Could it be..Do I dare hope? Musette day 1 OTJ!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well I know it is too soon to tell...but the last two mornings Musette has given me readings in the 40s for what should be her amps...Yesterday I'm pretty sure I screwed it up and caused her to bounce on a mere .3u as she never went lower just kept going up which I am now learning is her idea of rebound. So this morning when I again got a 45 at 7am her preshot test, I elected to just skip today but keep testing her every 2 hours to just watch and she where she goes...while she is rising she is going up very very slowly and with food on board....drum roll please...she is 112 at +16 from her last insulin last night.

Come on Cupcake....lets keep those numbers low for momma, and I promise you a very special birthday celebration if we can celebrate your birthday and OTJ on the same day!!! Now of course she just might do it since I just ordered her 5 new Lantus pens and a new box of syringes to carry us through the winter...lol. I do expect her to still need a little more insulin support but, BOY! do those green and blue numbers look GREAT!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
C'mon Princess Fluffybutt - do the limbo, think low, low, low, low - but not too low. I just told Jack that last week. :mrgreen: Paws, toes and tails crossed.
 
+18 = 136 Go baby Go! Although she is getting up there as the day goes by, but then again I have no idea how low she went over night so this could be a little bit of a bounce off a low last night. And regardless it is late enough now, so just gonna wait her out until her normal test and shoot time tonight. If she is high enough to shoot tonight I'm thinking just a token dose of maybe .25u and see where we go from there...Oh this is hard on the nerves, almost as bad as when I couldn't get her numbers to go down...lol.

Regardless if she needs insulin or not again tonight, I feel like I can finally see a light at the end of the tunnel for her. If fact I'm almost counting on her still needing some insulin tonight and probably for a little while to come yet. But the mere fact that she has managed 18 hours without now, I have hopes that we just keep expanding on that until she and Maxwell are both having a picnic at the Falls. She has already come a long ways from March when she was dxed in DKA and had a BG reading of over 600. Now I'm looking at a fiesty little girl that just spent the last 18hrs without insulin. Color me happy!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Oh well we only made it 18 hours before finally hitting diabetic numbers again, but it is a start. Have to see where she is in another 4 hours for her pmps, but 224 after 18 hours off insulin is a nice start, still think we are at least headed in the right direction for OTJ.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette (who is looking at brochures for the Falls) and the Fur Gang
 
well after eating and going to 224, two hours later she is back down on her own to 169 :-D So I take from what I have seen her do today that while she is probably going to need a little more nudging with insulin, her pancreas is trying real hard to take back over. It may take us longer than her birthday to officially declare her OTJ but I hear the Falls are lovely at Christmas. :-D She just needs a little more gentle nudging to wake that old pancreas up completely.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
+24 and she is back to 80, and still no insulin....Go Musette Go ...Come on Jack you can do it too...and what a lovely couple to head off the falls together. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and the Fur Gang
 
Great job Musette! I'm not quite brave enough to just stop the insulin now...I'm so afraid of losing ground after he's done so well! But I wonder if some of the higher numbers are little bounces now. I will watch Musette for a few days then maybe I will get braver!
 
I am sure that red number this AM was a big drag to see. :( I am sorry. I was hoping she could hold it too.

Maybe go to .25 like you thought earlier. That 47 early yesterday and the 45 the day before probably warrants a dose reduction anyway, especially since it was late in the cycle (probably should have stalled the 47, but yes, easy for me to say after the fact).

I know you know what you are doing. I don't think I would have done much different here.

Just wondering, does she bring herself down after having a little food? That is a good indicator sometimes. It doesn't look like it in your chart, but I am not sure of your feeding times.

Also, something to think about, did she get enough to eat those two cycles when she did go low? That might explain the number's into the 40's.

Sorry I can't be of more help. I hope others will chime in.
 
Probably there are cats that went OTJ off .25u, but I think there may still be some reductions you can take to lead her down the numbers.

I found that toward the end Beau's shot schedule was "as needed" and he could skip one or two shots, but would then need insulin again. You have to find a do not shoot number and shoot when she gets over it. With Beau, a lot of times, I would shoot when he got higher and he would drop really low. That was when I reduced again. After he got down to .05u, if he dropped low I raised the do not shoot number.

They can also manage for a few days and bring themselves down from even higher numbers. When I was out of town right before he went OTJ, he got no insulin for 6 days and ranged from 104 to 223 (just PS tests, no spot checks from sitter), but that was up and down not a steady climb up. So she could vary during the night even off insulin, but I don't think she can rebound off a low that she brought herself down to (no exogenous insulin).

Good job. Just keep taking the tiny steps down the dosing scale. She really looks like she will get there. If not by her birthday, maybe by Thanksgiving. And how appropriate would that be?!
 
Thanks Sheila,

We are back in the green again this morning at 85 so I did go ahead and give her .25u which is a little lower than I like to shoot but DH was trying to help out this morning and didn't realize I was going to stall for a little bit, and went ahead and fed her with the rest of the crew. So since she was eating, I went ahead and shot.

One nice thing about Musette is that she is the only one of the 13 here that eats separately from the others so I can closely monitor how much she eats, and those days that she had the late in cycle lows she had exactly eaten more than she normally does, as she had finished her food and proceeded to go over to Maxwell and Lady Jane's dish and cleaned up their leftovers. (not much just about 3-4 bites, as leftovers is a word not spoken here..lol). For future reference she is normally fed at her amps, +6 pmps and then I put out frozen about 3-4 hours when we go to bed to carry them through the night. Musette, unlike the civies will wait for it to thaw, the others will gnaw on it frozen.

I just have to keep reminding myself that Musette is Musette and not Maxwell, she isn't going to do any of this the way Maxwell did. With Maxwell, he hit the 80 on .5, I skipped a shot the he went up the next day, he got another .5 and then never had a shot again...Musette isn't going to go that way, she is going to need to be slowly weaned off drop by drop. But then again Maxwell was started on insulin the moment he was dxed as being diabetic, poor little Musette was allowed to go into DKA twice, was left on dry food and only got insulin from March to June when someone felt like dealing with her. But the fact that she did so well on that one day without insulin gives me hope that she is truly at least reading over the travel plans for a trip to the Falls. And yes, if not by her birthday....Thanksgiving or even Christmas would be appropriate. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top