Cosmo 6/17 - bouncy AMPS 410, +3 540, +6 527

Hi, let's ask Marje to have a look at what's wrong with Cosmo's SS. Do you use a phone or Ipad or are you having problems from a PC also?

If ever you need to convert from mmol/L to mg/dl you can multiply the mmol/L by 18 and round up/down. So 22.8 x 18 = 410 mg/dl. :)

@Marje and Gracie
 
You've been on this dose for 10 cycles...you could increase per TR. He really hasn't seen any good numbers on this dose...perhaps he needs a little more insulin.
 
You've been on this dose for 10 cycles...you could increase per TR. He really hasn't seen any good numbers on this dose...perhaps he needs a little more insulin.

I was really excited to see him a little lower this morning at +9, but then he bounced.
 
Hi, let's ask Marje to have a look at what's wrong with Cosmo's SS. Do you use a phone or Ipad or are you having problems from a PC also?

If ever you need to convert from mmol/L to mg/dl you can multiply the mmol/L by 18 and round up/down. So 22.8 x 18 = 410 mg/dl. :)

@Marje and Gracie
My SS on my phone says permissions have been changed and I am only able to 'read only', however only sometimes? I have an android phone. Computer works fine:)
 
He really needs that increase to 2.5 units. The goal is blues and greens.
HI Wendy,

We are having a few problems today... :arghh:

Early this morning, he had a severe bout of constipation for a few hrs right after +9 on PMPS cycle. In and out of the litter for a few hrs...but he #2'd... And then basically pooped what seemed like 2-3 days worth. This happened in mid May when his hobbling started. He had to have an enema and stool softener in May (the stool softener discontinued due to super high sugar in it, once his blood work came back. I am wondering if he has a slow colon from neuropathy?

It was quite a morning... I thought I was going to have to take him to the vet...

I need to change his food again, unfortunately. He is allergic to FF and has skin irritation, itching and he is nibbling the fur off his legs/stomach again. He is very uncomfortable. MD isn't low enough carb (and expensive). I need to do some food research... Allergic to chicken, and FF Turkey, it seems.

I saw the food chart, but I don't get what I'm looking at. I went to Korna today after work and got a few options to try... 9-10% protein and less than 5 fat with 78-80% moisture. Sigh...

Considering going back to his grain free kibble (I know, I know) (it's the only food he's never been allergic to) and going SLSL instead of TR. Thoughts?

If, I change his wet food, if we can find him one that he isn't allergic to, should I still increase his units while we switch the wet for a week or two?

I really thought he had filled his depot and would slide down today... Maybe too much stress? :confused:
 
My SS on my phone says permissions have been changed and I am only able to 'read only', however only sometimes? I have an android phone. Computer works fine:)
I've heard of a few people lately having the same problems while using phones but it seemed like the problem resolves itself. :rolleyes: Apparently it's a google update thing.

Try logging out and back in to google on your phone. Let's see if that works.

@Olive & Paula @Ti-Mousse What did you ladies do to access your SS's on your phones when it wasn't working?
 
I never fed/feed Fancy Feast. Sounds like you still have protein options for venison, duck, rabbit, beef (maybe, sometimes an allergen), lamb, pork. Natures Variety, Korna, Rawz are a few of the canned food brands with those proteins. I switched Neko over to raw food, and that opened up a whole world of proteins. Red Dog Blue Kat/3 P Naturals/Natural Instincts are all local brands with different protein options. Just look for less than 10% carbs.

Are you adding extra water to his food? It help moves things through. https://felineconstipation.org/ All you ever wanted to know and more. Miralax in the US is Restoralax here, diabetic friendly.

Yes on the increase, his numbers need to come down.
 
I've heard of a few people lately having the same problems while using phones but it seemed like the problem resolves itself. :rolleyes: Apparently it's a google update thing.

Try logging out and back in to google on your phone. Let's see if that works.

@Olive & Paula @Ti-Mousse What did you ladies do to access your SS's on your phones when it wasn't working?
Nothing, it comes back on its own; sometimes just retrying without doing anything and it's ok; at other times, you can get the Permission message all day; I tried cursing but it didn't help :p so I update SS on my laptop when I don't have access. Same problem with tablet, laptop is the only one always OK! I thought of a browser (Chrome) issue as not everybody has it... it started just a few weeks ago for me, could also be a Google update.....! Unfortunately can't help more!!
 
Nothing, it comes back on its own; sometimes just retrying without doing anything and it's ok; at other times, you can get the Permission message all day; I tried cursing but it didn't help :p so I update SS on my laptop when I don't have access. Same problem with tablet, laptop is the only one always OK! I thought of a browser (Chrome) issue as not everybody has it... it started just a few weeks ago for me, could also be a Google update.....! Unfortunately can't help more!!
I tried cursing too... Didn't work for me either :p
 
I've heard of a few people lately having the same problems while using phones but it seemed like the problem resolves itself. :rolleyes: Apparently it's a google update thing.

Try logging out and back in to google on your phone. Let's see if that works.

@Olive & Paula @Ti-Mousse What did you ladies do to access your SS's on your phones when it wasn't working?

I turned my phone off and let it update. If it goes on to long I will boot up pc and enter from there.
 
Decided to switch his food at PMPS tonight, and do SLGS since it is now a combo...

Free feed Performatin Ultra hard food (no allergies to it) and MD wet (he seems to like it).

Still at 2 units, but will see what the food change does. He hasn't noticed or had the initiative to venture over to the bowl of hard food yet...opted for the MD wet. Maybe it was closer in distance.

As per SLGS, we will wait for the new food combo to settle before adjusting dose.
 
As far as the food issue. Try other brands. I swear FF changed again as I was having issue with civvie Tripper. And I noticed the FF I used changed in color, smell and texture. Even had allergy testing done. Once I stopped the FF her ears cleared up, she stopped scratching and her neck cleared up, she shredded her ears and all the fur down both sides of her neck was scratched out, neck was scratched raw, bleeding. A real mess.
 
As per SLGS, we will wait for the new food combo to settle before adjusting dose.

That's good to know - if you could add this to your SS it would be good - at the top where people look for which dosing method you're following...looks like you've got some research/testing to do.....and you've gotten some great advice and suggestions from Wendy and Paula! :)
 
As per SLGS, we will wait for the new food combo to settle before adjusting dose.
I haven't seen a post yet for today, but please don't wait to increase. He needs to get out of those high numbers now. The SLGS recommendation to hold the dose when switching food is for when you switch to a lower carb food, not a higher one which is what you are doing.

Another food option with crunch is freeze dried raw food. Lots of alternative proteins available. Or try the Ziwipeak air dried food. Korna carries both.
 
I haven't seen a post yet for today, but please don't wait to increase. He needs to get out of those high numbers now. The SLGS recommendation to hold the dose when switching food is for when you switch to a lower carb food, not a higher one which is what you are doing.

Another food option with crunch is freeze dried raw food. Lots of alternative proteins available. Or try the Ziwipeak air dried food. Korna carries both.
HI! I was working and just arrived home :)

Not much happening on his SS today and we will be upping the dose at PM shot to 2.5 as suggested :bighug:

Now that I'm home, I updated the SS, from my hubbies tests today.

Thanks for the food suggestions!!! I'll check them out! I picked up some ziwipeak wet and, then some samples of applaws which we will try once his allergies subside :) Really appreciate the food research help!
 
As far as the food issue. Try other brands. I swear FF changed again as I was having issue with civvie Tripper. And I noticed the FF I used changed in color, smell and texture. Even had allergy testing done. Once I stopped the FF her ears cleared up, she stopped scratching and her neck cleared up, she shredded her ears and all the fur down both sides of her neck was scratched out, neck was scratched raw, bleeding. A real mess.
Yes, seems FF has changed...Cosmo nibbles off the hair on his arms, legs and belly :(. He gets a bald belly at his worst.
 
Back
Top