Creamsicle update- low numbers at +2- 86(alphatrak), 53 (relion)

Status
Not open for further replies.
He earned a reduction to 1.5u yesterday so not sure why you gave 1.75 today. Lantus is dosed on how low they go , not how high. He's bouncing today and it could take 6 cycles to clear. Please reduce his dose at PMPS . With SLGS you will hold this dose for 7 days and evaluate unless he drops below 90 then automatically reduce again
 
Yes exactly what I thought but my husband gave him his am dose and thought we were supposed to give 1.75. I thought he should stay at 1.5 u! We will do 1.5 this evening and keep it like that for the week, unless as you say, he goes below 90. 90 is on the pet alphatrak?
 
ok good. The protocols were written using a human meter. I would switch to the human meter and use the AT as a back up. Strips are much cheaper too
 
Caren --

What you/your husband inadvertently did was "shoot through the bounce." If a cat drops into dose reduction territory and at the next shot time, has bounced into high numbers (e.g., above 300), you can shoot your current dose one last time. This may help the bounce to clear. You would then reduce the dose the following cycle.

You may want to figure out a means to let your husband know when a dose reduction is needed. If he's the AM shot person, you may want to make sure he's looped in so there's not a problem in the future.
 
Give a tsp or two of high carb food and test again. This is too lie too early in the cycle.

You will get more eyes on the thread if you put the ? prefix on the subject title and update the title to show the latest numbers.
 
This is where I get confused. Obviously, the 1.5 was too much but are we going to keep going through this till we get the right amount of insulin? This has happened the past 2 days.
If he's under 200 should i hold the shot?
I just want to do the right thing for my little guy!
 
Have you changed his diet lately? That can impact insulin dose needs. A cat's pancreas can also heal, if they spend time in good numbers. Which is all to say that a good dose may be a moving target. The SLGS sticky note will guide you.

As people using SLGS gain experience, they do shoot lower, though it's recommended not to shoot below 90. Cycles are typically flatter the lower you shoot. Whether you shoot below 200 depends on your experience and data with Creamie and your ability to monitor to keep him safe, should he do anything silly.

Must be almost time for another test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top