Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwnews

Member
Sitka has had a situation that at first I thought was an anomaly but its happened three consequtive nights. 3 nights ago AMPS was 204 then her PMPS +12 was 113 (no shot). Yesterday her AMPS was 210 then PMPS +12 was 122 (no shot). Today AMPS 254 and PMPS +12 110. She is on Lantus 1 unit 2x a day. Should I try and shoot maybe .5 unit to keep the am numbers lower or just shoot once a day??? Jan
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

Do you have any numbers from between the shots?
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

Shooting twice a day is preferred. You can wait at pmps for 20-30 minutes without feeding until you hopefully see a shootable number. Or you can do what you suggested, give a lowered dose that should give you a shootable number for both amps and pmps.
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

Any other numbers besides those 3 days pre-shot? More information would be helpful, but in general finding a dose you are going to be comfortable shooting consistantly is better than constantly skipping doses. Lantus dosing is based on nadir (the low point in the middle, generally +5 to +7) not pre-shot numbers so its difficult to determine exactly what your dose should be. Is it possible for you to catch some mid-cycle numbers or do a curve one day?
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

I just retested Sitka and now her BG is 106 - this 30 mins after feeding canned food. Before this last three days her numbers were consistantly in the 200's. She was at the vet last week and her first reading was 210 with nadir at 150 and going up to 200 late afternoon. This was on one unit. I'm off work tomorrow so I can do a better curve.
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

I gave Sitka .5 last night and this morning she clocked in at 159 (so lower then the previous mornings). I'm going to do a mini curve today since I'm off work. Thanks everyone for the advice last night. Jan
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

Keep in mind - it takes 3-5 days for a Lantus dose to stabilize in a cat, so the results of a curve may be different in that amount of time due to the dose reduction.
 
Re: Could really use some advise - also posted on relaxed La

Thanks everyone for the replies. It seems like that three days was a weird anomaly. Today Sitka's readings are back to "normal" - 252 this morning, 165 at +9 and 195 at +12. However one night she was down to 69 at +12 - made me soooo glad I found this board all those years ago and learned about home testing. Thanks again for the support. Jan
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top