Crave Cat food - wet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicpug

Member Since 2022
I am always on the lookout for high-protein low-carb wet foods. The pate chicken and salmon from the back labels are 12% protein approx and 2% carbs. Can we trust and believe this?
 
Upon more research, is this just a rebadged Dine? Both made by Mars US.
 
Maybe put a question mark first in your title
Hi Victor would you please add to your signature and spreadsheet when Penny was diagnosed
Also with lantus there are 2 dosing methods to follow .
Copied from Bron on one of your previous posts
You don't have a dosing method chosen yet that I can see. Its important that you chose either the tight regulation or the start low go slow dosing method to follow as they have a different BG where you reduce the dose. Have a look at the two methods and when you have decided, can you please add that method to the SS and your signature please. If you are feeding any dry food at all you are only able to do the SLGS method
DOSING METHODS

Here is some information for Aussies
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...for-aussie-feline-diabetic-caregivers.217781/

If you stop using the freestyle libre 2 which is a human meter I would look at the link I gave you and go buy a human meter instead of going back to the Alpha Trak
Our numbers are based on human meters
 
I would tend to agree with Diane and focus on getting the dosing method down first before worrying about food.
Having said that, I got tired of all the guesswork with the canned food and all the questionable ingredients and switched to feeding EZ Complete with cooked protein
about 6 years ago and never looked back. It is a whopping .4% carbs so basically zero. :smuggrin:

I did a small write-up on food prep at the end of this post if you're interested.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-17-abbott-amps-305-2-414-5-373.264741/
 
Victor I googled the Crave cat food and it looks from the web site as if it is OK. Says the carbs are 2.2%


upload_2022-6-26_21-50-26.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-6-26_21-50-26.png
    upload_2022-6-26_21-50-26.png
    114.3 KB · Views: 678
My cat has stopped liking Dr Elsey’s and Wysong, I mixed them/ both dry as I could not get him to eat but A few bites of wet anything, I switched to Crave dry and more will be revealed, as he ate it a bit but not with enthusiasm. Maybe I should check the Crave wet? The Crave dry is on many lists recently for dry diabetic optionS, but I don’t trust these lists, so is the Crave wet

But the funny thing is, he has decided he likes Merrick wet and Fancy Feast pate. Three months ago they disgusted him. I would like to wean him off the dry

i even called the vet as I thought his dry disinterest might be a dental issue. I am waiting to hear back, but 4 months ago his teeth and gums were good. so it might just be a cat thing.

Always looking for wet options as I know dry is not recommended for cats with diabetes. Sorry for the rambling sentences. It is very early and I have not had coffee yet.

Tom :)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top