? Copper 5/21 AMPS 437, past 2 PMPS in 100's

Brooklyncatmom

Member Since 2021
Hello, I've been giving Copper 4 units 2x/day for the past several days now, and adding in more wet food to his diet. The past two nights his PMPS BG were 103 and 161, so I did not shoot. Yesterday AMPS shot up to 433, but PMPS dropped to 161. Today AMPS 437. Should I reduce the dose?
 
He seems to be giving you high AMPS because the skipping of the night dose.
I see you are following SLGS, which suggests holding the dose of nadirs are above 90 - which I believe they are?
I imagine you are skipping the dose because he is bellow 120 at PMPS? This is a suggested starting point, and most of us eventually moved to shooting even green numbers. Eventually you want to "shoot low, to stay low". I do not want to duggest you do something you are not confortable with, but if you have a hypo kit, and can monitor, you may need to shoot him when he is below 120. It might be that then, he will earn a reduction. Or perhaps you can start by giving him half the dose when he is below 120, and not skipping, to avoid the morning bounce?

These are just my two pences. Let's see what others think.

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-300-7-59-possible-somoji-effect.246527/

The Purina DM dry is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. His numbers could improve quite a bit with a switch to all FF. Is that something you could consider? Feeding high carb and then keeping him on such a high dose of insulin seems counterintuitive.

With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 provided you can monitor. He hasn't earned a reduction yet, but the food transition would cause him to need less insulin.
 
Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-300-7-59-possible-somoji-effect.246527/

The Purina DM dry is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. His numbers could improve quite a bit with a switch to all FF. Is that something you could consider? Feeding high carb and then keeping him on such a high dose of insulin seems counterintuitive.

With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 provided you can monitor. He hasn't earned a reduction yet, but the food transition would cause him to need less insulin.
Yes, I'm working on the transition. I thought we weren't supposed to shoot if below 200, so that's why I was skipping the PM dose the past couple of nights, but it's definitely causing a BG spike in the AM.
 
Yes, I'm working on the transition. I thought we weren't supposed to shoot if below 200, so that's why I was skipping the PM dose the past couple of nights, but it's definitely causing a BG spike in the AM.
We ask people with newly diagnosed cats who do not have enough data on their cats not to shoot below 200 or 150. But that is only till they collect enough testing data to be able to shoot lower numbers.
 
Back
Top