copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67 +5@137, +6@156

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Good morning all! Amps is @242. Going down. SO glad i didn't go up and held dose.

I was thinking of just staying with the 1u(fat). I think he will be safe on this. I can watch most of the day. I may be in and out some after +7. IF anyone is still online, what do you think? Stay with 1u(fat) or go to 1u?

Thanks!

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8

I assume you are referring to sticking with the dose for your pm cycle...correct? You have already shot the fat 1 units this morning?
 
Re: copper-2/8

I went ahead and shot the 1u(fat). I think he will be safe on this dose.

Yes, tonight should i go ahead and shoot the same 1u(fat) if pmps is lower? I will try to catch his nadir today.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8

Try to catch his nadir today, that will help with the decision on what to shoot tonight. I am heading out the door, but I will look at his SS today and post again after reviewing it!

Have a good Day!
 
Re: copper-2/8

This dose looks good for now as long as your nadir supports it. Fingers crossed for a good numbers day :-D
 
Re: copper-2/8--NEED ADVICE

pmps @270(relion) and @266(AT)

DId a comparison tonight with meters. The AT has been coming in lower then the relion for several times now. So i've got to make sure that i don't go below say 80 on the relion. Sometimes the AT is 30pts lower.

Today's nadir was low 200's. Looks like he had a very flat day in the 200's if you take in meter variance.

Need advice on whether to go up to 1.2u or hold 1(fat).

What do you all think? THANKS!

Lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-NEED ADVICE

With the 20% variance, he has stayed the same (or gone down) in the last three hours. I would go with the lower dose.
 
Re: copper-2/8-NEED ADVICE

Thanks Sue. I went with the 1u(fat) tonight. His nadir is still in the low 200's. His amps was low @241, which surprised me. So i wonder how much he did go down last night or maybe just stayed level. So do you think his numbers look ok? He just seems so flat to me with no blue's or greens. Should i just be patient and wait a couple more cycle's? Or should i be pushing to get him in the green's?

I have been only giving the no carb turkey kitten the last 2days and that really makes a difference and come down to only 11ounces of food/per day vs the 12 or 13oz. It does make a big difference when i give higher carb(say anything above 5%-9%). I have only been giving every 4hrs too, if i'm home. Otherwise give whenever i can. I gave the higher carb food this afternoon and 2hrs later he had gone up a lot. 4hrs later he had dropped again to pre-food BG reading.

Thanks!

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82

+4 and getting ready to go to bed. Tested and he was @82. He was acting very hungry an hour ago, but i wanted to wait until +4. Didn't think he would be LOW. OH it's going to be a LONG NIGHT. His nadir is usually +7 +8.

Is anybody UP tonight?

Fed tsp of low carb food. Will retest in 20 min.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82

Retested (+4:45)@67

Fed high carb(tsp)

Anyone awake! CRA....!

Retest in 15min? I guess i will.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82

THanks! It helps just to have someone around. Everyone in my house is sound to sleep.

Lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Grayson's numbers have ranged from HI and 469... then dropping as low as 77 today. First time it hit 100 I was really freaked out. Then his Nadir sometimes is at +10 or so... so he's missing doses and running as much as +23 between shots. With PZI, that's not supposed to happen. I've been giving him approx .75u - but still working with U40 needles, so it's an estimation... next round buying the U100s.

Given that, and only a month of experience, I'm not much help. But I am up for a little while - maybe someone with experience will check in soon.

Lu-Ann
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Hey Lori....just happened to get up to do Kitty...and signed in...

Where are you at now? Last test? And hours into cycle?
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Thanks Lu-Ann. Sorry to hear of your troubles. It is very frustrating. You just never know when there pancreas is going to kick in. I hate that.

Looks like everyone is in ZZZland. WIsh i was. It's going to be a long night. I've been through this before, not this early in the cycle, and handled it all wrong. This time i'm trying to deal with it calmer, but still very nervous. He seems fine, just hungry.

Going to retest now. The high carb should of kicked in by now.

Thanks for being here to just chat. It helps.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Hi Lori,

I'm here. I've gone through too many dives to count...but have only been on the receiving end of the help. I'll do whatever I can though.

Deb
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Do you have a test Lori? I will not leave you.....breathe!
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

HI KIM,

+5 now and retesting. Been 20min from last tsp of high carb. Last test wass @67(+4:45)

Will be right back

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Hi, Lori. Just wanted you to know I am watching too.

Carl
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Sorry had trouble getting test. He is so hungry.
+5:15 @137(relion)
My AT has been running lower than the relion

Should i feed more high carb?
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Thanks guys! I was feeling so lonely out here. I'm breathing though...

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Are all of these numbers from the Relion?
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

What meter did you get the 67 on?

Edit to add: Sorry Carl...I always forget to scroll down before I post.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

No, I wouldn't feed any additional high carb. I would just retest in an hour and be sure he is holding up the numbers.

Are all the numbers relion?
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Yes all from Relion. Tried to get the AT but couldn't get him to sit still long enough.

Should i go ahead and feed him more high carb or wait? When to retest?

Lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Not sure if you saw the response....I would not feed any additional high carb....just retest in 45 mins to an hour and be sure the numbers are holding up.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

He seems so hungry...Usually he calms down after i feed him. He is not calming down. Just wanting more.....

I used the AT with relion earlier today and it was within 10pts of relion, but still lower. Most of the time the AT has been about 20-30pts lower. But it varies. I really haven't used it that much these days, just the relion.

Lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Yes, saw the post. I will hold off, but so abnormally hungry. Will retest in say 30min if he is still acting this way.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

He is hungry because of the low numbers, but the high carb food should be enough to keep him safe....he came up quiet a bit....probably, mostly due to the food, but he also could have had an early nadir and is also coming up some on his own also.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Lori,

I use a Relion Confirm. I have 3 different brands of meters here...but I stick with the one. You'll only confuse yourself, and make your head explode, if you start comparing different meters during low numbers. Low numbers are stressful enough...as you know! :-D

Edit to add the smiley above...in case I sound pissy...I never know when I'm sounding pissy. :lol:
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Deb,

No, you don't sound pissy. Thanks. I know that i am only to stick with one meter, but just thought i would compare with AT every now and then and make sure the meter is not going crazy on me. It does drive me crazier...

Lori

Going to retest... He is acting strange...


lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

He was acting a little wobbly, but his neuro is not good so maybe just that. He seems calmer now, not as hungry. So i will wait until +6 which will be in about 15min. That will be 45min since last test.

So any ideas why you think this happened so early in the cycle? He usually doesn't reach his nadir until +7 or +8. I gave same dose as the last couple of days. I guess, depending on his amps, i should go down to 1u or .8u. Hate to loose any momentum.

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Lori, I'm waaaay too new to PZ. That sounds like a Carl question if he's still around.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Yes, that question is for carl or kim.

Going to retest now. It's been 15min. He is sleeping now. Must be better BG

lori
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

I do know, with Marilyn, once she stopped bouncing, on any dose change with Lantus, she would eventually drop like a ton of bricks, and take a dive. This would take about 5 to 10 days. But Lantus and ProZinc...apples to oranges. Not to mention the ECID factor.

Let me know the next number. You should be okay.

Deb
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Would you mind updating your subject line with you numbers when you get a minute, makes it much easier to see what's going on. You're doing a great job there and I'm sure Carl will be back soon to answer your question. I'm a lantus user and I know they don't work the same but lantus cats sometimes throw odd numbers at odd times in the cycle too - it is a cats job to be unpredictable!
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Lori, I don't see anything in your SS that would show any indication of this type of drop tonight. In fact, I see no green numbers since Jan. 10. It is just one of those things, and probably, if you were not testing-- you would have never known tonight. You could have had other cycle's like this, but just didn't capture the test.

I know the numbers were scary to you, but truly a 67 is a GREAT nadir. Now, who knows how low it would have gone without the high carb food? But, it might not have dropped any further...in fact, I probably wouldn't have fed high carb on a 67 at +4.75. But, I don't blame you for feeding it.....Without the high carb, Copper might have just surfed the greens instead of going up.

Let's see where the next test is.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

owlgal said:
He was acting a little wobbly, but his neuro is not good so maybe just that. He seems calmer now, not as hungry. So i will wait until +6 which will be in about 15min. That will be 45min since last test.

So any ideas why you think this happened so early in the cycle? He usually doesn't reach his nadir until +7 or +8. I gave same dose as the last couple of days. I guess, depending on his amps, i should go down to 1u or .8u. Hate to loose any momentum.

lori

Lori, it just looks like for some reason after a couple of cycles, Copper decided he liked this dose, maybe a bit too much? It's also 3 days since you switched vials, so maybe this batch is a little fresher? And if you look at his +9, he was a little lower, or pretty flat at PMPS.
I'd probably go with the .8 in the morning, in case he's a little sensitive to the insulin after the low tonight.
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Okay.....I need some sleep and it looks like Copper is okay!

Goodnight to all!
 
Re: copper-2/8-URGENT- +4 @82, 67

Retest +6 (1hr past last reading)- @156.

Carl or Kim,

So he is holding his BG. He was sleeping until i retested him. SHould i feed a little bit more (tsp) of low carb and go to bed? Or should i stay up and recheck? I might set alarm for 2hrs from now when he was due for his regular feeding.

THanks!

Lori

Never a dull moment in PZI land
 
Thanks all for staying up with me. I'm ok now. Better just knowing you all are here. MY house everyone is snoring, even the dog. I know Copper didn't hypo, but those low number so early in the cycle are scary because he usually doesn't peak until +7 or +8. I'm still not sure he will not drop some more. He only got 1tsp of low carb and 1tsp of high carb. So, i will probably test in 30min (+7) and then go to bed for 2hrs and then get up and feed him his regular meal. He is patienly waiting by his bowl for more food now.

THANKS again everyone!!!!!!

Lori
 
Lori,
You were right to be concerned when you saw that number that early in the cycle, because that isn't something that Copper normally does. But it looks like the crisis was averted, and his numbers look good right now. If you get that number, great. I would make him wait the two hours for his normal meal. He shouldn't drop between now and then. Get some shut-eye!

Carl
 
Thanks Carl for the encouragement. Hate to panic, but like you said it's just not normal for copper to drop so early. His amps's have been getting lower although his days are flat in the 200's. I'm beginning to wonder that my meter is showing too high. I vowed not to let him get below 80 on this meter(relion) and then he comes in @82/67.

It is +7, but he is sleeping so soundly, that i have decided to call it a night and get up in two hours and feed regular schedule.

Thanks for being around. Thought i was going to have to solo it tonight. At least i didn't panic too much tonight and pour karo syrup all over his food.

Good night!

lori
 
It would be great if he could just surf the blues for the rest of the night
and give you a nice amps!
but I am sure that wont happen!
hope your day is better than your night! :mrgreen:
 
Seems like I missed all of the excitment last night. Copper decided to make things interesting for you! Hope he doesn't bounce this morning and that he surfed last night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top