Crazy numbers..need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grandmasterwhiz

Member Since 2015
Hey Everyone,

I have been home testing Jelly as often as possible, and as you can tell on her spread sheet her numbers tend to get slightly higher at night so I have to give her insulin. The vet had put her on 2.0 of ProZinc twice daily however, it seem like it was too much, I have cut back to 1.0 units or 1.5 units when she has been over 200 of course. She has an appointment with the vet real soon I I can't make it however my mom will be at the appointment and will print out Jelly's SS so he can see and see what he tells me.

My question is like tonight for example before her PMPS her BG was at 130 so I didn't shoot, gave her some food, and I tested her 3 hours later and she was at 241. Do I wait for her AM dosage which is at 8am or give her a small dosage like 1.0 now? I am trying to stay up as long as I can tonight, but I am so exhausted. Either way I will take any advice and keep it for the future.

Thanks!
 
We commented on your PZI thread too. What I see is a lot of bouncing. She has a high preshot test and gets a dose. Then she drops low for nadir and goes high for the next shot. Her body senses that low number and releases extra glucose that makes her bounce back up. If you give her more insulin for that "artificial" high number, you start the cycle all over.

How about restarting at one unit? Get those nadirs. We'd like to see preshot tests in the lower 200s and nadirs in double digits, but not below 50. When you get a preshot near 200 but slightly under, stall. Don't feed her. Instead wait 20 minutes and retest. If the number has risen to 200, then shoot but maybe a smidge less than the shot before.

If you'd post often in the ProZinc forum, we could help you get on track with safe doses and calm down the bouncing from highs to lows.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top