Crushy: BG still high after 3 days on 1 unit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
I was chasing Crushy's BG with different doses and decided to try 1 unit for a while to see if it stabilized. After 3 days Its still really high though. Im leaning toward going up 1/2 unit but wanted to run it by you guys. Should I give it more time?

#s in his SS

I finally got an amps this morning (woot!) but it was 407 :?

My autofeeder arrived today so hopefully that will help things too

Thanks!
Michele
 
I'd think I'd hold the dose for another few cycles. Looks to me like Crushy may be bouncing from that low of 191 the other day. We need to let the bounce clear, and that can take up to 72 hours. After that, we can reevaluate.

It's a little tricky to make a suggestion, because we don't have those pre-shot numbers to put the other mid-cycle test numbers into some sort of a context. In other words, he dropped to 191 on 8/28 but how high was he before he got the insulin, how far did the insulin drop him?

Remember to try for those night time tests. If you aren't testing at night beyond your PMPS, you're missing half your data. We suggest at least 'one last test before you go to bed test' test, to see how Crushy is doing at night.

I do think that being more consistent on the dosing will help us to see what is going on. Glad you decided to hold the dose steady for a few cycles. We recommend holding a dose for a minimum of 6 cycles, sometimes up to 14 cycles, to see how your cat is doing.
 
Thanks Deb. Ill go ahead and hold the dose for a while and get some more night time and amps. His ears are bleeding a lot more and the new meter is so much easier that I actually feel like this is doable.

Its hard when I see the #s so high though! :sad:

Which feeder did you end up getting?

I got the cat mate c20 but it doesnt work...at all. I have to send it back and get another sent next week....arg

Michele
 
Have to agree with Deb. Some cats take much longer to settle into a dose than others. Some settle in 3-5 days, but there are some here that take 10-14 days. My Lucian is unpredictable, but it still usually takes him 5-7 days. Don't rush it, give him time. cat_pet_icon

You're doing really well hon! Try to get that 'Before Bed Test', last thing before you turn in. All tests are data, all data is info. The more info you have, the better you can take care of your sugarkitty. :thumbup

Hang in there. I know how hard it is dealing with high numbers. There were months when 400 was a relief for us! My boy came home from the vet at over 700.

It'll get better, it takes time. Break out your Patience Pants! I have some in Leopard print if you wanna borrow them. ;-) :-D
 
nckitties3 said:
It'll get better, it takes time. Break out your Patience Pants! I have some in Leopard print if you wanna borrow them. ;-) :-D

Patience pants! ha! yea I definitely need those...

Im hanging in there though, thanks for the support :smile:

Michele
 
Must have been a bad one. I have 2 and never had a problem. I think Cedric's has had the same battery for the past 2 years. Dallas' sits in the cupboard, as he doesn't eat (apparently) when I am not home. I found out Cedric was eating the food out of both feeders, so....if you lived nearby I'd loan you my extra, but it looks like your town is not posted ------>
You can still put out a frozen portion, your cat will just eat it when it thaws and that might be sooner than planned, but better than nothing. That is what I did while waiting for my cat mate.
 
Ok, the patience pants lending closet is open. What is your favorite color? Here are a pair to tide you over until I can get you your favorite color.

Yes, a change in meters to one that uses that smaller 0.3 microliter blood drop can make all the difference in getting those BG tests.

You are doing well so far. I know the high numbers are scary, but "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."

Keep on posting here and you will get lots of help. The Relaxed Lantus forum tends to be quieter, so if you need an immediate answer, post in Feline Health or Lantus TR group. Be sure to put the question mark icon on your post so people know you need an answer. There are just so many people posting in those forums, it takes time to get around to answering everyone.
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 421
Glad I listened to you guys and held the dose! He was at 185 at +6 today. He was super relaxed and sleeping outside right before I tested him. I wonder if that had anything to do with it.

doombuggy said:
Must have been a bad one. I have 2 and never had a problem.

I think it was just a fluke. It looks like a good product just not the one I got

You can still put out a frozen portion, your cat will just eat it when it thaws and that might be sooner than planned, but better than nothing. That is what I did while waiting for my cat mate.

not a bad idea. He might just eat it frozen but Ill give it a shot

Ok, the patience pants lending closet is open. What is your favorite color? Here are a pair to tide you over until I can get you your favorite color.

rainbow jeans.png
ha! those are hysterical! very festive :lol:

Michele
 
AH HA. See you are in Austin. My aunt lives in Austin. I am outside of Orlando, so sorry you can't borrow my extra auto feeder. :-D
 
Good job on that +6 Crushy!! :RAHCAT

Hey momma, why don't you start a new condo for Crushy daily or when you can, so we can keep up with him. Always good to see how the numbers are going. :thumbup

Could be it just takes him a little longer to settle into his dose, gotta have those patience pants! :-D
 
AH HA. See you are in Austin. My aunt lives in Austin. I am outside of Orlando, so sorry you can't borrow my extra auto feeder. :-D

yep that would be a bit of a commute. thanks for the offer though! :-D

Hey momma, why don't you start a new condo for Crushy daily or when you can, so we can keep up with him. Always good to see how the numbers are going. :thumbup

what is a condo? (still pretty new here) is that where you list his numbers for the day?

thanks
Michele
 
A condo is where you post the information for your cat.

Here’s how to post in ISG forums
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report)
- The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 06/23 CATname AMPS 400 +2 333 + 5 224. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You can update your subject as you get a reading, or whenever

- The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today CATname was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?

For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

If you can link the previous day's condo into each new day, then we can click on that link and go back and read some of the history.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top