? Creamsicle's numbers confuse me- AMPS-265,+6-178,PMPS-472, +3.5-415

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caren and Creamsickle

Member Since 2017
Just wondering if anyone has any input on these bg #'s.
Since 4/27, Creamsicle's bg has been basically going down.
Today he had a +6 of 178, but since then its been in the 400's. Could this be a bounce? If it is I am confused as to why. Anyone can help me understand this.
Thanks!
 
Just wondering if anyone has any input on these bg #'s.
Since 4/27, Creamsicle's bg has been basically going down.
Today he had a +6 of 178, but since then its been in the 400's. Could this be a bounce? If it is I am confused as to why. Anyone can help me understand this.
Thanks!
Yes, the highs are from bouncing. The mid cycle blue was lower than he's been for a few days and that can trigger bouncing.
 
Hi there. Looks like you shot through the bounce on 4.23 after that 48 and then you reduced. And then Cream hit another 48 on the PM cycle and you reduced again the next AM . When reductions are too close together, they often fail. You did go back up to 1.5 on the AM of 4.27 and he did give you that blue today. I think I would hold the dose for another couple of cycles before increasing .
 
I didn't realize that the reductions were too close together. Just went by what others said and all that I read. I agree with you and I was going to keep this dose for more time. Thanks for the info. I feel like I'm understanding this and then something comes up that I just don't get! I appreciate your help.
 
I didn't realize that the reductions were too close together. Just went by what others said and all that I read. I agree with you and I was going to keep this dose for more time. Thanks for the info. I feel like I'm understanding this and then something comes up that I just don't get! I appreciate your help.
That's how we are feel early on in this dance. It takes situations to happen and then we learn. Sometime, I had to relearn..... Just keep asking questions. :cat:
 
You've correctly identified a bounce. Bounces are irritating but a normal response to either numbers dropping low (e.g., into the 40s), a fast drop in numbers in a short period of time, or a drop into a BG range that your cat is no longer used to spending time in. Since your kitty's liver and pancreas have "forgotten" what these lower numbers are like, there's an overreaction whereby a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones are dumped into the bloodstream. This causes numbers to spike upward. As Creamsickle begins to once again get used to spending time in normal range numbers, hopefully the bouncing will resolve. Basically, most cats experience bounces until they don't. It's a matter of being patient and waiting them out.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top