Cotello's info (London2z) Help Needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Oliver (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi All,

Wally has been posting on Health as London2z. viewtopic.php?f=28&t=53924 Some of you have replied on his thread. He tried a sliding scale from YDC that was outdated and suggested pretty high doses and TID. It looks like Costello has done a lot of bouncing around. He is thinking he will start over at one unit 12 hours apart.

I tried to put in the last day on his spreadsheet, but it was difficult because of the TID. Most concerning now is that Wally thinks he may have given 4 units and then another 4 units 4 hours later. His last test was +8 and Costello was down from 536 to 318. I have asked him to do another test to make sure he doesn't go too low tonight with the overlapping dose.

So, he has internet for the next few hours and then will not be able to afford the service. He has my phone number and I have his and he can check in every so often at his sister's house.

He is using PZI BCP and U100needles.

He and I need your help to help Costello.
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

Sue,
The SS link is broken....
I'll check in on Health. Costello has seen way too much PZI so far.

Will be a challenge doing it over the phone, but we can make it work.

Carl
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

Sue,
Even with the overlap, all the PZI should be "gone" soon, right? It looks like 4u, then 4u more 3 hours later, so the first dose has been on board for 11 hours, the 2nd for 8

Carl
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

Wally will be checking in on PZI, not Health. He just took a test at +8 and got 470. We are wondering if he should give one unit at what would be 12 hours from the first shot today. Wally isn't positive whether he gave 4 more units at +4.
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

Yes, he can wait 4 more hours to give the evening shot. (He is in Washington state.) The problem is that it could be 12 hours or 16 hours since the last shot....
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

I know we always use the +hours.... but just to clarify, what time (Eastern) did he shoot last?
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

if the numbers are that high, then yes, i'd give the 1 unit at what we assume would be +12. 1 unit won't be enough to crash kitty if the numbers are high anddddd, especially if it ends up being +16 that would be even better really.
 
Re: Cotello's info (London2z)

Carl, don't ask me to do time zones and his numbers!! He got 4 U at +9 this am (think it was 7:30 am Pacific time). Today he may have shot 4 more at 11:30am Pacific time which would have been +4.

He has been testing every 2 hours day and night (poor Wally and poor Costello!) I told him we would be happy with amps, pmps and nadir for awhile....
 
I'm just nervous going back to one unit with no ketone testing yet, Cindy, but I respect your experience. Thanks for chiming in.

Money is tight. He has ordered ketone strips on the internet but hasn't found a source locally for a small amount.
 
Sue,
I understand the goal now is to get on a 12/12 schedule. Yes, he could give him 1u since his numbers are still high.
The best thing, I think, is to find out from wally what time of the day works best for him. The guy has to be able to get some sleep! If we have him get AMPS, PMPS and a nadir in between (don't know if he wants to do another nadir between PM and AM), then let's find out what time of the day would be the best time of the day given his "beyond diabetes" schedule, and have him do the shot at that time.
 
That's a good question to ask. If he could alter the schedule a little to accommodate most of you on the East Coast, he would get more replies.
 
Cindy and Carl,

I am not worried about one unit being too much. I am concerned about dropping from the 4 to the one without ketone testing.....
 
i'm thinking 1 unit because it's something yet not too much given the possible double shot there.

if there was indeed a double shot the effects would last a little longer than the +6 that we normally see with pzi so, given that it is 7:48 here on the west coast right now, i would think we'd be seeing the effects of it right about now if the second 4 units was indeed given. if the BG is that high, i would almost assume the second 4 units was not given but to be cautious tonight, i'd go with the 1 unit. 2 at the most really

how is kitty acting? anything off that might indicate ketones? and tell him to smell kitty's breath. not sure if too many men know the smell of nail polish remover but i think it's similar to paint thinner/remover?
 
smells like acetone....paint stripper. Unmistakable.

With the numbers Costello has had - 500s and 600s, ketones are definitely a concern.

Carl
 
Sue, if he has a Wal Mart nearby that's the cheapest place to get ketone strips. I believe they are around 10.00 for a 50 strip bottle.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Cindy and Carl,

I am not worried about one unit being too much. I am concerned about dropping from the 4 to the one without ketone testing.....


just saw this thought. :-)

my first thought is that it would only be for tonight, the lower dose, due to the possible double shot earlier. tomorrow morning would be another story and he could shoot a higher dose then if need be
 
Okay. I am going to call him. Will ask about acetone breath and tell him the consensus is one unit tonight and ketone testing asap. Will mention Walmart for ketone strips, Barbara.
 
Don't know what meter he's using but I would suggest the Relion from Wal Mart if money is tight...the meter's only around 10.00 & 100 strips are about 36.00 or you can get 50 for around 20.00.
 
He will give one unit tonight and test for amps at 11:30 Pacific time tomorrow. We will see if we can get the am/pm times closer to East Coast possibilities. He says Costello is acting normally and has no acetone breath. We have had several offers of help for him. Thanks so much, everyone. This is such a wonderful, caring place!
 
Yes, everyone, thank you very much! Actually, I haven't been testing quite as much as every 2 hours. More like every 4-6 hours, other than maybe today with the +4, +6, +8, mid-cycle checks, and going back to 12-hour cycles. Should I give 1 unit tonight at 11:30, regardless if whether or not the pmps BG is still going up from the 470 BG at +8, or down? If it's going down, aren't you supposed to not give any? And I'm sorry about the times. I don't know how to change the times to line up with east coast, as it's on a 11:30- 11:30 cycle, now. -Wally
 
i say no less than 1 unit no matter what, unless of course the bg took a dive and is well under 200 :-) if the bg is up and you feel like 2 is needed, i think you'd be safe with 2

can you confirm which meter you are using by the way? one of the relion's? if so, is it the ultima, the confirm, or the micro?
 
If it goes down, you would skip the dose because we can't be sure if it will continue to go down longer than the 12 hour cycle.

Don't worry about changing the times. What works for you will work for us. There just won't be as many people on when you have a preshot number. Probably will be more on at your amps than the pmps.
 
Thanks Cindy and Sue. I will follow Cindy's recommendation. The meter I'm using is an Infopia Element meter. But Carl found me a Bayer meter and strips that'll be sent to me. -Wally
 
Thanks, Carl, for helping with getting ketone strips, and meter and strips, sent to me! Is there any chance of finding 3/10 cc, 31 guage, u100, 30- unit capacity syringes, as well? I hope I'm not asking too much. -Wally
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top