Crushy-amps 416/pmps 468/amps 427/+7 538 - new to Lantus, dosage advice please

Looks like Crushy probably is going to need more insulin but with SLGS you hold the starting dose for a week before reevaluating and increasing if required. The only thing is you’ve gone from 1.75 U prozinc to only 1U lantus whereas we’d usually do a straight swap so I’m thinking you’d be ok to increase that little bit early. Lets see what others have to say.

I’m guessing you did shoot last night but you haven’t entered the shot in the spreadsheet ;)

Welcome to lantus land :cat:
 
Welcome to the LB&L Forum! I'm not very well versed in Prozinc except I understand it's a harsher insulin with a faster reaction time. Lantus, as you've probably already heard is a slower acting depot style insulin - meaning it takes a while to build up and then once it does the numbers are usually flatter...

I also noticed on your SS that you're leaving town for a few days - are you making arrangements for someone else to cover Crushy's insulin and testing routine while you're away? One of the joys of insulin is the requirement to stay consistent regardless of our schedules - sometimes it's a challenge - but if you plan ahead it'll work out.

Have a good day!
 
Thank you! I'm going to hold the dose until I get back from vacation ... that's probably safest and hopefully Crushy is still building her Lantus reserve and this 1.0 will work for her. Our Prozinc journey was such a nightmare -- I really don't know how much more I can handle.
 
I also noticed on your SS that you're leaving town for a few days - are you making arrangements for someone else to cover Crushy's insulin and testing routine while you're away?
Yes, I have someone staying at the house and she knows how to give insulin. I will probably put a Freestyle Libre on Crushy though so the petsitter can check bg levels. I'll call her this week and make sure the time I'm giving the insulin will work for her and if not, I'll have a week to adjust.
 
If you haven’t done already please print out the how to handle low numbers post from the top of this forum for your pet sitter, just in case. And you might like to give them your log in details for here to and have them keep your spreadsheet up to date, also just in case. When you’re prepared usually nothing happens :)
 
Back
Top