Costco told me they don't carry ProZinc?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmm, yea that is within the error range and still technically an OK number. Your choice to let her lick at the wet food or wait until the next reading. Maybe let her lick at the wet [high carb] food so you can get to bed sooner.

Edit [11p pacific time]: Any more tests? How's she doing?
 
After the +6:15 reading of 58, I gave her aooroximately 15 more pieces of dry food -- it probably wasn't necessary, but I'd rather err on the side of caution this time.
+6:30 = 73
+7 = 98

I'm going to give it another 15-30 minutes and test again. Hopefully I'll be able to go to bed then -- it's 2am and I'm exhausted!!!
 
OK, yea that looks good. I'm feeling good about this. It would have to be pretty whacky to go back down from here.

On the bight side now we know she might nadir at +6 or so. :smile:
 
Well, we made it through the night. She wasn't happy about the fact that I kept interrupting her nap to poke her ears, but I think the fact that she got to eat dry food more than made up for it!!!

But I'm still mad at myself over this. My first instinct was to start with a dose of .2u BID and see how she does on that, because of the fact that I'm switching from one U40 insulin to another -- therefore the dosing should be similar, if not the same. The vet said to start her at 1 full unit BID, which I knew would go horribly wrong. But nooooooooo -- instead of going-with-my-gut, I compromised and gave Motska .5u instead. So I'm mad at me, mad at the vet, thankful to still have my baby-girl and thankful that you were all there to give me advice and encouragement!

Her AMPS this morning was 400, and after I fed her, I planned on giving her just a drop or so of insulin, but that didn't work out very well.... She hid under the bed and anytime I got close to reaching her, she scooted over to the opposite side. Then I 'd go over to that side and she'd scoot over to another corner. I gave up pretty quickly -- she was scared and there's no reson to make it worse, especially since I stood absolutely NO chance of catching her.

So we'll see how it goes tonight and start over at .2 units.
 
This sounds like a good plan, Kris. Are you planning to tell your vet what a disaster his advice would have been?

Poor baby. She is probably tired of getting poked. It won't hurt to give her some time off. It will take awhile for the syrup and dry food to wear off.

Great job last night. I imagine a PZI hypo looked different than a Vetsulin one. :-D
 
Wow, what a night! Chiming in late, but just wanted to say I'm glad you guys made it through so well. Also, I'm in Rockledge, FL, so howdy neighbor!
 
How about congratulating yourself for doubting the vet and for doing such a good job protecting your kitty when things went wrong? Being willing to compromise with someone who has (or is supped to have) more expertise is not necessarily a bd thing---especially since you didn't ignore your own gut.
 
Hey Kris & Motska!

I'm so glad Gator was able to hang tight with you and that all is well. You rock \M/ and please, please, please do not beat yourself up about the dose you gave. It was your first night with a new insulin. You did a fantastic job! Very calm, cool, and collected, you knew what to do and had the right tools on hand to make everything come out alright.

Sending a big hug for you :YMHUG: and purrs for Motska. cat_pet_icon
 
I do plan on letting the vet know that she gave me some not-so-good advice. I'll probably wait until I get home and have the time to think it through and find a POLITE way to let her and the rest of the vets there (I'm going to send this to their general e-mail address) know that she should have listened a little better to my opinion and my concerns -- and that her advice could have had disastrous consequences. And I'm going to make sure I include all of the BG readings I took last night -- I DO think that she'll read it, since they have recommended that I do a curve in a couple of weeks and fax the results in to them so they can see how she's doing on the PZ. They are very current on Feline Diabetes treatment protocols, and I will continue to take Motska there -- they just made a bad judgement call this time.

KristenP -- Howdy to you, too, neighbor!
 
Sounds like you had a wild ride last night but knew just what to do. I'm always so impressed how wonderful people on the forum with the support they give. Paws crossed you have an easier night tonight and can get some rest. I second the others that you shouldn't beat yourself up as you halved the dose your vet recommended. Sounds like your vet based their advice on their standard beginning dose for PZI, not realizing/listening that Motska is a pretty low dose kitty.
 
RE: Costco carrying ProZinc

When I first heard they were carrying it, I called locally (didn't have) and then I called 2 stores in Chicago. Neither one had it, hadn't heard of it.

Was about 6 - 8 weeks ago. I think it's probably just a rumour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top