Could someone take a look at Frisky's #'s for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robert&Frisky

Member Since 2012
Hi All,

On Monday I had to switch Frisky from Prozinc to Lantus. I have been keeping a close check on her numbers during the day and giving her a break at night. She started out at 1u twice a day on Monday till the PMPS tonight when the vet had me increase it to 1.5u. The numbers seem a little strange to me because her low numbers are at shot time and her high numbers are at +6 hour marks. Is this just the way the Lantus works? With the Prozinc it was reversed.

Thanks

Frisky's SS
 
There's a 20% variance due to the meter with any number you get. In general, there's really no big difference between your pre-shot and mid-cycle numbers. You're seeing flat curves. Ideally, flat curves are what you want to see although it would be even better if the numbers were lower.

FWIW, with the Tight Regulation Protocol, if the nadir is less than 200, dose increases are 0.25u. You want to be careful to not increase by too much and miss what could be a good dose.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
There's a 20% variance due to the meter with any number you get. In general, there's really no big difference between your pre-shot and mid-cycle numbers. You're seeing flat curves. Ideally, flat curves are what you want to see although it would be even better if the numbers were lower.
Ok Thanks.

Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, with the Tight Regulation Protocol, if the nadir is less than 200, dose increases are 0.25u. You want to be careful to not increase by too much and miss what could be a good dose.

I talked with her vet this morning and she wanted me to go up .5u. TBH I am not sure I hit the exact 1.5u the lines on the u-100 syringes are not easy to see. I got the 30 units or less in half unit scale syringes from Walgreens.
 
I think all vets tell people to increase in half units or sometimes :roll: whole units. We do dose adjustments in quarter units, and it's a way of keeping your cat as safe as can be. Meaning: if 1 unit is not quite enough, and 1.5 units is too much, then 1.25 units might be just the right dose. Please continue to get extra tests as you just gave him 50% more insulin.
As far as reading the little lines on the syringes, I had to go out and buy reading glasses. Some people use a magnifying glass as well.
 
Hi Robert,

The reason most vets tell people to use 1/2 or whole units is because they are afraid they will not e able to measure it consistently, according to my vet, not because it is the best dose. I find it helps to hold the syringe up to a light colored wall that has a light shining on it or a tv with a light background. The quarter doses are hard to measure though.

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top