Corduroy, AMPS=215

Status
Not open for further replies.

blove7

Member Since 2013
Good morning!

Corduroy's numbers have been really good lately, leveling off and surfing the greens and blues up until last night, staying in the 200s. I read the information below, but I can't seem to make sense out of it. I'll go ahead and give him .75 again this morning, but should I increase the dose? Is there another article about increasing doses?

"Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

Have a great Monday!
 
I would hold the dose for now and see how he dose for the next few cycles. Sometimes you don't get the same response each cycle or bouncing could be involved. He did see some nice greens yesterday. A 6o is a pretty low green. Let's see what others seem to say.

You were dealing with a possible infection right in the past? So I know you want to be watchful of the numbers.
 
Hi Lovey11,

Yes, I agree. We'll see how it goes for a little while longer. He's actually at 173 at +2 now, so that's a good sign!

PeterDevonMocha,

Thanks! Yes, it's GREAT to see him leveling out! I can't tell you how happy we've been with these numbers the last few days! I was always so afraid the "shoot low to stay low" protocol, but it does seem to work. Now, with this said, I'm sure Cords will throw us another surprise in the near future! ;-)

Have a great day all and tell your kitties the same!!!
 
Hi Brigitte!

Yes, the first few times (or weeks) you shoot lower numbers, it can be really nerve wracking! You see your cat drop from 400 to 150 on one day and then someone is telling you to shoot a lower Pre-shot the next...and it just looks like it's the wrong thing to do, doesn't it? Your brain can't help but think "He dropped 250 points and you want me to shoot when he's only at 200?...You're crazy!!...Are you trying to kill my cat??"

Luckily it doesn't work that way, but I know that's how you see it when you first start!

Looks like he bounced yesterday off those pretty greens, but maybe is starting to break it today.

Surf safely Corduroy!! You look good in blue!!
 
Thanks Chris & China!

Yeah, we were both sooo apprehensive because of his wild swings, but it's great to see him in the blues! Greens would be better, but hey we'll take what we can get!

Have a great rest of your day!!!
 
oh corduroy - you're looking beautiful! what a nice change to his spreadsheet! no pinks, no reds for 3 days! the only yellow was a mini-bounce!

the guidelines are more clear in some things than others!

the general idea is that if you're seeing nadirs where you want them to be, you hold the dose. if they aren't quite in the best range yet, you might increase. with each increase, give them at least 6 shots at the new dose before considering another increase so you're allowing his body time to settle in with that dose. You've given the 0.75u the 10 cycles suggested in the guidelines you quoted:

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing."

you don't want to hold the current dose too long, because all of his numbers aren't yet in the normal range (50-120). they're close, but sometimes you still have to go up in dose to get them there.

i think you've just moved into the "fine-tuning" phase. He's looking really good. i wouldn't increase another 0.25u with these good numbers, but you could increase by half that much. So you'd be giving a "fat 0.75u." the difference is going to be very tiny, but your goal is to get all of his numbers between 50 and 120.

Does that all make sense? I would definitely increase. holding doses that aren't getting a cat into normal numbers for too long doesn't help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top