Currier is Going Home

Status
Not open for further replies.
dancing_cat Welcome Home Soon Currier!! dancing_cat

Currier.jpg


His blog page is here. I am always so relieved when the shelter diabetics are sprung.

Don (of Cubby, Gus, Camille, Toby, and Tommy) is bringing Currier home next Saturday. I will spring him from the Montgomery County Humane Society on Saturday morning. He will go onto Lantus once he gets to Don's home.
 
(((Don))) You are amazing. Thank you for opening your heart and your home to another beautiful sugar kitty. Way to go Currier, you hit the jackpot :mrgreen:
 
Don has Currier and is about 30 minutes away from home. Currier was sleeping with his head in Don's lap when Don called.

Currier will be switching from ProZinc to Lantus. He was on 6.5U BID at the shelter. When Stefani and I got him to home last night, Currier was 174 at +12, 201 at +14, and 259 at +15.5. Lacking Lantus and not wanting to open an unused bottle of ProZinc for one shot, we gave Currier a fat .5U Levemir at +15.5. This morning at +9.5, he was 110. We did not give Currier a shot before transport. He will start Lantus this afternoon. We have great hopes that Don will break Currier soon.

Currier is a big boy. Not quite as big as Brady or Sillci were when they were rescued, but darned close. Currier is a totally round boy with four short legs. He does seem to be a Russian Blue in coat and attitude. He was frightened at Stefani's house and hissed at me from his bathtub hideaway when I approached him this morning, but as soon as I climbed into the tub with him, he started purring and body-bumping me. His coat is a little coarse and dandruffy, but with better food (previously DM dry and wet) and regulation, I expect that will soon clear up.

As you might be able to see in Larry's picture, Currier has a cauliflower ear. (Shades of Vinnie.) The ear canal is closed, but it appears clean and pest-free. The name he had before he was renamed by the shelter was Floppy.

Currier was adopted off the street as a young adult in 2005. He was surrendered to the shelter because his owner "couldn't care for him" and "suspected diabetes." The records subsequently acquired from his vet show that Floppy has been DX diabetic a month earlier and was on 3U of insulin when he was surrendered.

Don believes he will keep the name Currier.
 
Currier is doing fine. When i checked him this aftrnoon around 2:00 his bg was 387 and, by 4:30 he was at 421. I was going to start him at .5 but, because he was climing I gave him 1.0 unit instead. I checked at +3 and he had dropped to 300. I did not think he would drop that much or I would have gone with maybe .75 unit as a start. I will stay up to get a +6 and see what the mourning brings. May have to drop .25 depending on the +6. Curriers ears were dirty once I started cleaning and saw what was coming out. I flushed both ears and the semi closed one twice. Got a lot of dirt out of both. I gave him some gentamicin sulfate in both ears and will continue for a week. I will get him to the vet as soon as I can to have his ear looked at. I hope in time that toby, thomas and currier can go without insulin karen and be able to maintain on diet alone. There is plenty of room for me lisa. To me, these guys are what makes this house into a home. As long as I do not snore, thomas said I can share the bed with them. I am still there. I want to thank everyone who helped today in getting currier to me, Venita, Stefani, Larry, and raggy. I really appreciate you guys. It is always me who hits the jackpot Jennifer. I know they appreciate it to.
 
Just a quick update on thomas toby & currier. Both thomas & toby have been on 1. unit BID for 5 days now and are staying under 100. Currier has been on 1.5 units BID (same time frame) and is staying under 150. I have attempted to decrease everyones dose but that has resulted in higher bg's. My goal is to, at minimum, keep them way under 200. That is so far done. I will not attempt another reduction in dose until I see something happening with them. If this is where they are happy and feeling good, then I have done my job and I know they should be ok. Always hoping they will eventually be able to be diet controlled, time will tell.

don
 
Hi Hope,
you had asked about camille. she is doing great, her bgs remain in the 50's on just wet food alone. I spot check her when she helps with meal prep. toby is trying to help with meal prep now. camille is very playful and affectionate. could not have picked a better addition to my little family.

don
 
I did not realize that some were checking back to this post. Sorry everyone. Out of the 3, thomas is so far maintaining the best. He now gets only .5 BID and stays within 70-125 range. Currier is next at 1. BID and stays within 70-140. Toby has climed to 2. BID and stays within 100-230, not the best. I am not sure what is going on with toby since he was hovering between 80-190 and only 1.5 BID. I think he has caught URI some of the others still have since I noticed him sneezing a little while back. Close to the time he started climbing a bit. My vet is waiting until I get my Fed taxes back, the we will check everybody. Chubby and camille are both staying within the 50-60 range and doing great on diet alone. Jr had a small lump on the back of his neck, the vet said he could not see anything. So far it has done nothing so I am happy. I had to watch peepot leave because of fibrosarcoma, not an easy thing to watch. All the rest of the dingbats are doing good and keeping life interesting. Hopefully in the near future I will be able to switch TT&C to fancy feast and see what even lower carbs will do for them. Mixed grill is about double the carbs as fancy feast but, to keep everybody on wet now, thats all I can do. Toby and currier need to lose a few pounds also. That should help them come down given nothing else is wrong. Well, its time for toby's +6 check, thomas and currier will have to donate also.

don
 
Peepot(GA)

Don, you have my deepest sympathy on the loss of Peepot. Love the name, pretty kitty, and so sad. No, it is never easy knowing and watching the cancer take them and we miss them so much even when we have a lot of other kitties to help us......we miss them. Each so unique and so dearly missed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top