Cosmo - numbers not budging

Status
Not open for further replies.

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Hi!

We are a little less than a week into insulin and beginning testing. Finally got the larger lancets and getting good droplets :) I have a couple days off work Mon/Tues, so will be able to get more tests in +3, +5, etc. To see if he drops earlier than I think he should.

Concerned that Cosmo doesn't seem to be reacting to the insulin and numbers are getting higher, rather than lower as we go.

Advice? :banghead:
 
Hi, a very long timer here, sweetest thing of you and Cosmo to try beat this as far as you can.
I see from the SS that you quickly went from the 1 U to 2 U. I understand that you are scared by the first 1 U bg number. We've all been there in the beginning. Normally with Lantus we just do small increase or decrease dose changes, so maybe you should have tried just slight increase to either 1,25 U or 1,5 U. We have to try and get down from the Diabetes Keto Acidic, DKA numbers which are up there at bg 20-22, down at least to,the renal threshold bg 13 in the beginning.

Now all the others Lantus experts here will come to your help. I just gave the first guidelines for Lantus and ARE rooting for you and Cosmo. You are NOT alone.
All My Love To You, It's The Strongest Force In The World :bighug:
 
Hi!

We were asked by our vet to start at 2 units for 2 weeks while his depot fills, but we didn't have a tester the first day, so we did a 'chicken' dose on day 1 because we had no idea where he was. When we saw the high number on our first test, we felt better with complying with the vet at 2 units.

We would definitely move forward with any increases or decreases at the 0.25U now that we have a better hang of things.

Frustrating to see him flying so high
 
Tanya:

If you are still feeding Cosmo any dry food, it's cause for concern. The dry food, including "diabetic" dry food, is way too high in carbohydrates. From your spreadsheet (SS), It looks like you're feeding MD. You have lots of options for canned foods that are lower in carbs and way less expensive. Lisa Pierson, DVM has compiled a list of canned foods and she lists the carb counts so you can choose. You want food that's less than 10% carbs -- although most people here feed their cats in the 5% range (give or take). Getting rid of the dry food in Cosmo's diet will have a big effect on lowering his numbers.

The other reason you're not seeing much movement in Cosmo's numbers is that it takes roughly a week for the Lantus depot to form and stabilize. Lantus is a long-acting, gentle insulin whose effect is based on the depot, There's a ton of information on the Lantus board about Lantus and the way it works. I'd encourage you to post there since you will be able to get help that's specific to the insulin you're using.

As for dosing method, there are two options -- Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. If you are still giving Cosmo any dry food, your only option is Start Low Go Slow. Again, the dosing methods are described on the Lantus board. Ann provided the link to the sticky note on dosing methods in her post above.
 
Thanks everyone! Super helpful.

We are now only giving him wet food after a few day transition to a new food. He is pretty food/#2 sensitive ;) We used FF chicken/liver and turkey/giblets before with the remission kitty we had. Cosmo is allergic to it and gets a bald, itchy belly and legs from FF. I'll take a look at others so we don't have to spend a fortune in the long run for sure. I'll change my signature.

We want to do TR.

Hoping his depot fills!o_O
 
Last edited:
If you can get preshot tests for both AM and PM, and at least one other test each cycle, as per TR, you can increase faster if we know he's not going below 300.

If would help if you comment in the Remarks which day you started giving all wet food. It can take a couple days for the dry food carbs to work out of the system. The fur shot will also deplete the depot. It'd help us help you if on the 6/11 AM when you think you might have done a fur shot, to put something like 2.0 FS? for possible fur shot. Any time there is a reduced dose, it can impact the depot and you have to wait for it to build again.

And "Hi", waving at you from the North Shore. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top