? creamsicle- AMPS- 392 (alpha), 407 (relion, +2- 388 (alpha), 335 (relion), PMPS- 300

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes he's bouncing and the new dose should be held for 7 days unless he drops below 90 again. Good job handling the lower numbers last night and congrats on the reduction.

Just a little side note. I understand using 2 meters but I'd limit that or you'll go insane. I was attached to my AT meter for a while until the cost of strips ate me alive and also the protocols used here are written with the human meter. Most of us "speak" human meter numbers but many do choose to use the AT. It's great to have the back up meter (either way) when numbers are lower. I'm just afraid some will get confused with both readings in one day like today. It's up to you though...just a quick thought on my end.
 
Thanks for all of the support. Couldn't do it without all of you.
I agree that using 2 meters is difficult and in someways confusing. I used the relion yesterday because( as you said) the numbers that are posted are based on human meters.
I wanted to see how they both compare. I guess it doesn't matter so much when the numbers are high; more important when they're low.

Hopefully we won't have another incident like yesterday. I guess I shouldn't have given him the full 1.5 dose when his bg was in the 170s.
I feel bad cause if I gave him less probably wouldn't have happened.

Thanks again for all of your help!
 
I feel bad cause if I gave him less probably wouldn't have happened.
You shouldn't beat yourself up. This is exactly how we learn to make dosing decisions. Every dose is an experiment from which we can draw a conclusion. The more experiments and their results on your SS, the better you can predict the effect of a dose down the line.

Good job getting through that scary lime green quick sand! :D
 
He'll go low again but that's a good thing. It's how they earn reductions and have the possibility to get off the juice! As long as you're testing you can keep him safe like you did last night! Follow his lead like you have been and lean on this group. We've all been in your shoes. The support here is amazing and has kept all of us beans from losing our minds:)
 
You shouldn't beat yourself up. This is exactly how we learn to make dosing decisions. Every dose is an experiment from which we can draw a conclusion. The more experiments and their results on your SS, the better you can predict the effect of a dose down the line.

Good job getting through that scary lime green quick sand! :D

Thanks!
 
He'll go low again but that's a good thing. It's how they earn reductions and have the possibility to get off the juice! As long as you're testing you can keep him safe like you did last night! Follow his lead like you have been and lean on this group. We've all been in your shoes. The support here is amazing and has kept all of us beans from losing our minds:)

Yes the support is amazing. I'm just happy that you are here to help us newbies!!
 
I agree that using 2 meters is difficult and in someways confusing. I used the relion yesterday because( as you said) the numbers that are posted are based on human meters.
I wanted to see how they both compare. I guess it doesn't matter so much when the numbers are high; more important when they're low.

When Chino first started on insulin, I ordered an AT2, then picked up a Relion Confirm while I was waiting. I used the AT2 to get a mid-cycle value that I reported to the vet so he could tell me what to do with the dose. 2.5 weeks after starting Lantus, we moved and found a new vet who told me to only use the AT2. This vet didn't want to increase his dose (we were at 2 units) even though it wasn't controlling his BG. Long story short, I found this forum and learned that the people who do this every single day know a lot more than the vet I was seeing! The night that I switched from the AT2 to the RC, I tested with both just to get an idea of how they compare. Now, I only get out the AT2 when I get a low number on the RC. I do this for 2 reasons:

1. So the vet knows that he WASN'T hypoglycemic (I print and bring the spreadsheet to each appt).
2. So I know that he's not close to hypoglycemia and can avoid overreacting and giving more carbs than necessary.

A lot of cats tend to bounce from numbers in the normal range until their system adjusts to it. Chino used to bounce for 6 cycles (3 days) before coming back down, though he's starting to come down sooner now that we're seeing good numbers more often. You're doing great with monitoring. Creamsickle will find good numbers again when the bounce breaks.
 
Just wondering, do you typically get higher numbers with the AT2?

The AT2 always reads higher than the human meters, but it's calibrated for feline blood. Though I think it would be better to use one of the recommended human meters here since the protocols are written for human meters, and people will be better able to advise based on that scale.
 
Yes, I think that's what I'm finding out. The AT2 correlates more to vets though. I think i will have to use the human meter to use the info on these boards.
Thanks and have a good night.
 
Yes, I think that's what I'm finding out. The AT2 correlates more to vets though.

That's true, though this is the way it was explained to me: 300 is too high, whether it's on a human meter or a pet meter. So if you're aiming to get his BG into normal ranges, either meter will tell you if you need to increase the dose because you're not there yet. But if you're getting close to dangerously low numbers, the human meter will show green (under 100) before the pet meter will, which gives you more time to respond before the situation is critical. And the test strips are a lot more affordable!
 
That's true, though this is the way it was explained to me: 300 is too high, whether it's on a human meter or a pet meter. So if you're aiming to get his BG into normal ranges, either meter will tell you if you need to increase the dose because you're not there yet. But if you're getting close to dangerously low numbers, the human meter will show green (under 100) before the pet meter will, which gives you more time to respond before the situation is critical. And the test strips are a lot more affordable!
I like the AT2 because I can compare it to the lab work and IDEXX ranges. I am making a translation table from creamsicle's chart. The ratios range from 80% to 54%. I realize it's a bit dangerous.
 
I like the AT2 because I can compare it to the lab work and IDEXX ranges. I am making a translation table from creamsicle's chart. The ratios range from 80% to 54%. I realize it's a bit dangerous.

That might be a difficult task... the difference between the AT2 and RC will be higher when the BG is higher. When the BG is low, the difference is much smaller.
 
I like the AT2 because I can compare it to the lab work and IDEXX ranges. I am making a translation table from creamsicle's chart. The ratios range from 80% to 54%. I realize it's a bit dangerous.

hi Adrian, I'm not really sure what you mean with the translation table....Sorry
 
hi Adrian, I'm not really sure what you mean with the translation table....Sorry
Just a table to roughly convert between the two meters with an expectation that their ratio may vary for high and low ranges. Your numbers suggest the human meter may read 75% to 80% lower than the AlphaTrak2 for high BGs and 54% to 72% for low BGs. There's a lot of variability in the ratios between your 2 measurements: the table is not accurate. AlphaTrak says the ratio should be 80% to 70%. I am a little bit obsessed with translating between my AlphaTrak2 (and the IDEXX lab result ranges) and the human meter numbers guiding this website. Adrian makes an argument above for just accepting the human meter numbers.
 
Just a table to roughly convert between the two meters with an expectation that their ratio may vary for high and low ranges. Your numbers suggest the human meter may read 75% to 80% lower than the AlphaTrak2 for high BGs and 54% to 72% for low BGs. There's a lot of variability in the ratios between your 2 measurements: the table is not accurate. AlphaTrak says the ratio should be 80% to 70%. I am a little bit obsessed with translating between my AlphaTrak2 (and the IDEXX lab result ranges) and the human meter numbers guiding this website. Adrian makes an argument above for just accepting the human meter numbers.

Sorry, I thought Adrian said about the table, but it was you. Thanks, i get it now..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top