? Could someone please take a look at the latest update on LTs dailypost?

Do you want us to look at LT's spreadsheet? (The daily post would be this thread/condo.)

If you want feedback on LT's spreadsheet, there's some info that's needed. First, are you using Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) as your dosing method or are you using Tight Regulation? This makes a difference since with SLGS, LT would get a dose reduction. If you're following TR, he wouldn't.

You really, really, really need to get at least a before bed test each and every PM cycle. LT was at 547 at PMPS yesterday and this morning at AMPS, he was at 126 and kept heading lower. You have no idea what happened between those two shots.
 
I plan on doing more evening ones. I was suppose to get more strips in on Wednesday, but they didn't arrive until this a.m. My dog is also diabetic and I ordered more as soon as I found out that LT was diabetic. I just had to make sure I had enough for the dog and LT until they came in.
 
I plan on doing more evening ones. I was suppose to get more strips in on Wednesday, but they didn't arrive until this a.m. My dog is also diabetic and I ordered more as soon as I found out that LT was diabetic. I just had to make sure I had enough for the dog and LT until they came in.

Just a suggestion - but you can always go to Walmart or any drug store and get an inexpensive human meter and test strips - much less expensive than pet meters - they give good reliable result for. Just to use for LT as you're getting started. It's going to take a good bit of testing to figure out what the insulin he's getting is doing - since we cannot tell from just AM and PM tests - tests really need to be taken at mid-cycle - 2 or more hours after the insulin shot - each time - it's really important so you can be sure not to give him too much insulin - but just as important, give enough to bolster him when his numbers are running too high. It's just impossible to know what's going on without those numbers - please try to test as often as you can - your SS is like a puzzle and the more numbers you put in there, the better you'll be able to see his patterns.

Having two diabetics in the house is really going to run through your strip supply in a hurry - I usually have two or more meters on hand as backups with matching strips - only one pet meter which I only use infrequently due to the expense. Hope this is helpful :)
 
He's not supposed to be getting any dry food, yet even today he found some my DH place on top of the refrigerator. LT is slyer than a fox. I've inspected everywhere else, and there is no more kibble out in the open. I'm planning on doing TR if we can ever get him settled in for 3 days without any kibble thievery. I really never thought I had a messy kitchen, but LT is certainly pointing out my shortcomings. LT is not a very good bleeder yet, so I'm concerned about using a human meter that requires more blood. It seems that most of the human meters that only require a small sample like the PetTest, also have expensive strips. I'm able to obtain my PT strips for a reasonable price, but once he becomes less stingy with his blood, I'll definitely switch over. In fact I have a Relion Prime that a friend gave me, but the strips are expired - plus it takes 6 uL which LT isn't quite up for yet.
 
He's not supposed to be getting any dry food, yet even today he found some my DH place on top of the refrigerator. LT is slyer than a fox. I've inspected everywhere else, and there is no more kibble out in the open. I'm planning on doing TR if we can ever get him settled in for 3 days without any kibble thievery. I really never thought I had a messy kitchen, but LT is certainly pointing out my shortcomings. LT is not a very good bleeder yet, so I'm concerned about using a human meter that requires more blood. It seems that most of the human meters that only require a small sample like the PetTest, also have expensive strips. I'm able to obtain my PT strips for a reasonable price, but once he becomes less stingy with his blood, I'll definitely switch over. In fact I have a Relion Prime that a friend gave me, but the strips are expired - plus it takes 6 uL which LT isn't quite up for yet.

ha! I understand completely! Luci has reminded me on many occasions about my carelessness! I'm used to leaving bread or baked goods on the counter to cool...Luci reminds me by getting up there and tearing open the zip-lock bags and helping herself to said goods! She will also lick crumbs from pizza pans, pies left on the stove to cool, fresh bread - just in from Costco; hamburger buns left out on the counter and any candy that can be acquired from any source! Her favorite is chocolate - sometimes left in small candy dishes for company, etc. Whatever was I thinking! Sometimes DH leaves things out like that - and Luci reminds us of her cravings and helps herself - she's rude like that and we try hard not to be careless...but it's difficult - she helps us keep our countertops clear of many things! I used to leave butter out in a covered dish - not any more! Crash goes the dish on the floor - from you know who! I just don't know why she feels so compelled to wreck my kitchen but that's how it is - I should remember this is after all the home of the Queen (Miss Luci) and I'm only here to 'serve' and need to put anything I don't want her to have away...lesson learned...again...I hope :)
 
I have a Relion Prime that a friend gave me, but the strips are expired - plus it takes 6 uL which LT isn't quite up for yet.

Yes, I found the Relion Prime was asking for too large a drop from Luci as well - I liked some of the other meters better - and ended up with the subscription OneDrop - tiniest drop and strips are unlimited for $50 a month. I usually order 300 at a time - love that delivery service :)
 
Suzanne,
Like you, I have believed less blood is required with the pet meter, but there is a Relion Confirm Plus Micro that requires the same .3uL blood sample size as an AlphaTrac2. I did not see it at my local Walmart, but I might order one on Amazon. I'm used to the numbers I get on the pet meter, but I could cut the cost in half. One hundred of the Micro strips I mentioned, are priced about equal to fifty AlphaTrac2 strips.
 
a Relion Confirm Plus Micro that requires the same .3uL blood sample size as an AlphaTrac2

The Confirm was discontinued....You can't get it at WalMart and even the strips that are available on Amazon are crazy expensive now. They used to be about .36 cents per strip but the ones on Amazon are mostly over $1 each now.

Why they d/c'd a great meter like the Confirm I'll never know
 
Back
Top