CORKY - 6/21/24 NEW THREAD

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Ok I am awake now, I did test Corky twice last night after the Karo, I did give him a tsp of Florentine Tuna when he hit 94 @ +3, I re checked @ +4 with 77 did nothing, I recheck @ +5 with 65. I am sorry I did not post that last BG
I had to re-read your last post twice to understand it, I woke up a bit woozy from a last night pain med. I understand that the idea, was not to have your cat go Hypo or under 50, after +5 with 65 BG, the reality that he would get lower readings after going to sleep, was higher than not, I have been with sever back pain for the past 2 days, I made the decision to take a pain med that I rather not, it knocks me out, I probably would not have been awake even with an alarm to continue testing. I am waiting on a new mattress, that hopefully will help I woke up the same, I am so sorry one more time I am messing up, I'll continue to learn every day the do's and don'ts as many times I read and am told, I always panic, and I was trying to be brave, but you were right about everything, but HC he never got:coffee::coffee::bookworm::bighug::bighug::cat::cat::smuggrin:
 
, but you were right about everything, but HC he never got:coffee::coffee::bookworm::bighug::bighug::cat::cat::smuggrin:
Karo is about as HC as you can get. That is the point. So it’s simple: no karo or any other form of HC unless cat drops to 50. Even then we can use it judiciously. But no matter. I am sorry about your pain. It does make it difficult to manage these cycles. If you are having too much pain/ pain meds then reduce Corky’s dose down temporarily until things are better. You also need to take care of yourself. That’s really important!. You did your best !
 
Karo is about as HC as you can get. That is the point. So it’s simple: no karo or any other form of HC unless cat drops to 50. Even then we can use it judiciously. But no matter. I am sorry about your pain. It does make it difficult to manage these cycles. If you are having too much pain/ pain meds then reduce Corky’s dose down temporarily until things are better. You also need to take care of yourself. That’s really important!. You did your best !

Good morning! thanks for the info on Karo, I will cautious. No, I cannot decrease his dose just because I have pain, no way! but thanks for the advice. He is doing better than ever, by my standards anyway, either way it would be more stressful for me if he starts getting high numbers, especially purples and high yellows it would be the same as going backwards in healing his pancreas, but thank you for thinking about my wellness, if he continues on the green path, then we can get to decreasing, don't you think?? I am good, he keeps me on my toes and boots on. It's going to be another green day I think, I am learning the pattern already, How's Red? everything OK with her? We had a long conversation she and I about who we were and stuff, It was very cool to me when she told me who she worked with and his age I think that's amazing, she seems amazing. This group/Forum, should have a yearly reunion of all the Long term members and the amazing people who put this together, even a Zoom yearly reunion, that would be so great, just thinking out of my A----! Have a great relaxed weekend, hoping your kitty is getting better:bighug::bighug::bighug::coffee::coffee:;):cat::cat:
 
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.
 
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.
Karo is about as HC as you can get. That is the point. So it’s simple: no karo or any other form of HC unless cat drops to 50. Even then we can use it judiciously. But no matter. I am sorry about your pain. It does make it difficult to manage these cycles. If you are having too much pain/ pain meds then reduce Corky’s dose down temporarily until things are better. You also need to take care of yourself. That’s really important!. You did your best !
Well since you (we) are not following the rules for reducing per the Start Slow Go Slow protocol, you need to change both your spreadsheet and your signature that both say SLGS. I am fine with it. As you know, I have been an advocate for NOT reducing Corky’s dose when he drops below 90. I have encouraged you to hold the dose and get him into lower greens that are above 50. But thos is not following the SLGS dosing protocol. It is following the Modified ProZinc Method and Corky is doing much better on it. The last time I mentioned this, it caused confusion so I let it go. However, I really need you to take the SLGS off of your signature and write MPM instead and to do the same on your spreadsheet. It can be confusing to other members of this Board when they look at your spreadsheet and see that you didn’t take a reduction when Corky drops below 90.

I just pm you pls if you can follow up for me pls, I changed the signature but I do not know how to change the SS Corky hit 78 @ 8:00 and his insulin does not kick in till 10PM:arghh::arghh::arghh::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Looks like you managed the cycle using low carb only? From your notes?
Yes I did and freaking out while he was at it , from one 1/2 to the next he totally flipped me and it was’nt even 10, but I remembered you post so I got it done, I’m exhausted but satisfied for Corky sorry to have emergencies You desperately. Have a good night:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
But remember that 78 is not a bad number. It’s a good number. Look what you learned tonight. He can surf in green with just a little low carb. I am extremely proud of you!
 
You’ve shot a 118! Are you ready for some action tonight? I would shoot the full dose. He is on hos way up. And remember that he has about 2 hours to rise before the ProZinc onsets at +2.
 
You’ve shot a 118! Are you ready for some action tonight? I would shoot the full dose. He is on hos way up. And remember that he has about 2 hours to rise before the ProZinc onsets at +2.
alright, will you be around, in case I get desperate, which will probably around 10-10:30? since I am shooting 1/2 later:arghh::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::bighug::cat::cat:
on it!! DONE!!! 1.25u
 
Last edited:
I’m really pleased with how Corky does on this 1.25 dose. He gets to see enough green, but they aren’t greens that you have to worry about because they are 70s, 80s, and 90s for the most part.
 
I’m really pleased with how Corky does on this 1.25 dose. He gets to see enough green, but they aren’t greens that you have to worry about because they are 70s, 80s, and 90s for the most part.
I know they are perfect I just let him do his thing and in the meantime I just test more often to make sure he’s good he’ll be having 3 tbsp of food@ 1:00 good enough to take him to PMPS if by 2:00 see is still in 2 low Dodgers I’ll feed ac1-2 tsp of LC and wait if he stays in 2 Dodgers believe me, you will be the first to know I will test @ 5:00 in case we need to act on 2 didgets
 
His last snack is supposed to be at 12:00 +6. I have said many times for him to eat his last food at +6, which is noon for you. But now I don’t remember why you don’t want to do that. He was supposed to be on a +2, +4, +6 snack schedule so that’s 8, 10, and 12 o’clock. But whatever. He seems to do okay most days. If we find him rising too much in the second half of the cycle we will revisit the +6 snack (as opposed to a +7 snack which is after nadir and giving food after nadir isn’t great- unless needed to bring up numbers.)
 
His last snack is supposed to be at 12:00 +6. I have said many times for him to eat his last food at +6, which is noon for you. But now I don’t remember why you don’t want to do that. He was supposed to be on a +2, +4, +6 snack schedule so that’s 8, 10, and 12 o’clock. But whatever. He seems to do okay most days. If we find him rising too much in the second half of the cycle we will revisit the +6 snack (as opposed to a +7 snack which is after nadir and giving food after nadir isn’t great- unless needed to bring up numbers.)
Corky's last meal is @+4 10:00 PM I believe we talked about it once we are asleep by 11:30-12:00PM, I have never giving him food past this time after PMPS, he same after AMPS Is noted in remarks always his last meal is +4 I am confused. he tested @4:00PM 226
 
Corky's last meal is @+4 10:00 PM I believe we talked about it once we are asleep by 11:30-12:00PM, I have never giving him food past this time after PMPS, he same after AMPS Is noted in remarks always his last meal is +4 I am confused. he tested @4:00PM 226

I think Suzanne is referring to a +2, +4, +6 snack schedule in the AM cycle. So snacks at 8am, 10am, and noon. In the pm cycle it would be snacks at 8pm and 10pm (since you are asleep at the PM +6 time of midnight). The snacks are in addition to his main two meals at AMPS and PMPS.
(Suzanne- correct me if needed!)
 
I think Suzanne is referring to a +2, +4, +6 snack schedule in the AM cycle. So snacks at 8am, 10am, and noon. In the pm cycle it would be snacks at 8pm and 10pm (since you are asleep at the PM +6 time of midnight). The snacks are in addition to his main two meals at AMPS and PMPS.
(Suzanne- correct me if needed!)
the only time I do not feed is +2 I tried and they are still full from the APMS, but I do give about 6-10 small pcs of ham 2%, they have tow main meals and two snacks, I tried for a week the +2 and they will not eat, but they will eat the ham @ +4 I really I understand that schedule perfectly but it does not fit for Corky:bighug::cat::cat: nowm I need corrections if I am wrong again:joyful:
 
he’ll be having 3 tbsp of food@ 1:00 low
Again — I am retyping this that I already typed above in a post and I don’t even think you read what I wrote. So here goes: I don’t have the time to keep retyping this

.
See what you wrote above. That is a quote. You said Corky was getting 3 tablespoons of food at 1:00. But 1:00 is +7 in your morning cycle. I merely pointed out that +7 is too late to feed him. His last snack should be at Noon. I am talking about the daytime as you were talking about 1:00 today (not tonight.)
 
Simple:
Snack at 8 a.m. - can be as small as one teaspoon
Snack at 10 a.m. also can be small
Snack at NOON can be small.

I have to go take care of my heart cat and do a grocery pick up. I will be around later this evening to check up on Corky. Nice greens today. Please read what I wrote above. ⬆️
 
Again — I am retyping this that I already typed above in a post and I don’t even think you read what I wrote. So here goes: I don’t have the time to keep retyping this

.
See what you wrote above. That is a quote. You said Corky was getting 3 tablespoons of food at 1:00. But 1:00 is +7 in your morning cycle. I merely pointed out that +7 is too late to feed him. His last snack should be at Noon. I am talking about the daytime as you were talking about 1:00 today (not tonight.)
Gotcha! now I understand I am sorry did not mean to make you work so hard. I am starting a new thread with titled the same but with today's date.:blackeye::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top