsheet so far. Just got home and about to test at PMPS time... his water bowl is still full and he seems very happy and energetic.. so im betting his numbers are still good but im about to find out!!!! We are at 36 hrs since last shot almost. Paws crossed!! :)
 
Okay so like i said its been 36 hours... hes back up to 252 just now. What would be the recommended dose? Im thinking .5, but would feel better if I had some more advice.
 
I always test before eating and then a few hours after the shot. All of his numbers are on his spreadsheet so far.
Just to clarify.... I was talking about doing all that without a shot. Like if he doesn't need a shot at PMPS, feed him, test him an hour or so later, then an hour after that, so you can see if the BG rises (from food) and then drops when his pancreas reacts to the rise. If he does need a shot, then you don't need to do all that.
Here's to hoping you get to try it!
Carl
 
ahh, we did that last night.. he was 177 at +10 and then 150 at pm pre shot. Fed him at shot time but didnt give shot. at +18 he was 202, and then at AM preshot he was 182. So he did drop on his own with no shot after eating. Now hes at 252 and starving... waiting to hear what I should do, feed him and maybe give a small dose and test later on?
 
Thanks everyone!!! I will be giving .5 and then I have to leave for my other job but will be back in 5 hrs to test. 252 pre feeding and .5 being gone for 5 hours should be safe right? Sorry for being difficult, I just want my Curt to be safe. :)
 
No, you aren't being difficult, so don't worry about that.
I'm probably being a little bit dense :-D
He should be fine on that dose, and you'll be back before nadir, so yeah, no worries. Unfortunately, may not be too many people still up at +5, but if you need help or advise, check who might be online, if not in PZI, then in Health. I think it's all good.

Carl
 
Well today was a day of two tests over 400, following 2 days of no shots and tests near 100. Ive made some discoveries/observations: As bad as his neuropathy has been at times, I came home from work tonight and caught him jumped up on the table with his head shoved in the dry food bag. Theres no telling how many times he did this throughout the 11 hours I was gone today, with his little head shoved in the bag munching away. :lol: It may even be the reason it was so high this morning. Other than a possible sputter of life from his pancreas, the lower readings from thursday and friday may have been diet related. Thursday I started him on pate style beef and liver cans... and Seafood feast... prior to that he was eating FF classics with the Turkey. Perhaps the FF was higher in carbs? Going to completely hide the dry food where Mr. Curt cant get to it for sure, and only feed the pate style cans and see where it leaves him tomorrow. Back to shooting 1 unit. :/
 
Sounds like a plan, Curt. Yes, the dry can mess up all your plans. You might put it into a plastic sealable box. (or give it to the Humane Society)
 
I am glad you caught him! I'd bet that is why the 400s showed up.
The boost from the dry will clear by tomorrow, so keep an eye out for lower numbers...
 
That is great knowledge to have. Some day soon, when someone needs to be convinced to ditch the dry food, you can chime in with "My Curt got into the dry stash and it raised his BG 200 points or more". It might help someone decide to switch to canned...

Much nicer numbers!
Carl
 
He was only 120 at Amps after a reduced dose last
night! He really seemed like his old self this
morning, he was able to jump on the bed, was wrestling
with his brother, etc. Curt might be OTJ soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top