Costello 10/12 amps Vomiting after shot -update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Oliver (GA)

Member Since 2009
amps 600 Last night pmps 579 2 units. Check earlier post for background. Advice?

He should have ketone strips today. Wondering how long it will take the bouncing from previous doses to clear or if we need to up the dose?
 
Re: Costello 10/12 amps

I fear another Risky circumstance with those high numbers. Last night was one or two units?
carl
 
Re: Costello 10/12 amps

Crap.
I don't want wally to lose faith in what we're trying to do, but high numbers will do that probably. He needs to put some low carb wet into Costello...
I hate to bump it to three. Two and a half maybe if he is still red or black?
 
Re: Costello 10/12 amps

Sue
Five p check - is costello showing any good signs?
His poor litlle body doesn't know what the hell to do with all the insulin he has gotten lately.
Carl
 
Re: Costello 10/12 amps

Okay, we decided on 2.5. ( He is 30 minutes late with the dose at this point so that seemed wise.) He will get a +6 and I'll post it at 10 pm East Coast time. Wish we had a few more West Coast PZI people.

Thanks for being here, Carl.

And yes, he says he seems fine. I asked him to watch for dehydration. He is still drinking alot.
 
Re: Costello 10/12 amps

I'll make sure I'm around between 9 and 10.

Carl
 
He does need some food in him, but, he got 4u yesterday, with food, and only went to pink mid-cycle (with most likely still some overlap from prior doses). Even at 2.5, I don't think Costello will crash on an AMPS of 579. I wouldn't try to force feed him, just see if he'll eat a little every hour or so. Definitely need to figure out why the vomiting though.

Carl
 
SOrry I have been MIA, working alot
Carl...I was thinking the same thing!
another Risky.....I am praying for him.
I will try to stay updated but I really think he has had too much insulin...
I could be wrong but it feels like dejavue...
 
Hurrah! Wally called. The +6 is 379. Not fantastic, but not bad. Since no one is on FDMB at his pmps, we discussed if it was in the 400s (unlikely) 2 U. If it was in the 500-600, 2.5 again. Does that sound good?

I am so relieved. Was worried Costello had gotten sick.
 
That's a relief! I agree with the dose strategy too. I hope Wally is feeling somewhat more confident. Did he manage to get Costello to keep any food down?

Carl
 
You know, I was so excited, I forgot to ask. But I am thinking he would have mentioned it if he was having trouble with him eating. Might quickly call him back....
 
You are an angel Sue!
glad the +6 has come down..thats a good sign and yes I agree with the dose
Good Luck!
 
Hi -
I have read the nausea and vomiting be symptoms of hypoglycemia - either having the BG go down to the hypo level or of having the BG fall too far too fast, even if it doesn't reach the level that would be considered actually hypoglycemic. The vomiting might be another indication that Costello is getting too much insulin.

Sending positive thoughts in Wally and Costello's direction!
 
Hi everyone,
Sorry, Sue, about yesterday, I should have explained my schedule, before. I'm new at this. Anyway, I'm at my sister's computer, now. His BG at +6 yesterday was 379, at pmps it was 177. Skipped dose. At 5:30 a.m. this morning, +6 was 599, gave 2 and a half u. I hope that was ok. Thanks, everyone.
 
What do you think I should do at +6? I know I was supposed to wait till +12 to give that dose but thought maybe too high of a BG to wait. So, started new 12 hour cycle. Carl, I don't have your phone #, as it was on my email, which is now down. Could you email it to my sister's, at: kanai@q.com ? Thanks greatly. Wally
 
I don't know if you are still on, Wally. I will call at +6 today. The 177 is great news! You may have a similiar situation tonight. If you do, we would like you to do this -
Wait 20 minutes and test again. If he is over 200, shoot a reduced dose like .5 units.

If we avoid skipping a dose, it is best. It means he goes sky high the next time.

This is very good news. It looks like the bounces may have subsided and we can deal with "normal" numbers.

The 177 suggests the dose may be a little high, so maybe we should reduce it to 1.5 units on anything over 300?

What do others think?
 
I'm still at my sister's. I'll be home before 11:30. I just read dmartini4 post again, and I thought someone else had said to just skip if Bg was falling fast. And BG was 177, down from 379 6 hours earlier. I can't refer to posts becuse my service is no longer. I can't refer to posts, now, before my BG checks. Or get feedback.
 
Yes, that's right. We wouldn't want you to shoot until the number is headed back up. That's why you wait awhile and check again. 200 and headed up is usually a good threshold for a reduced dose.

You sort of did the same thing when you shot at +6 - just later.

I think this all will work out great. This new schedule will work out better for the East Coast folks.

And I am really excited about the lower pmps!
 
I just mean those times when it's too late to call Sue, or whoever, that I can't get info needed by the right time.
 
I know it is a real disadvantage not to be able to come on and ask questions when you need answers. We can just give you some basic ideas about what and when to shoot, now that you are seeing more normal numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top