? Copper AMPS 147 + 6.5 48 - Has he earned a reduction

Brooklyncatmom

Member Since 2021
Hello, I've been transitioning Copper off of Purina DM and have him almost completely on FF wet food now. AMPS was 147 and at +6.5 he was 48. How much do I reduce?
 
Just one exception to add... Even if it's within the 2 hours prior to shot time, if numbers are in the 40s, you may want to feed your cat a small amount of food. The general rule of thumb is to "feed the 40s" (or below).

Am I missing something? I don't see any AM numbers on Copper's SS.
 
Just one exception to add... Even if it's within the 2 hours prior to shot time, if numbers are in the 40s, you may want to feed your cat a small amount of food. The general rule of thumb is to "feed the 40s" (or below).

Am I missing something? I don't see any AM numbers on Copper's SS.
Hi @Sienne and Gabby (GA) if you keep scrolling down the AM numbers are there starting with 3-27
Have a nice day :cat:
 
Just one exception to add... Even if it's within the 2 hours prior to shot time, if numbers are in the 40s, you may want to feed your cat a small amount of food. The general rule of thumb is to "feed the 40s" (or below).

Am I missing something? I don't see any AM numbers on Copper's SS.
Scroll down. When Copper was first diagnosed, my vet had me giving him only one shot a day. I was giving this to him at noon. I have been giving him two shots a day since 3/27.
 
At what number do I not shoot? I reduced his dose to 3.75 units tonight with PMPS at 107. I'm worried that maybe I shouldn't have given him any? I don't know how low this will take him.
 
At what number do I not shoot? I reduced his dose to 3.75 units tonight with PMPS at 107. I'm worried that maybe I shouldn't have given him any? I don't know how low this will take him.
Hi there,

Did you give him 3.75 units? That's what it says on your spreadsheet.

Chances are Copper will be bouncing high tonight from that low you saw today, but if you are not comfortable you have a few options:

1. Do not feed and test again in 20 mins to see if he's coming up more.
2. Give a slightly reduced dose (or a BCS, a big chicken shot). You could give him 2 units, for example, so you don't completely lose momentum.
3. Skip the shot, but know that he will likely go high and we want to avoid this.

Hopefully someone else can chime in here to confirm. In the future, if you get a low number like that mid-cycle, I would test again at +11 and post here again to give yourself some time to get advice on how to proceed.
 
Hi there,

Did you give him 3.75 units? That's what it says on your spreadsheet.

Chances are Copper will be bouncing high tonight from that low you saw today, but if you are not comfortable you have a few options:

1. Do not feed and test again in 20 mins to see if he's coming up more.
2. Give a slightly reduced dose (or a BCS, a big chicken shot). You could give him 2 units, for example, so you don't completely lose momentum.
3. Skip the shot, but know that he will likely go high and we want to avoid this.

Hopefully someone else can chime in here to confirm. In the future, if you get a low number like that mid-cycle, I would test again at +11 and post here again to give yourself some time to get advice on how to proceed.
Yes, I gave him 3.75 units, with the PMPS at 107... so I'm just waiting to see how low this takes him.
 
Since the +2 was higher it usually means a less active cycle. So yes, but if you can leave some food out for him that would help to keep him safe in case he gets low. Have a good evening.
Thank you! Yes, I free feed the DM, but have been giving FF if I see him going for it. I will leave the DM out.
 
Thank you! Yes, I free feed the DM, but have been giving FF if I see him going for it. I will leave the DM out.
The DM might push his numbers high. If you can try to pick up the food 2 hours before shot time in the morning by setting an alarm, then we can be a little more certain that the number you get at AMPS isn't influenced by the kibble as much. My Ruby LOVES the DM dry food, but once I eradicated it from her diet her BGs dropped and she remained a lot more stable.
 
The DM might push his numbers high. If you can try to pick up the food 2 hours before shot time in the morning by setting an alarm, then we can be a little more certain that the number you get at AMPS isn't influenced by the kibble as much. My Ruby LOVES the DM dry food, but once I eradicated it from her diet her BGs dropped and she remained a lot more stable.
Copper was actually asking for the FF today when the DM was out, so that's a good sign (a former dry food ADDICT)! I will do my best.
 
Back
Top