Could the vial of Lantus be bad :-|?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krystina & Nelli

Member Since 2018
Nelli and I have a new vet who did not originally prescribe Lantus, the one and only insulin we’ve had...
Rx came from an ER vet whom she saw days before “new/current” vet entered our lives.
She was prescribed Lantus (vial) Rx: one unit, a month ago (06/21).
Our current vet told me when we initially had our first appointment with him that “he doesn’t usually use Lantus” (which means neverhas/does?).
A week or so later I, without advise, bumped her up to 1 1/2 units.
He advise me last week (fast forward 10+ days) when I contacted him that her BG was at 499 to increase her dose from two units to three units. This was last Friday July 27th.
She continues to be lethargic, weak and, unable to finish her business in litter box without laying down in it... an effort to walk (stumbling) 8ft without lying down :(.
Today is the first successful day I have been able to draw blood on her ear and check her BC with the Alpha track2.
So far today...
1. 6a (pre insulin): BG 273
2. 11:30a: BG 327
3. 2:49p: BG 302
4. 5:16p: BG 399
One more reading left...

I would LARGELY appreciate some input as to...
I have used this Forum throughout this (feeling helpless) experience with Nelli being on insulin.
Unfortunately we have a “new” Vet (who is the best GP vet we’ve had OTHER THAN her Cardio vet ), which I do not feel completely confident that he is properly experienced with Lantus/ feline diabetes.
Nelli’s diabetes should be better controlled by now?
We thank you in advance for you input ❤️.
Krystina and Nelli
 
With only 1 days worth of data, it's really impossible to say what might be going on

Cat's blood glucose can change drastically from day to day....without more tests, there's just no way to know.

That being said, we don't EVER increase by a whole unit (like from 2U to 3U)….insulin is very powerful and small amounts can make big differences. We only increase in .25 unit increments so we don't bypass what could be a "perfect" dose.

If you could start getting tests in before each shot and at least 1 test somewhere mid-cycle, it will help us to help you figure out what could be going on and get better regulation

If you've kept the Lantus in the fridge, it should be fine....is it clear without any floaties? Most of us can use a vial for at least 4-6 months (sometimes much longer)
 
Thank you :).
I feel so uneducated,- without (seemingly), proper guidance here in SRQ. I too, after doing much research/education (THANKS SO MUCH to this Forum) ‘learned’ to go up .25 maybe .5 up on dose.
Yes, sadly Nelli Vet said to go up ONE unit. 2U to 3U.
I am so confused. -You have no idea.
I am (have been) directed where to go- set up Nelli so others have needed info to advise, by a gracious member of this group.
Will get her “charted” early in morning...
Have been up since 5a (EDT)- am going to wake up at 3:30 ish to to check BG then. Last 3U dose was given at 8:15p
 
am going to wake up at 3:30 ish to to check BG then

I'd never tell you not to test, but in this case, I really think you can go ahead and go to sleep and not bother

She's high enough that I don't think you're going to learn anything by testing again tonight
 
Where did you get your Lantus vial from?

A month is hardly any time in the life of feline diabetes. You've also been at that same dose for most of that time. 1 unit may or may not have been the right dose. Testing will help us help you determine what to do next with the dose.
Yes, sadly Nelli Vet said to go up ONE unit. 2U to 3U.
That doesn't mean you had to follow what they said. Many vets don't have the personal experience with feline diabetes that many of us do.
 
Ok. Nelli just ate her usual raw Rad Cat chicken breakfast.
I have not tested her yet- I will do so right before she gets her shot at 8a.
Getting another test mid cycle is not a problem. Ideally, how many and at what times should I test today? Should I continue with 3U or go down .25U to 2.75U
 
Hi Krystina and welcome! :bighug: I couldn't find your spreadsheet??

You've got some great advice already from some of the very best of this forum. :D

Take a look around at other condos and study the spreadsheets. We use Lantus too. My vial is 7 months old and is still working for Luci. You can look at my spreadsheet ans ee the impact is has - some days not so much - on Luci. We use a Relion human meter though...and I see you're using the AT...numbers will look a little different...but you'll get the hang of it soon. We test frequently - it's the only way to know what's going on with the BG...after a while you'll figure out when they hit their lowest numbers and then you determine your doseage based on that.

I wouldn't throw out that Lantus just yet...:smuggrin:
 
Thank you so much! I don’t think it is the vile of Lantus either. I just have been feeling so helpless and alone and I’m happy I sat down and introduced Nelli and I on this forum.
I am challenged technically- I am trying to figure out how to create a spreadsheet. I have a Chromebook and an iPad and, a gmail account… I have gone to “instructions” page too.
I will get it figured out soon.
I am getting ready to test then give shot. It pains me to see her decline in strength after I give her shot.
 
Thank you so much! I don’t think it is the vile of Lantus either. I just have been feeling so helpless and alone and I’m happy I sat down and introduced Nelli and I on this forum.
I am challenged technically- I am trying to figure out how to create a spreadsheet. I have a Chromebook and an iPad and, a gmail account… I have gone to “instructions” page too.
I will get it figured out soon.
I am getting ready to test then give shot. It pains me to see her decline in strength after I give her shot.

Don't feel alone! THere's a bunch of us here to give you moral support and really great advice.

It takes time to get comfortable with all this new stuff...I swear it took me months. But there are people on here who will help you set up your spreadsheet - just change you title from today - to something like HELP WITH SS? And select the little '?' Icon from the drop down list by the title - it's on the left side there in blue...

There are a lot of nice tech savvy people who can help you out with that. I know it seems like just one more thing when you're already overwhelmed by this diagnosis and learning all about how to test and when to test and what to feed...and on and on it goes. But you're doing the best thing right now to try and help Nelli.

Take some time to study the other spreadsheets and read other people's condos...you'll know soon that you're not in this alone :)
 
You said:
She continues to be lethargic, weak and, unable to finish her business in litter box without laying down in it... an effort to walk (stumbling) 8ft without lying down
The above information along with your reference to Nelli's cardiac vet is worrisome. If may be a worrywort, but I would suggest you get your cat into the vet. Here's my reasoning... High numbers alone aren't always an issue. However, lethargy weakness, etc. could be an indication that ketones are present. Straining in the litter box could be aggravating a cardiac condition. I know that I would feel a great deal better if you had Nelli checked over by your vet and they ran a blood panel to rule out anything medical.
 
Don't feel alone! THere's a bunch of us here to give you moral support and really great advice.

It takes time to get comfortable with all this new stuff...I swear it took me months. But there are people on here who will help you set up your spreadsheet - just change you title from today - to something like HELP WITH SS? And select the little '?' Icon from the drop down list by the title - it's on the left side there in blue...

There are a lot of nice tech savvy people who can help you out with that. I know it seems like just one more thing when you're already overwhelmed by this diagnosis and learning all about how to test and when to test and what to feed...and on and on it goes. But you're doing the best thing right now to try and help Nelli.

Take some time to study the other spreadsheets and read other people's condos...you'll know soon that you're not in this alone :)
Thank you very much.
I am back now with GC readings and am praying Nelli and I can get help.
Over last seventeen days her BG has averaged in the mid to upper 300’s.
Her “vet” had me increase Lantus from 2U to 3U starting July 27 PM. Morning shot was 2U on (this date), July 27.
It’s breaking my heart not knowing what to do.
I come in to this Forum with Nelli completely alone. I had spent time looking at various threads before we joined. I feel hopeful now. Seriously, we have seen so many Vets in last 12 months- Obviously, I don’t currently have a vet that knows how to control diabetes.
I will Post a Help with SS (& “?”) after I send this...
In meantime, is it possible for me to attach a pic of Nelli numbers, date and, corresponding Units?
 
is it possible for me to attach a pic of Nelli numbers, date and, corresponding Units?
Sure - why not - you've got a lot on your plate right now. You should get some help quickly with the SS - that's the very best way to let everyone know what doses you're using and when you're giving it and then the resulting tests are displayed as well...it's really not too hard to do...just start with the data you're thinking about putting in a message today..then add the other data as soon as you can...
 
Sure - why not - you've got a lot on your plate right now. You should get some help quickly with the SS - that's the very best way to let everyone know what doses you're using and when you're giving it and then the resulting tests are displayed as well...it's really not too hard to do...just start with the data you're thinking about putting in a message today..then add the other data as soon as you can...
 

Attachments

  • C781C7AE-9090-4010-9430-05EC3999A998.jpeg
    C781C7AE-9090-4010-9430-05EC3999A998.jpeg
    115.9 KB · Views: 65
Go to the top of the Forum. On the right hand side is a Post New Thread button. Click that one to start a new post/thread.
I’ve done this. Posted need help with spreadsheet please added a “?”... no responses :-|
I am 1/2 way “there” have gone over instructions numerous times and still need help. Cannot figure out how to “move” into this for him so everyone can see?
 
Yes and I have been able to save on my Google Drive in Google sheets. I get stuck following the directions from there I can’t find file and upper left-hand corner. I’m beginning to wonder if it has something to do with being on my iPad? The only other thing I have is a Chromebook I have been able to save on my Google Drive in Google sheets. I get stuck following the directions from there I can’t find file in upper left-hand corner. I’m beginning to wonder if it has something to do with being on my iPad? If so, the only other thing I have is a Chromebook... no PC :-|
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top