Copper 2/9- NEED ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Good morning breakfast clubbers. Well copper decided it was his turn to freak momma out with low numbers. The higher carb picked him up right away, thank God.

His amps is @269. I have been shooting the 1u(fat) the last 3days and really getting nowhere, just flat, not even a blue until last night. So now i'm stumbed at what to do. Go a head and give the 1u or .8u? Hate to go backwards, but don't want to repeat what happened last night.

What do you think? Give shot by 7:30amEST.

Hope you all have a nice day!

Lori
 
Not a bad AMPS at all given he dipped low last night! :-D

It's my understanding kitties tend to be a bit more sensitive to insulin after having a low dip...but his AMPS sure doesn't seem like a bounce and his low dip wasn't in hypo territory. Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in. If not, I think I'd rather err on the low side and shoot the .8u or a skinny 1u (better high and safe than low and scary :shock: ).

Hope thathelps a bit. :-D
 
Good Morning!

A cat that goes hypo can be more sensitive to insulin for a couple of cycles, but Copper's numbers wouldn't be considered hypo. I also am thinking that, since there was no big bounce this morning, that he never got into numbers that made his liver panic and dump "sugar"-- so, assuming the small amout of higher carbs that you fed have worn off (I would think they have) your BG is "probabaly" a "true" reading this morining.

You probably are okay shooting the f1 unit, BUT, since last night was so different than the other cycles you have seen on that dose-- I probably would reduce a little. Just in case!!!!

Good Luck!

You did Good Last Night! The first time you see numbers drop like that, it can really be scary--- you did great!
 
Fed
Shot a 1u(skinny)

We shall see where he goes today.

THanks! Have a great day everyone!

lori
 
Good morning Lori -

Sorry to bail on you last night, but I knew you were in good hands when I saw who came on. So glad he's doing better this morning, hope you got a little bit of rest last night, and wishing Copper and you a completely UNeventful day today!

Grayson is kicking my pencil around waiting trying to get my attention for his b'fast & shot... my new normal! :-D

I have to say that, when my friends were all upset after his diagnosis, my response was... "It's something we can identify AND can treat - that's a GOOD thing!" I had no idea that the BONUS of FD was the kind of support I would find from this board and Kim. We are all REALLY fortunate to have these wonderful, knowledgeable, experienced peeps at our fingertips!

Lu
 
Grayson & Lu said:
I have to say that, when my friends were all upset after his diagnosis, my response was... "It's something we can identify AND can treat - that's a GOOD thing!" I had no idea that the BONUS of FD was the kind of support I would find from this board and Kim. We are all REALLY fortunate to have these wonderful, knowledgeable, experienced peeps at our fingertips!

Lu

AMEN!
 
The flat numbers could be due to your lower numbers last night. It is not uncommon to have a flat or higher cycle after lower than normal numbers!
 
+7@273. So definelty flat all day.

Should i stay at the 1u or go back to the 1u(fat) for tonight?

lori
 
The 1u was what i was on today's cycle. So i should just stay on the 1u even though his cycle's are flat? I definetly don't want to go in low numbers tonight again, but don't want him sitting flat either. Strange one cycle he drops low and the next flat. WIsh i could figure it all out.

I will get his pmps around 7pmEST and will post. Feeling it's either going to be leveled in the 200's or higher. We shall see.

THANKS!!!

Lori
 
Just an fyi,
when I first starting this with Shakes
he was ALWAYS...one good cycle, one flat cycle....for MANY months!
I am thiniking maybe because their bodies are trying to get used to the insulin and the dropping
and then going back up...just thinking out loud
Its a full moon...I would stick with the one unit tonight...there is always tomorrow :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top