? Could having upset stomach cause KitKat

Also, please keep your spreadsheet updated. I would like to see how he’s doing today and as he recovers from the dental. Did the vet give you any antibiotics? That’s another area of veterinary medicine where there are changes being made and there are currently different approaches to giving antibiotics. I hope he won’t be getting any more of the Meloxicam since it’s not good for his kidneys.
 
Yes. That is one approach, but certainly not the only way of doing things. There are new guidelines. However you didn’t do anything wrong at all!! I am certainly not saying that! You did great just to get his teeth cleaned. Skipping the shot will have less impact on him than it would if her were on a depot insulin like Lantus anyway.

What I was wondering was what kind of insulin the vet gave and at what hour it was given… because I didn’t want his 12 hour ProZinc cycles to be disrupted— because if they were… you would need to adjust his shot time gradually back to the correct time. Fortunately, his numbers are still high enough that we don’t have to be as precise. If he were in lower numbers (that I hope to see soon) it would be even more important.

Anyway…. Moving on today…. Do you have power back? I hope you saw my posts on the other forum copying the guidelines for power outages in ProZinc. Your insulin will be fine and you should not need to replace it at all. I will re-copy the ProZinc section below as this may help someone else in a similar situation.
  • Prozinc It is recommended to store Prozinc in an upright position under refrigeration at 36º- 46º F (2º-8º C). Do not freeze. Protect from light. Per contact with Boehringer Inglehiem Vetmedica- studies indicate Prozinc should stay stable up to 28 days at room temperature up to temps of 78 degrees F. Protect from light, store in box or in cupboard.
Thank you, that is wonderful. I have already gave him a shot this morning. I had dread, thinking I was going to need to go buy insulin. I guess I must have been thinking of Buddy being on Lantus, he was on that a lot longer than KitKat has been on ProZinc. Wonder how long it will take if KitKat's tooth was the problem before we can notice a difference.
 
Also, please keep your spreadsheet updated. I would like to see how he’s doing today and as he recovers from the dental. Did the vet give you any antibiotics? That’s another area of veterinary medicine where there are changes being made and there are currently different approaches to giving antibiotics. I hope he won’t be getting any more of the Meloxicam since it’s not good for his kidneys.
He had a shot of Convenia on 1/17/25. Don't know why they always want to give Convenia. I told him he will take pills, if you ever want to ghive them. Got another can waiting on me.
 
He had a shot of Convenia on 1/17/25. Don't know why they always want to give Convenia. I told him he will take pills, if you ever want to ghive them. Got another can waiting on me.
Not another can, but cat.
Also, please keep your spreadsheet updated. I would like to see how he’s doing today and as he recovers from the dental. Did the vet give you any antibiotics? That’s another area of veterinary medicine where there are changes being made and there are currently different approaches to giving antibiotics. I hope he won’t be getting any more of the Meloxicam since it’s not good for his kidneys.
I have to go to the store sometime today, because of the power outage. So, later in the afternoon things will so down .
 
He had a shot of Convenia on 1/17/25. Don't know why they always want to give Convenia. I told him he will take pills, if you ever want to ghive them. Got another can waiting on me.
Oh my, yes. Convenia isn’t the best antibiotic for the oral bacteria (Clindamycin is.) Anyway, I don’t know why they won’t give you pills. Convenia can be dangerous if the cat has a bad reaction to it (can cause severe anemia). The problem with Convenia is that if the cat has a negative reaction to it, you cannot withdraw the antibiotic- like you would with pills where you could just stop and switch to another antibiotic. If he’s had a Convenia injection before with no problems then he will probably be just fine.
 
Oh my, yes. Convenia isn’t the best antibiotic for the oral bacteria (Clindamycin is.) Anyway, I don’t know why they won’t give you pills. Convenia can be dangerous if the cat has a bad reaction to it (can cause severe anemia). The problem with Convenia is that if the cat has a negative reaction to it, you cannot withdraw the antibiotic- like you would with pills where you could just stop and switch to another antibiotic. If he’s had a Convenia injection before with no problems then he will probably be just fine.
I do not know why, but when I tell a vet that I can pill a cat, they seemed suprised. I have not got ready to go to store yet.
 
I do not know why, but when I tell a vet that I can pill a cat, they seemed suprised. I have not got ready to go to store yet.
I know what you mean. Some vets think you can’t give pills to cats. Right now I have four cats getting pills- some of them twice a day. My sweet calico who passed away last July got many different medications and supplements several times a day. She never minded at all. Sometimes I give them pills in pill pockets, but other times I just use a “pill shooter”. I do have one cat though who will absolutely not allow any pills. He is a completely sweet and loving cat, but don’t put anything near his mouth.
 
I know what you mean. Some vets think you can’t give pills to cats. Right now I have four cats getting pills- some of them twice a day. My sweet calico who passed away last July got many different medications and supplements several times a day. She never minded at all. Sometimes I give them pills in pill pockets, but other times I just use a “pill shooter”. I do have one cat though who will absolutely not allow any pills. He is a completely sweet and loving cat, but don’t put anything near his mouth.
I have always used the empty gel caspsules and I always use a pill shooter. I think it is much easier than giving liquids.
 
I have always used the empty gel caspsules and I always use a pill shooter. I think it is much easier than giving liquids.
Yes. My cats hate liquids!! I call myself the queen of gelatin capsules as I have so many different sizes for different size pills. Gelatin capsules are the best way to go! I’m glad you use them.
 
@ Suzanne & Darcy, @ Diane Tyler's Mom, i justed got a Bg on Kit Kat before he eats it 216, much lower than his usual dose, which is 150. What amount should I give a shot, being that i would like to sleep tonight.
 
It’s only a little bit lower than what you shot last night. I would shoot the full dose as I think it would be best for KitKat, BUT since it is evening an he usually isn’t quite this low, you could shoot 1.25 like you did last night or 1 unit if you really Re not going to be able to do any tests tonight. Either way, it would be really useful to get a few tests tonight because we will need to see how he does with that lower preshot and the slightly reduced dose. I definitely do not think he’s in any danger. His BG should continue to rise for the next two hours and it will be two hours before the evening shot kicks in.
 
If he would just help us out by having a lower preshot in the morning where you could test more! That would help us out. If you want to, just go with 1 unit for tonight and then when he does this in the day you can gather some test data. How do you feel about that?
 
It’s only a little bit lower than what you shot last night. I would shoot the full dose as I think it would be best for KitKat, BUT since it is evening an he usually isn’t quite this low, you could shoot 1.25 like you did last night or 1 unit if you really Re not going to be able to do any tests tonight. Either way, it would be really useful to get a few tests tonight because we will need to see how he does with that lower preshot and the slightly reduced dose. I definitely do not think he’s in any danger. His BG should continue to rise for the next two hours and it will be two hours before the evening shot kicks in.
If it were day time I would not hesitate to give him his full dose, but since it is getting late I do not know about staying up to get a few test. He is eating right now.
 
If he would just help us out by having a lower preshot in the morning where you could test more! That would help us out. If you want to, just go with 1 unit for tonight and then when he does this in the day you can gather some test data. How do you feel about that?
That is wonderful, when I was younger i could have stayed up and ran some test, at this age it is hard for me to do.
 
Back
Top