Copper's amps- SURPRISE!

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Copper's amps was @ 127. I couln't believe it so tested again in 10min and @ 117. Of course will not give shot, but don't understand. He was high all day yesterday on 1.8u. I gave the 1.6u(fat) last night and SURPRISE this mornings ps. Strange. He wasn't very hungry for middle of night feeding, just sleeping a lot. He seemed fine though. Wonder if he dipped lower last night. Don't understand how one cycle can be so high and the next he goes low. I really thought giving the lower dose at night would give me rest and give his ears a break. So now i'm concerened that i might have to check him more at night. I love it though he is in the blue's for amps.

My schedule is so off on shot timesa so maybe will not shoot him until tonight to get back on schedule?. Will be gone all afternoon all afternnon until early evening. I could test him right before i leave @2pm and shoot if needed. But then i'm on a 2am 2pm schedule(UGH). Maybe a TID for one day? Has anyone every done this for one day? Such a dilema.

Your thoughts appreciated!

Lori
 
Well, makes your life complicated but for a nice reason!

I wonder if the 1.8 was a little too high but it hung around and impacted those 1.6 numbers a bit. It looks like maybe a 1.6 or fat 1.6 might be a good dose going forward?

I would not do tid today. He is kinda volatile now with some changing numbers. If you could test again in an hour (depending on when he ate) and if he is over 200 (token dose - maybe one unit?) or in the 300s (maybe a little more?), shoot without messing up your schedule? I hate to see you lose momentum which skipping the shot will most likely do, but we want to keep him safe and your life possible.
 
Thanks Sue. He ate a little after i tested him an hour ago. I can test in about 15min and see where he is at. Then i have to leave for 2hr and will be back for a short bit and then gone again. He is not eating much the last 2days. I'm not sure if that is good or bad. But he is still eating. Will test again and see. If i give the token dose, do i have to wait 12hrs again? I don't really like the 12am/12pm schedule at all.

lori
 
Tested him and he is @ 127(+13). YEA! So no shot until early evening when i get home (7pmEST). At least i can get back on my schedule again of 7am/7pm. Hope he doesn't go too high while i'm gone this afternoon. He is doing so good. Strange he was in the 300's yesterday on the 1,8u. I thought PZI went out of system by 12hrs.

lori
 
Yes, it should be pretty much gone by 12 hours. Sometimes a higher dose = longer duration. Sometimes if the pancreas helps out a little, they can give you strange unexpected lower numbers. And if he is not eating as much, less food can mean lower numbers in some cats. So any or all or none of those. :mrgreen: Regardless, nice numbers!
 
WHAHOO! +19 hrs and copper is @ 151(that is with a little food 10min before). Can't believe it! So no shot right now. I will try to test him in 1.5hrs and see where he is at. I might give a token dose before i go to bed if he is still in the 150"s? What do you think? If i do give the token dose, do i consider that my pmps shot and have to wait 12hrs from that point to redose again?

Maybe his body is kicking in finally and he will stay on this surf. I'm so happy for him. I really needed the encouragement today after the last week of sickness and death. I was really down and now after today i'm a little more encouraged.

He is eating but nothing like he used to. I guess that's because he body is keeping regulated?

How long does it take for the neuro to go away after he starts getting regulated? For him i hope so soon!



Lori
 
I just want to make sure I understand...
You did not shoot this moring and aat +7..no insulin he is only 151...
:mrgreen:
 
Yes, he hasn't had a shot of insulin in over +19hrs and he is @ 151(after a little food snack). I am going to test again @9pmEST and that would be almost +24hrs since insulin and 2.5hr since last food intake. He looks good still and think he is still low the way he is acting-VERY CALM.

GO COPPER, GO!!! :RAHCAT

lori
 
It's now +22hrs past last insulin shot and was 3hrs past food intake. His pmps is 206. How much should i give him tonight? I was thinking .5u? I would like to give shot now. What do you all think?

Lori
 
I was looking back on his chart and thought maybe the .8u would be better to give. I don't want to give too much, but don't want to be under either. .5 or .8? Hummm

lori
 
Just tested again right before shot and this is half hour after eating- @219. So looks like he is staying steady in the 200's. So what do you think? I'm thinking .6? Or am i way off?

lori
 
Thanks Sue for helping me decide. Will go with the .6u and will try to test +3 and see where he is at. Thanks for helping me make a decision. WIll see how he does.

Lori
 
AMPS is @319. Boo hoo. I guess just not enough support of insulin last night. Oh well. I went with the 1.6u just because i didn't know if his pancreas is kicking in to help out a little so wanted to give it a chance so went with the lower dose. I will test at a nadir time, if i can.

Every day is a new day. To be continued.....

lori
 
HIs numbers are strange today. I wasn't able to get nadir today. At least i don't think i didn't . He just doesn't seem hungry like he used to. He still eats, just not much at all. He seems happy and content so don't think he is sick in any way. He actually got on my lap last night and snuggled, which is rare these days.

Not sure if today's numbers show i gave too much or too little? Guess will n o more at pmps. I really need to give pmps 1hr earlier too.

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top