Corn Litter = Carbohydrates? (And other Q's.)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any ideas on how long we need to be concerned and closely monitoring? The 12 hour cycle, 24 hours, other?

P. S: my wife said thanks for the compliment, Carl, it made her feel better.
 
Just got back home from a photo-taking trip. ;-)

AMPS ~ 97
+2.5 ~ 57
+3.5 ~ 81
+5.5 ~ 113
+8 ~ 135

Very nice numbers!

Should we still observe the 2 hour fast prior to PM shot? You don't think it will continue dropping at this point?
Yes, I would still withhold food for the 2 hours prior to the PM test, but he can eat up until then. No, I don't think dropping back down at this point is likely. He might not climb much more either.

Any ideas on how long we need to be concerned and closely monitoring? The 12 hour cycle, 24 hours, other?

Well, I think that if you decide to go from this point with a logical dose and one that you are able to stick with for 3-4 days at a time, your concerns won't be as high. Lantus works best if you can do that.
Going forward, of course you would test at every shot time, just before feeding. And on days when it works with your schedule, you would want to test around +6 if possible, as that is the "typical" time for nadir. And the nadir is how the dose is adjusted.

In my opinion, good times to test besides shot times are
Either +2 or +3. So that if you are going to see a good bit of drop from the insulin, you get an "early warning". Like today. He didn't go like "dangerously low" on that 57, but had you not seen it, and not fed him, he most likely would have dropped into the 40's I think.

And around +6 to try to see the "low point" that typically happens around then.

Other than that, the tests you get will pretty much indicate if more testing makes sense.

Another great time to test is just before you go to bed. You'll sleep better knowing where the BG is at that time.
 
Any theories (with little information) on why he was still dropping this morning? Would that have been from the PM shot the night before being too much or just ECID?
 
Carl & Bob said:
Just got back home from a photo-taking trip. ;-)

Any ideas on how long we need to be concerned and closely monitoring? The 12 hour cycle, 24 hours, other?

Well, I think that if you decide to go from this point with a logical dose and one that you are able to stick with for 3-4 days at a time, your concerns won't be as high. Lantus works best if you can do that.
Going forward, of course you would test at every shot time, just before feeding. And on days when it works with your schedule, you would want to test around +6 if possible, as that is the "typical" time for nadir. And the nadir is how the dose is adjusted.

What I meant to say was, for today episode, are we definitely past the danger zone and the need to do bi-hourly testing? You seemed to imply that in your earlier comment about testing at +11 and PMPS, but just wanted to confirm that.
 
Well, you have three tests in a row showing a climbing number (food helped of course). But now you are past nadir, so the number should be on the way up (typically). You can use that 135 as a benchmark this cycle. I would expect a higher number than that at PMPS if he doesn't eat after +10.

I think that the dose should remain small. Like maybe .5u or less. I know the data is limited to this point. But I just have a feeling that Gizmo isn't going to need too much insulin. The low carb diet has made a big difference, in my opinion.
 
Thanks. My wife's instinct at this point is to skip the shot tonight, regardless of reading and see if maybe he actually can be controlled with diet only, since he seems to need such a small dose. If that does not work, then start with 0.25 U and work up from there.
 
Okay, that sounds like a plan. Stick with low-carb canned only. And just because he has a history that includes DKA, try to test for ketones daily. Your wife's instincts have been good so far. :-D

If he gives you numbers in the 200 range, or several numbers above 120, that would indicate that he needs at least tiny doses of insulin. You just don't want to let things "get away from you".
 
Well, I wouldn't call 50's the danger zone. More like "be on the alert zone".

Once you have 2 rising numbers, without food influence for an hour and the numbers are over 100, you are usually ok.

Once you are past nadir, the insulin is not going to keep pushing the numbers back down.

There are always exceptions of course. That is why we tell people ECID (Every cat is different) and to "Know thy cat"

He should be fine now. Don't think you need to test until the +11 and then the PMPS. Carl probably suggested the +11 so you know if your PMPS is a rising or falling number.

We don't suggest you shoot on a falling number until you have more data on how your kitty will react. The usual suggestion on a falling low number is to stall if you can. Stalling is withholding food and insulin and retesting in 20-30 minutes to see if the number is rising yet. Stall as long as you can to fit your schedule. With Lantus, you need to be able to shoot 12 hours later if you stall. Not everyone's work and life schedule will accommodate that schedule change.

You can always skip a shot if you need to. One of our sayings here is "Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute". Meaning, the high numbers do damage over the long term and are not as dangerous, whereas the low numbers, under 40 could mean hypoglycemia and hypos are more dangerous in the short term. You already had some possible hypo situations with your other diabetic cat it sounds like.

Carl had you pull out the HC food because you had already given some dry high carb food and the low numbers were pretty early in the cycle, several hours before nadir. If the lows had been later in the cycle, say at +4, LC (low carb) food may have been enough. It depends on how carb sensitive your cat is also. You might have been ok with LC early in the cycle too.

Lots of good information here for you today. Are you following what we are telling you or do you need some clarification on anything?
 
About the litter I stopped using it the Ants loved it, they carried piece by piece one by one down the wall board and out the house. To Funny!!!
 
Yes, thanks, Deb. I did learn a lot today that I will remember. We really, really appreciate all the help. There were some good reminders here for other noobies, as well. What I learned was:

1) Do no shoot when the BG is still dropping. Wait until it starts rising or skip altogether.
2) It really is very important to get those nadir readings when adjusting dosing. Doing anything else is just guessing.
3) Don't panic if you do get a low or falling readings; follow the helpful hints about feeding a little hi-carb food and he/she will probably pull out of it (especially when giving Lantus).
4) When the advice givers say they will stick by you during a crisis, it is not just lip service. They really are there to support and advise and comfort the care giver.

Thanks again to Deb and Carl for helping Gizmo today (and everyday).

And, on the original topic, thanks for the cat littler suggestions, too!
 
Hi, I bought that litter too and put it in the tray, my Priss thought it was dinner...walked up and started scarfing it by the mouthful!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top