CRAZY HIGH NUMBERS!!! WHAT TO DO???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harper'sHuman

Member Since 2012
Hello, I am Pamela and my DC is Harper. He was just diagnosed 6 weeks ago and is on ProZinc. I'm getting scary high numbers the last couple of days and think it may be rebound, but I'm not sure. I know I'm about to write WAY too much, but I'm afraid I'll unknowingly leave out something important, so y'all please bear with me! At diagnosis, Harp spent almost two weeks at the vet trying to get regulated, with between 2-3 units ProZinc twice a day most days, sometimes none if he was too low. His numbers were all over the place - anywhere from high 400's down to 40! When I brought him home, I was testing twice and day and calling the vet for dosage, ranging from around 0 to 1.5 units depending on the BG readings. At first, morning readings were in the 300's, evenings in the 40's. After about a week, they started creeping into 400's, AM and PM. The vet consulted a specialist here in Atlanta who recommended 1 unit twice a day, with once weekly testing, and try it for a month. Well, I couldn't bear not knowing, so tested a few times that week - between mid 300's - mid 400's. A week ago, the vet recommended starting him on 2 units twice a day since his numbers were creeping up, with pre-shot tests. Now he's up to over 500! Yesterday when I tested him after work it was 674! I gave him the 2 units, tested at +3 (i think that means 3 hours later, still figuring out the lingo) and got 399, then again at +6 and got 179. This morning he was 386, I gave him 2 units, and he was 608 when I got home. This is much higher than when the day he was diagnosed! He's eating little over one large can of wet food most days, 8% carbs. He desperately needs to gain some weight, but some days he doesn't want to eat very much. Also, since I went to 2 units, he's vomited several times, which he did not do at all on the lower doses. So basically, the higher the insulin, the higher the BG, the worse he feels. He is 8 years old and has no other health problems, never sick a day in his life until this. Does this sound like somogyi rebound? Has anyone had a similar experience? I'm thinking I'm not going to give him any insulin this evening and test again about midnight. Based on what's going on it seems like going lower (much lower, like .5 twice a day) would be the next logical step. I've faxed his weekly report to the vet and expect to speak with her tomorrow, but I was hoping to get some advice in the meantime.
 
Do you have any mid cycle numbers, like 5-6 hours after the shot? That would help us figure if it is rebound. What happens is that they go down low at midcycle and then bounce back up. Where is he right now in the cycle? Could you get some numbers in the next few hours?

Are you testing for ketones? With high numbers, you want to keep on top of that.
 
Sue, I did get mid-cycle numbers last night. He was 674 to start and I gave 2 units. I tested 3 hours later and he was 399. Six hours post injection he was 179. I know that's not in the basement, but it seems like a pretty steep drop. Thanks for your reply!
 
Sue, his last injection was at 7:30 a.m. (after a 386 reading). I retested when I got home at 6:30 (two hours ago) and he was 608. I haven't given him anymore insulin yet. I'm planning to check again in a couple of hours. (Also, thanks for the advice on the ketones. I've been reading about ketones and I'm getting a test kit tomorrow. My vet didn't tell me about that, yet another important thing I've learned here!)
 
Yes, that is a big drop. But it shows the insulin is working. And yes, he could be bouncing back up.

If you can monitor, and test for ketones, I would try one unit. Get some tests in every couple of hours so you can see how the insulin is working - maybe 4, 6, 8 hours after the shot. That will help us see if it is that the insulin isn't lasting long enough or he was bouncing.

Be sure to do the ketone testing. You buy urine testing strips just like humans use. Some cats will let you stick a strip in their stream. Oliver would never let us watch, so we put aquarium gravel in a clean box and left him in the room with it. He'd want to dirty the clean box and we'd have our sample.
 
Thanks so much, Sue. That sounds like a good plan. I'll start first thing in the morning and get several tests in throughout the day. And I'll get a ketone test from the pharmacy - my Harper sounds like your Oliver, he loves to dirty up a clean box so getting a sample should be a snap! I'm so sorry to read from your signature that your Oliver has passed. I have no doubt that he had a wonderful life. I have another cat who is named Oliver, too. And, your avatar kitty looks just like my Harper!
 
Hi & welcome! I'm Jenn & my cat is Baxter. He was DX 6 months ago. :sad:
If you can start testing a little more. Run your own curve. This holiday weekend would be a great time to do that. If you don't have big vacation plans. You will want to run a test on him about every 2 hours. This will really help paint the picture of what is going on with his BG. It will also give you a better idea on dosing. Have Sue set you up with a spead sheet so you can record your data. Then everyone can view it & will be able to help you more.

Also, since Harpers numbers are extremly high I would get to the store tonight & get some ketone test strips. This is very important since he is in extremly high numbers. High numbers can bring in ketones extremly fast. Which are dangerous to the point of deadly. Treating ketones is very costly & requires hospitalization. So please go to Walmart & get some strips. Some places keep them behind the pharm counter.

One other thing you mention his food is 8%. You still have lots of room to drop those carbs. That will also help drop his BG. Some cats ae just extra sentive to carbs. What kind of treats do you give? Most crunches are high in carbs to. So try to elimante as many carbs as possible. There are lots of other foods with less carbs. Do you have the food list?

Keep posting & we will keep helping.
Jenn & Baxter cat_pet_icon
 
Thanks, Jenn. I think I can get to Walgreen's before they close and pick up some strips. I know 8% is a little high, and I''m hoping to reduce over time. The vet insisted he eat only Purina DM, but he HATES it and from what I read here it's not really the food of choice. When i got him home, I tried FF Classics, which are lower in carbs, and some other brands at similar percentages, but I couldn't get him to eat enough of it and he's lost a lot of weight. He's a very "tall" kitty and he was always lanky, but now he is painfully skinny. My plan was to start reducing once I got some weight back on him, but for now, there are only two kinds of 9-lives he will consistently eat well. I only give him two crunchy treats a day, but until I get this figured out I'm going to cut those out, too.
 
Pamela - good for you for having all these questions! I do the same thing - every post is loooong, and I cross my fingers and hope my friends here can get through it.

You're on the right track. As far as the food goes, maybe go to the store to get a variety and see what Harper likes best. My cat, Linus, likes Merrick, and I know Baxter eats Merrick Before Grain Turkey when they aren't at IHop eating pancakes (long story - you'll see). But there are other options out there. PetsMart has a few low carb flavors in their Grrreat Choice line (used to be Sophisticat). They run about .46 a can here. I buy one flavor, the flaked trout, by the case. Linus would run through fire for it. We give it to him once a day as a treat and to be sure he eats overnight.

I echo what everyone else is saying - test, test, test. Sometimes you'll have a breakthrough, sometimes it just adds to the confusion, but at least you know exactly what is going on.

Good to have you and Harper here!
 
Thanks, Sue and Linus! IHOP? I'll bet that's quite a story! Harper loooovvves mustard . . . and vegan pepperoni, so I know about strange kitty cravings (not that I let him eat it, but he will try to get in my plate when I have either, go figure). I went to Petco today and loaded up about 12 different varieties from "the list". I haven't tried the f/k/a Sophisticat, but that's next on my list. I'll definitely try the trout - I bet Harper would like that. I figure I'll just try to introduce something different every day and see what works. Thanks again for your kind words of support. This is like trying to figure out the world's most difficult word problem!
 
Hey, Pamela and Harper and WELCOME!

You've already met some SUPER people and gotten good advice, so I'll just echo the lowering the dose, checking for ketones and trying a variety of foods. My diabetic kitty (Hershey) eats Wellness (<6% carbs) and my non-diabetic kitty (Oreo) eats Friskies Pate' (those are pretty much 6-8% carbs). We use freeze dried turkey and freeze dried chicken for treats and you'd better make sure your hand is COMPLETELY flat or Hershey'll take a bite of flesh in his quest to get the treat!! :lol:

The SS will be a big help to us so we can see what's going on with Harper. And, getting some mid-cycle tests will help fill in more parts of the bigger picture.

Again, WELCOME! Keep reading and asking LOTS of questions!! :-D

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Harper'sHuman said:
Thanks, Sue and Linus! IHOP? I'll bet that's quite a story! Harper loooovvves mustard . . . and vegan pepperoni, so I know about strange kitty cravings (not that I let him eat it, but he will try to get in my plate when I have either, go figure). I went to Petco today and loaded up about 12 different varieties from "the list". I haven't tried the f/k/a Sophisticat, but that's next on my list. I'll definitely try the trout - I bet Harper would like that. I figure I'll just try to introduce something different every day and see what works. Thanks again for your kind words of support. This is like trying to figure out the world's most difficult word problem!

Yes it is trying to figure out a horrible high math word problem. It will get better with time.

I will say once you start lowering the carb food you will need to lower the insulin to. It could possibly help against a hypo situtation. So good plan on taking away the crunchy treats.
Here is another thing. When BG is really high the cat won't feel good. Once you start to get the BG & diabetes under more control & start to get more consistancy Harper should start to feel better. Diabetes takes nutrients from the body. That is why he is so skinny. So lowering the carb food should help. Then with get the dosing right should also help. At that point Harper will probably start to gain some weight. It just a big circle.
The diabetes, the food, the high BG, the dose, then back to the diabetes.
I notice when Baxter BG is high for a couple of weeks he is really skinny. Once I get it back under control he eats better & looks better.
Here is a trick....add warm water to the canned food. It helps bring out the smell in the food & it's good for FD to have the extra water. It's good for the kidneys.
Also, try not to feed fish more than twice a week. It tends to be higher in mercury & phorphus. Which isn't good for the kidneys or the body.
I feed Baxter Merrick Before Grain Turkey. Baxter liked the beef, but he is allergic to beef. It does cost a little more then other brands.

You are on the right track you are here & willing to learn & educate yourself to give Harper the best care.
Have you read about Dr.Pierson....here is her website if you haven't....www.catinfo.org. Lots of very good usefully info on the site.

I will have to explain what IHop means on a different thread. ;-)
 
Great idea about the spread sheet, Libby. I basically a techno-idiot, but I'll have plenty of time to figure it out over the weekend between blood tests! I tell you, I would be an absolute basket case if I hadn't found FDMB, and I shudder to think what sort of shape my kitty would be in. Everyone has just been wonderful!
 
Jenn, thanks for the tip about adding the warm water to the food, and for all of the information. I'll try that at breakfast. I did pick up a can of the BG beef today (I was like a crazy woman pulling can after can of different kinds of cat food into my cart!) And I'm sure the people at my local grocery store think I'm a cat hoarder, because I'm in there about every other day pouring over the selection, list in hand, praying I'll find "the one". I guess it's like trying to find Prince Charming - but I have a feeling I may have to kiss a whole lot frogs in the meantime! Thanks for the well-needed dose of hope, y'all!
 
Pamela, if you check almost everyone's signature, there are spreadsheets everywhere. We all use the same Google docs form to start, and you can find the link for that. I think everyone has personalized it a little so that it works for them.

As far as Linus' trout goes - Other than fish broth and "fish" waaay down the list, the main ingredients are trout, chicken, turkey and liver. I've always hoped that not feeding fish so often meant ocean fish, and I know these trout must be farm raised, so hopefully the mercury and phosphorus aren't anything to worry about.
 
Pamela - Sometimes it is a lot of trial and error and sometimes even going back to something you've already tried. Hershey wants his food straight from the fridge, he's gotten used to me adding water but it's cold water as he's too impatient to let it warm up! :lol: Oreo ate the same dry food trash for years, no complaints and never skipped a meal, only getting canned as a treat at bedtime. When we increased the amount of wet he was getting and decreased the dry (hated to throw it away), he'd skip the dry meals and wait for the wet (Wellness). When we put him on all Wellness, he stopped eating. We tried adding water or not, heating or not, elevating the bowl or not, serving on a plate instead of a bowl, spoon feeding or not, BEGGING!, changing flavors, mixing flavors, enticing him with a treat stuck in the bowl of food so he'd start eating the treat and hopefully keep eating the food...every meal was different...trying things until he'd eat or not. :YMSIGH: This cat eats DRYER SHEETS for crying out loud!!! We did find that he'll eat Friskies Pate' - has gotten used to me adding a little water (not as much as Hershey eats) but still wants it heated. AND - not too many meals of the same flavor! DRYER SHEETS!!! but wants to be funny about his cat food... :roll:

We understand basket cases...I think most of us were that way when we found this place. :smile:

Take care -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
I use to buy lots a couple of flavors & brands just in case Baxter liked it. I would have a few on hand. I can't count the number of times I returned food. I think i have tried every food on the market. I even did the semi raw homemade by Dr. pierson. I did the raw food from Natures Variety. The people at Petco knew me & would make comments about me returning the food. They would just joke nothing rude. I really was embressed :oops: always returning food. Then one day I added up all the canned food in my pantry that Baxter wouldnt eat from petco, petsmart & the vet....i had almost $100 wrapped up in food. So I took it all back. Before Grain Beef is good it's low in a lot of things ir carbs & fat. Actually, I was feeding Baxter the beef when he went off insulin for 3 weeks.

Wishing you the best of luck with the food.
 
Libby: Honey, that was the first laugh I've had in a very long day! I can't thank you enough! I have also tried begging, pleading, crying, and stuffing treats in the food. Sometimes it works, and sometimes Harper just scrapes his paws all around the food dish, just like he does after making a "deposit" in his litter box. I tell him "you don't have to eat that if you don't want it, but given that I spent almost an hour picking it out I can do without the commentary!" And dryer sheets aren't that strange - given the chance, Harp would nibble on bathroom tissue and waxed paper all day long if I let him. He also greets people by sniffing their breath - I'm used to it, so I forget that for people who don't have cats it can be disconcerting to have this huge gray creature they've never seen before get right up in their face - and I mean RIGHT UP in their face! This can make for some mighty awkward moments on date nights. Heaven bless their goofy little souls!
 
Our cats must be related!! :o Hershey is like people (Jessica says he looks at Oreo like - "You're so dumb."), but Oreo...we affectionately call our dog. He plays fetch, sniffs everybody's breath (not mine - he knows my boundaries ;-) ) - but, you're right - even strangers! :oops: He also tries to cover the food he doesn't want, scratching all around the floor like he's in the litter box!! :o :o Maybe they were separated at birth ;-)
 
How is Harper today? You have any test BG #s?
Did you get some ketone strips? What where the results?

Update us when you get a chance.
 
Libby, that is so funny! I've never, ever seen a cat sniff anyone's breath or try to cover up their food. And here we have two between us!
 
Jenn, he's doing a little better today, and I do mean a little. He was 379 at his first reading. I gave him a half unit six hours ago and just took a mid-cycle reading: 533. Not what I was hoping for, but on balance this is the best day he's had since early in the week. I'm going to test him at least one more time tonight and probably give him a whole unit, depending on the readings. And I actually got him to eat some food that's a little lower in carbs (6%), thanks to your suggestion about adding the warm water! I'm going to try to ease him down as much as I can over the next few days (fingers crossed). I also got a ketone test strip and I'm currently on 'tinkle watch'. He's in the bedroom howling like the dickens (he hates to be isolated, bless his heart), but hopefully he'll get down to business soon. I can't tell you how much appreciate all of your advice and support!
 
Thank you, Sue! I only got to take a quick look at it today, but you've added such clear directions I think even I can pull this off!
 
That 533 is an unusual number. Generally the mid cycle (nadir) number is the lowest. If that number is correct, that would a big inverse curve, which usually indicates too much insulin. Wonder if there is a chance that was a bad reading? Could you get another test in?
 
Sue, I'll definitely be taking at least one more reading tonight. I've been thinking it might be too much insulin, too. As the dosage increases, so do his BG readings. We went to two units twice a day a week ago on the vet's advice and they've been through the roof, and he's vomited several times. I'm wondering if maybe I should just not give him any tonight and see what happens. I'm so afraid I'm going to kill this poor creature before I get this figured out!
 
Yeh on the negative ketone test! :RAHCAT
Have you got another reading yet.

So Harpers numbers were...
AMPS-379 & you gave .50.
Mid cycle would be wrote like this...+6-533

Do you have a PMPS?

Are you using U-40 needles?

When Baxter was DX I was so depressed. I had the same fear...that I was going to kill Baxter with insulin or from me just not "knowing it all". I actually didn't want to leave my house. When I did go some where I would rush to get home. I was never gone more then 2 hours at a time. With time it got easier & it will for you.
 
Jenn, thanks for the "cheer cat", that is adorable! I was so excited about his neg ketone test that I almost sloshed pee all over my shoes when I went to dump the litter box.

So, last night his PMPS was 499. Since we had the inverse curve after his AM shot of only .5 yesterday (533 at +6, up from 379 at AMPS), I didn't give him any insulin last night. This was probably the wrong move, and I agonized about it for hours, but I didn't know what else to do. From what I've been reading, the general consensus is that an inverse curve usually indicates you need to give less insulin, so I figured you couldn't get lower than .5.

Yes, I am using U-40 needles. It's difficult to accurately load a partial dose. Is there another sized syringe I can use? I'm guessing I would have to use some sort of conversion factor.

Okay, so this morning's AMPS is 368, his lowest AM since I went back to daily BG tests on May 19th (in retrospect, I have no idea what the "specialist" who advised me to dose him twice a day with only weekly testing was thinking!). I'm not quite sure what to make of this. Maybe I should wait and test again in a few hours and make a decision about an injection?

I know about that "post-DX depression"! It's so encouraging to hear that others are getting through this.
 
That is an encouraging amps considering he didn't get any insulin last night. Yes, I would wait and see what is going on, getting some more numbers. But I would also test for ketones.

Can I help you set up a spreadsheet? It will really help us and you see your dosing history.

You can use U100 needles and the conversion chart to give the mini doses. Here is a thread with the kind of needles to get: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=64269&hilit=U100+needles

and here's the conversion chart: http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions-printer.htm
 
Pamela - We started off with the U-40 syringes (of course) and STRAINED to get smaller doses. Then, went to U-100's and the conversion chart, but kept saying there HAVE to be other syringes that would help our 'maturing' eyes...FINALLY heard about the U-100's with half-unit markings (ordered ours online) and
wow-wow-shock-surprise-smiley-emoticon-000325-large.gif
WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!!

Hope you're having a SUPER weekend!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Good to know about the U-100 needles. I'll certainly order some.
And, I'm definitely going to set up a spreadsheet. I should be home long enough at some point tomorrow to get it up and running (in and out today).
Okay, the not so good news is that I just did another BG test, so here's what we have so far today:

AMPS: 368, no insulin;
AM +8: 457

Now I just have decide what to do . . . AARRGHH!

Just wondering - if a cat gets too much insulin for a few days, can it build up in their system?
 
Just wondering - if a cat gets too much insulin for a few days, can it build up in their system?

From what I understand about ProZinc, no. The "L" insulins may have a residual, but ProZinc definitely has a lifetime, usually somewhere in the 8-12 hour range. Once it's gone, it's all gone.
 
I am confused about your numbers. No dry food or treats? No medicines with sugar?

I guess I would give .5 units and really monitor. Get a clear picture of what is happening.

I know I am nagging, but you are testing for ketones?
 
Sue, I know, it's so confusing! He hasn't had any dry food or treats, 5% carb food for breakfast and 6% for dinner, and he didn't even finish all of it either time (he had been eating 8% and eating a little bit of the dry Purina DM that the vet told me he could have). And he's not on any meds. The weird thing is that last Sunday he had a 461 AMPS but he didn't feel well, so I didn't give him any insulin for the whole day (he had vomited several times and I was afraid if he did it again after a shot he'd hypo) and the next morning he was at 132 without a drop! That was a couple of days before the vet told me to up his dose to 2 units and his numbers went through the roof.

I took organic chemistry in college and I thought that was hard, but it was nothing compared to this. I swear, trying to figure out a diabetic cat would make the scientists from the Human Genome Project feel like the village idiots!

I'm going to test again in a couple of hours and see what I get. Unless it's dropped a good bit, I'll try a .5 and keep my fingers crossed. And, yes, I promise I will keep testing for ketones - you absolutely are not nagging! I wouldn't even have known to do it all if y'all hadn't told me about it. You've been an absolute sweetheart and I am truly grateful to you and all of my other "Fairy Catmothers" who are holding my hand through all of this. I really is hard, isn't it ? Harper was diagnosed just two days after my darling 14 year old dog, Truman, passed away and my emotions were so raw you could've grated cheese on them. If I hadn't found a place to access all of this education and support I know I would be a basket case.
 
I am so sorry to hear about Truman and then to get this scary news.

Yes, it is hard. Figuring out the dose is stressful and confusing. The thing that saves us all is that we can test and see what is going on. Is the dose taking him low or is he staying high? Testing will keep him safe from hypo and ketones.

Data is the key. The more numbers you get, the easier it is for us to find patterns in his numbers and dose.

It does get better, promise. Believe it or not, in a few weeks, you will be paying it forward and sharing your story with a newbie.
 
I purchased my u-100 needles at SAMs club, but Walmart carries the same ones.
The sku # is 8113131167. I think Walmart is about $16 for the box.

Ok so good on getting the SS up tomorrow this is going to be a huge help for all the dosing experts. I am not one of those so you won't see comments from me. You will see cheerleader cats & read way to go from me.

What is Harpers feeding schedule like? Meaning times? It's good to feed 4 small meals at certain times everyday. Or do 2 meals a day ie 8am & 8pm. You want to keep your shots consistent 12/12 hrs apart.
I think you have this down, but just in case you....test first, then feed, then shoot. It takes about 2-4 hours for the food to wear off meaning you are less appt to see it when you give a test. Food spike happens after a meal. So say you feed Harper then test him 1 hr later most likely he will have a food spike & you don't want to dose off of a food spike. If the pancreas is working the you will see a drop in BG after a meal.

I can't explain the middle cycle rise. .50 is hard to measure I the u-40s. Also, .50 isn't much. Thats all I can say about the dosing. I'm not a dosing expert.

FYI just as soon as you think you have something figured out well....the cat will through a curve ball. FD will always keep you guessing. I think it's part of this sick diasese.
 
I finally got a spread sheet up and running - many thanks to all the folks who simplified it so well even I could do it! Okay, I got some seriously weird numbers over the weekend. Short recap: Harp was not doing well on 2 units a day (BG readings going through the roof, vomiting, lethargic, one unhappy camper). Feeling certain that he was getting to much insulin, I dropped him back to 0.5 on 5/26 and got an inverse curve. So, at a complete loss of what to do, I gave him no insulin for approx. 48 hours, and his numbers started dropping! Not great, mind you, but better. I was running low on test strips so I couldn't do a full curve (they were already in the mail, will be delivered today). So, last night he was 433, so I figured I better give him a little to see how it would affect his levels - bingo, back up to 463 this a.m. I went ahead and gave him another .5 before I left for work so I can see how he does on two consecutive .5 injections.

Here's where I could use some advice. Should I keep administering .5 twice a day and keep testing? I could probably swing a day off tomorrow and since my test strips will have arrived, I could do a full 12 hour curve. Or, since he seemed to be doing better on NO insulin, should I keep him off it for a few days, with frequent testing, and see if I can get his numbers decrease like they did over the weekend? I've tested for ketones twice since Saturday and he's negative. Now, I fully acknowledge that this is my kitty and all decisions regarding his treatment are mine and mine alone. I'm just hoping to find you what some of you who are so much more knowledgeable would do in this situation.
Many thanks!
 
I think that the numbers are still too high to consider not giving any insulin. But sticking with one dose, like .5, for at least two to three days would be a good idea. Especially if you are able to get mid-cycle numbers. They have to "settle in" to a dose for 2-3 days before you can see patterns in the numbers. You want to keep as much constant as you can (doses, food timing and amounts), collect data, and that makes it easier to decode what the numbers are telling you.

Carl
 
The numbers, except for this morning's AMPS, look fairly consistent on the .5 dose. I think this morning's number might have been a "bad test".
What type of meter are you using again?

Carl
 
Carl, I use an AlphaTrak II. His numbers have been so crazy, it never occurred to me that it might be an issue with the meter. I guess when you get a number that's unusually high or low it's probably a good idea to take a second reading.
 
Yes, anytime you get a number that just doesn't seem to make much sense, a 2nd test is a good idea. If you get the same, or close to the same number, then you try to figure out why. If you get a number that seems to fit in with the rest of the recent cycles instead, then you can save yourself an awful lot of stress and worry over a wonky number.

You should have no problems with an AT meter, as much as they cost. I'm thinking maybe the strips? Do you make sure not to touch the parts of the strip you shouldn't touch, and keep them in their closed/air tight container?

That number just sticks out like a sore thumb to me, so I thought it might be "wrong". If you exclude that number, and consider that maybe it was a low 400 for example, then it looks like it belongs there. It would also indicate that maybe .5 isn't enough insulin, because the mid-cycle numbers don't seem to drop much. You can't assume that is the case, but if you see another black number, or even a green one in the middle, then a 2nd test to verify it would be a good idea.

Carl
 
Good to know, Carl. I have brand-spanking new container of strips, so I don't expect they are contaminated. I make sure not to touch the capillaries on the tip (I'm not even sure if that's the right word). I'll be doing the PMPS test in a couple of hours, and another at +6. My plan is to test every six hours for the next few days (making a mad dash home at lunch!) and see how things go. I know that 0.5 is probably going to turn out to be too little, but it's the only dosing schedule I haven't tried so far! About how many days should I give it before I decide about increasing the dosage to 1U?

Thanks so much for your input!
 
Usually 3-5 days is sufficient. In this case, if you continue to see high AMPS and PMPS and not much drop at +6, then probably 4 days at most. Can you eyeball .75? Little steps in increase are best so you don't skip over a dose that works well.

Carl
 
Hi Pamela:
I am Donna and my sugar cat is Asher. I know I am late to the party here, but wanted to mention the low carb food we use. We use Blue Buffalo Wilderness chicken which is between 1 and 2% carbs. Both my sugar cat and my civvie like it, and it is reasonable since we order online by the case. If we want to encourage eating, I add a little chicken or a cut up shrimp or catnip to their food. (my sugar cat is a hoover tho, we mostly have to encourage our civvie when we move to a new case and it smells different ohmygod_smile )

We also have an Alpha Trak meter but have been using the Relion Micro which tested closer to our vet’s devices and it saves some dough if you are testing a lot. I know the cost of Alpha Trak strips.

Welcome to PZI. You will get lots of love and encouragement and good advice here. Best to you and Harper :YMHUG:
 
Hi, Donna and Asher. Thanks for the recommendation. I have also just discovered the wonderful world of Grreat Choice f/k/a Sophisticat. I've tried a couple of different kinds in the 5-6% range (I'm trying to ease him down) and lo and behold, both he and his civvie sister Zelda love it! At least they love it today . . . I'm amassing a rather large stockpile of various and sundry brands for the inevitable turning up of noses. I'm always glad to get a good endorsement for another option. Take care!
 
Carl, thanks again for the "consultation"! I think you were absolutely right about my AMPS being a bad test - I just got a 337. I'll stay with the .5 through tomorrow and if I don't see a drop, I'll go to .75 on Friday and see how it goes through the weekend. Another member told me about the U-100 syringes with quarter marks, so I'll order some right away. That's a GREAT point about not missing the right dose. I expect that that is exactly what has happened somewhere along the way, I just didn't have the right information about mid-cycles, food spikes, and so many other aspects of successfully managing this disease. I've learned so much from all of y'all! As in all things, experience is the best teacher, so if you want to know how to get something done you need to ask someone who's lived it. I hope you and your kitties have a great evening.
 
I just didn't have the right information about mid-cycles, food spikes, and so many other aspects of successfully managing this disease.

I'd guess that every person who has joined the board can say (or has said) the same exact thing! I know it was also true in my case. That's what makes the initial diagnosis so overwhelming - you only get limited information, some needles and a vial of insulin, and you're so blown away by the diagnosis that you don't have a chance to ask the vet questions (mainly because you have no idea which questions to ask). Then you get home and say "what am I DOING???".

That's what makes this place such a blessing for all of us.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top