? Creamsicle update-amps 319, +3 315, +6 322, pmps 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caren and Creamsickle

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...eamsicle-amps-351-7-327-pmps-285-3-80.177335/

Yesterday Creamie went into the green with an 80 at +3 after his evening dose. It went up to 151 at +6. This morning we are back to 300's and stayed there all day. Before that evening test we were ready to increase his dose for this morning.

Please help me with this. Everytime he gets a low number he bounces up. I feel like we are going in circles with this.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...eamsicle-amps-351-7-327-pmps-285-3-80.177335/

Yesterday Creamie went into the green with an 80 at +3 after his evening dose. It went up to 151 at +6. This morning we are back to 300's and stayed there all day. Before that evening test we were ready to increase his dose for this morning.

Please help me with this. Everytime he gets a low number he bounces up. I feel like we are going in circles with this.
I'm sorry to say but bouncy cats will bounce and there's not a heck of a lot you can do to control it. Sometimes feeding after a +2 test if that test shows a big drop in BG can help a little. Some kitties will stop bouncing eventually, some will have short bounces, some will bounce many cycles with each episode and some will bounce all the way to remission.
 
ok so basically stay at the same dose again for a few days and if he doesn't go back down then I would increase?
Start counting cycles since his green. This evening marks the start of cycle 2 since then. Assume a maximum of 6 cycles to clear a bounce. If there's no downward movement after those 6 cycles then you can increase by 0.25 u.
 
Looking at creamsicle's SS,
I think it's quite possible that he is dropping lower than you are catching in the early part of the cycle.

When you got that 80, he basically droped 200pts in 3hrs.
That's fast and in itself enough to trigger a bounce.

What can be helpful in cats that drop fast in the early part of the cycle is to catch them as they start to drop and try to flatten them out by steering with food. If you can slow the drop that can sometimes help with the bouncing.

I think it would be worth your while getting +1/and/or +2 tests when you are able to, with creamie, I think you might find those tests quite informative.

I think that creamie is clearing his bounces somewhere between 2-4cycles, last night he again was 150pts down by +3, that looks to me like him at least attempting to Clear his bounce, he may have even been on the way up by then it's possible he was lower at +2, that amount of movement may have even triggered another bounce. I would encourage you to get some checks at +1/+2 mark to see what's going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top