Cosmo 6/23 - AMPS 542, PMPS 482

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...472-6-367-9-353-pmps-353.231322/#post-2587928

Cosmo was urgently hungry at +3.5 on his pm cycle last night. I fed him about 2 more oz of 3% ziwipeak and he ate it all. Not sure if he was dropping, but we are back into the 500's this morning. :(

He did eat 10% yesterday until I returned home from work. Maybe that's why we are a little higher this am?

Cosmo has a vet appointment in a few hrs...wish us luck!

DSC_2041.JPG
 

Attachments

  • DSC_2041.JPG
    DSC_2041.JPG
    79.2 KB · Views: 57
Good luck with the vet appointment. It's possible he's bouncing a bit because of the long stretch of pinks he's not used to yet. Cats bounce from numbers they aren't used to, they don't have to be that low.
 
Went to the vet today. We need to break up with our vet, I believe.

-He wanted to do another fructosamine test and we wondered why, because we have been testing every 3 hrs and he is high.
-I asked about neuropathy and he didn't feel that B12 would make a difference.
-I asked if his slow bowel could be due to neuropathy, he didn't think so.
-He wasn't pleased that we increased his dose to 2.5 units and said we didn't need to be testing. He felt insulin wouldn't kick in for several weeks. Even then, he didn't think it was necessary to test every AMPS and PMPS.

:banghead:

The decent news is that Cosmo is now 13.4lbs, up from 13.2...so that's good.
-we got a prescription for Lantus that we can pick up at a drug store rather than at the clinic.
-I got him to give Cosmo a b12 injection. I know it isn't the right kind, but it should perk him up a bit.

I have an appt for Saturday with a different vet - the one who treated Elie when he was diabetic. She had moved away, but I found her again and she is nearby!
 
Good luck with the vet appointment. It's possible he's bouncing a bit because of the long stretch of pinks he's not used to yet. Cats bounce from numbers they aren't used to, they don't have to be that low.
Sadly, it was a disappointing appt.:(
 
Last edited:
Bummer on the vet visit. Sounds like some vet needs to go to feline diabetes refresher school. :banghead: However, it is good to hear you have a possible alternative nearby and got in so quickly.

By the way, you don't need a prescription for Lantus here. Hope you weren't charged for it. I was the first time I got a prescription - then the pharmacist told me I didn't need it. :arghh:

You did have an earlier post on b12 vitamins for neuropathy where someone recommended the Vitacost brand. Back when I was looking for methyl b12 powder, plain or in capsules, it was hard to find locally. I did find one by New Roots. Maybe take the list of ingredients to the vet on Saturday and see if they are all OK for a cat.
 
Bummer on the vet visit. Sounds like some vet needs to go to feline diabetes refresher school. :banghead: However, it is good to hear you have a possible alternative nearby and got in so quickly.

By the way, you don't need a prescription for Lantus here. Hope you weren't charged for it. I was the first time I got a prescription - then the pharmacist told me I didn't need it. :arghh:

You did have an earlier post on b12 vitamins for neuropathy where someone recommended the Vitacost brand. Back when I was looking for methyl b12 powder, plain or in capsules, it was hard to find locally. I did find one by New Roots. Maybe take the list of ingredients to the vet on Saturday and see if they are all OK for a cat.
Thanks Wendy!
 
That's fantastic that you were able to locate your old vet, it certainly makes life a lot easier when your vet is on the same page as you. :)

Have a great day Tanya!! :)
 
Back
Top