could not shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
Good morning. Bubba was 132 at amps then 20 mins later 125. I fed him 3 oz and retested in 1 hour. The number only went up to 149. I did not shoot. My question is for the pmps, I should give him 1/2 of the pmsp last night?
 
Until he gets over 150 mg/dL, I wouldn't shoot, and then only a token dose until you know what is going on.
Is he eating OK? Drinking?
How's his behavior?
Has he had a fur ball?
Is he dehydrated? See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for 2 ways to check dehydration.
Does he seem normally active?
 
Until he gets over 150 mg/dL, I wouldn't shoot, and then only a token dose until you know what is going on.
Is he eating OK? Drinking?
How's his behavior?
Has he had a fur ball?
Is he dehydrated? See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for 2 ways to check dehydration.
Does he seem normally active?
He seems perfectly fine. Ate all his food this morning, and wanted to go right out which I couldn't let him because I needed to retest one hour after feeding. He went out for 3 1/2 hours and was hunting and back in now and relaxed and waiting patiently for lunch. Thanks for the Secondary monitoring tools. His skin at the scruff of neck goes right back down after being pulled up. I will keep a check on him.
 
It could be that the insulin and the food is finally started to work with his body and he is improving. Nice to see!

My no shoot number for new diabetics is at least 180, so I think I'd plan to skip. He will likely be high tonight as he will have been 24 hours since his last shot, but yes, i would still reduce. Your last dose gave you an unshootable pre shot and maybe a low overnight nadir. Sounds like he'd like less insulin! Maybe .5 tonight. You can always raise it tomorrow if it's stays too high.

Good news. Good job for both of you.
 
It could be that the insulin and the food is finally started to work with his body and he is improving. Nice to see!

My no shoot number for new diabetics is at least 180, so I think I'd plan to skip. He will likely be high tonight as he will have been 24 hours since his last shot, but yes, i would still reduce. Your last dose gave you an unshootable pre shot and maybe a low overnight nadir. Sounds like he'd like less insulin! Maybe .5 tonight. You can always raise it tomorrow if it's stays too high.

Good news. Good job for both of you.
Thanks Sue. I tested him +4 hours after the 149 number and 30minutes after I had given him lunch and he was at 286, so I know he will be high tonight......he's doing his own waltz......1 u too low, l.5u to high.....he's like Goldilocks, he needs it just right.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top