Cooper @ +12 is 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
So surprised to find his +12 BG @90. Retested 5min later to make sure it was right and got 86. I feed regular low carb food. What now?

lori
 
Don't Shoot!
wait about half an hour and test again but he probably wont be high enough to shoot
lets wait and see
 
Thanks! I posted in PZI also. Retested 1/2hr later and @ 125. That is with food. Will wait 1hr and retest again?

lori
 
No shot, good you fed his regular low carb food first. You are going to need to test him about every 30 minutes to make sure he is going up. I havn't looked at your ss yet so I'm not sure where he was today. Brb.
 
Lori
We need to stick with one thread. Robin is here too, so let's stay in PZI, OK?
Carl
 
Lori,
When you have a minute, go back to Health and just remove the 911 so people won't wonder where you went.

Me and Robin will stick with you here in PZI
Carl
 
I was gone this afternoon from +7 on. Really thought that after +8hrs he would not drop. Very surprised. But a good surprise. I will not give him insulin until he starts to climb again over 150, i guess.

Thanks
lori
 
Go back to the first thing you posted, hit "edit", and change the topic icon from 911 to "none". That'll remove the icon.
 
My husband feed him normally @ 5pm(+9) 1.5oz. When i got home @ 7:30 he was begging for food. So i gave a treat(freezedried chicken=Pure bits) and tested. He was @90. I waited 5min and retested he was @86. Then gave 1.5oz of low carb food. Retested in 1/2hr and he was @ 125. He is still begging for food.

So there is no chance he will drop lower now without insulin? Do i just skip shot tonight or wait until confirmed above 150 and rising?

lori
 
OK Lori, let me try to explain what I think went on today with Copper.

One of two things -
1) For whatever reason, today he got a longer duration than normal on that dose. Or

2) At sometime during his cycle, his liver decided not to panic, and maybe his pancreas decided it was time to help with the insulin production.

Would he have eaten since breakfast, and if so, when and how much?
 
Oh yes, i fed him every 3hrs 1oz of food up until time i left (+7). I fed him 1.5oz @(+7). When hubby came home 2hrs later he fed him another 1.5oz. Then i fed again after testing twice the 1.5oz. All low carb food.

So does this mean he is finally getting better? As long as i don't give insulin he won't go into hypo?

lori
 
owlgal01 said:
My husband feed him normally @ 5pm(+9) 1.5oz. When i got home @ 7:30 he was begging for food. So i gave a treat(freezedried chicken=Pure bits) and tested. He was @90. I waited 5min and retested he was @86. Then gave 1.5oz of low carb food. Retested in 1/2hr and he was @ 125. He is still begging for food.

So there is no chance he will drop lower now without insulin? Do i just skip shot tonight or wait until confirmed above 150 and rising?

lori

If you want to give a reduced shot, then you shouldn't give him more food until then. Otherwise, it'll keep screwing up the numbers you get.

You can test him an hour from now and see what you get. I'll be on. You may see a rise from food and then a drop from his pancreas. If so, then probably no shot till morning..

I was actually thinking wait until you see a non-food boosted 200 before giving a reduced shot, and then probably just 1u.

Then in the morning, going back to 2.5 for the AM cycle. Then rethink the dose before PMPS tomorrow.

Carl
Carl
 
Correct, no matter what his number is right now, if you don't give him a shot this cycle, he's not going hypo on you. His own body won't produce enough insulin on its own to do that.
 
ok, i will test him in 1hr @10pm and try not to feed him anymore, although he is still begging for food.

THANKS!!!!!!

lori
 
owlgal01 said:
So if the amps number is above 150, just give 1.5u and not the 2.8u again?

That should be 2.5, not 1.5.
You only tried that dose for one day. I think you should go back to it for a day or two, and if you don't see good numbers, then kick it up to 2.75 and see what that does.

Carl
 
No, i am using the U-100 syringes. So hard to give 2.75 so gave a skinny 2.8 today. It would be 7.0 draw line on the u-100 syringes. Today i gave just under the 7.0 line, but not touching the 6.5 draw line which would be 2.6conversion on the U-40.

Hope i'm doing this right. I've been following the u-40insulin and u-100syringes conversion chart.

lori
 
I stayed on the 2.6 for several cycles and didn't get anywhere. That is why went up to 2.8.

lori
 
owlgal01 said:
No, i am using the U-100 syringes. So hard to give 2.75 so gave a skinny 2.8 today. It would be 7.0 draw line on the u-100 syringes. Today i gave just under the 7.0 line, but not touching the 6.5 draw line which would be 2.6conversion on the U-40.

Hope i'm doing this right. I've been following the u-40insulin and u-100syringes conversion chart.

lori

That's right. Just under the 7.0 line would be 2.75 (comes out to 6.875)
 
owlgal01 said:
I stayed on the 2.6 for several cycles and didn't get anywhere. That is why went up to 2.8.

lori

The first cycle on 2.6 was perfect. The PM cycle that night didn't show a drop, but it gave you the same AMPS as the day before, so he wasn't doing any worse. But then you bumped it up to 2.8 that morning, and had a very flat cycle in pink numbers. That night, you dropped back down to 2.6 again, got a decent drop to +4, and a great AMPS. Shot 2.6 again, got a better PMPS than you had the night before, but bumped up his dose to 2.8 that night.
I know you are paying attention to the nadirs, and you've got a lot of nadir time tests done. I'm also looking at the PS numbers from day to day.
All three numbers (AMPS, nadir, and PMPS) are important. For Copper to get better, all 3 of them need to go down. But if your AMPS and PMPS numbers are getting lower, even if the nadir isn't a lot lower, that's an improvement too.

You can go with 2.5 or 2.6, it doesn't really matter. My thinking was keeping with .25 increments because that is what you have been doing all along. A small increase or decrease of .1 isn't going to do much for him. I wouldn't be surprised if you don't see any difference (beyond meter variance) between two doses .1 apart from each other.

I think the 2.8 might have been too much too soon, and just didn't feel that you had "proof" that the 2.5 wasn't working based on only 2 cycles of trying it.

Whichever dose you pick, stay with it for at least 4 cycles, in my opinion. Unless you see something that warrants an immediate adjustment. If the cycles aren't a real improvement, then go up. If you see repeated long duration like today, or scary low greens (like 50 or so), then maybe reduce. If you see cycles you like, where the preshots keep coming down, then stick with the dose.

I just don't think that one day on a dose is going to be conclusive.
Carl
 
Just tested him +14 and @ 226. Of course he ate a huge amount of food about 2hrs ago. Do you think the food spike is still there? Should i wait for 1more hour and test again and shoot or just wait for amps. I really don't want to be up all night watching him, but don't want him his numbers to go up either. He is begging for food right now.

Your reasoning makes sense. I will stick with the 2.6u again. I think your right about the 2.5 or 2.6u I can give a skinny 2.6u on the U-100 syringes.

lori
 
You would probably have to wait another hour to get rid of the food boost, then might have to worry about it and not get sleep. At this point, I think I would skip and wait till the AMPS. Expect a pink number, and shoot 2.6 if you see it. I'd give that dose two cycles unless you see something really out of the ordinary at PMPS tomorrow night. Then if no good results, go with 2.8 Sunday morning.

Carl
 
I do have a question about today. If this is where i want him to be, why not stay on the same dose of 2.8u? Is going to 2.6u stepping backwards on the momentum of feeling better?

lori
 
What I am worried about is that you could see the same thing again on the 2.8 dose.....having a low number you can't shoot at the next shot time, and having to repeat "tonight" again. He did react well to that dose, almost too well, you know? Perhaps the same thing would not occur tomorrow, I am not sure. Momentum is very important, and not something you want to lose. But finding a dose that lets you shoot every 12 hours without wondering if it is okay is important too. That is why I say try the 2.6 for 2 cycles, then maybe go up depending on what he does tomorrow.

Carl
 
Understand your reasoning. I think i will test him now(+15) and 3hrs past food and see where he is at and might give a small dose of insulin tonight so that he does not go without insulin tonight. Or i can get up very early and give full dose then. I will test now and make a decision.

lori
 
Tested him again(+15) and @ 254. I know i should probably give him something tonight but not sure how to dose him in morning with reduced dose, etc because i still want to start him earlier. Maybe 1u tonight and in eight hours from now give a reduced dose for the amps?

lori
 
Or maybe i can just wait and wake up early and dose his amps in six hours from now.
Does that make sense?

lori
 
I am giving him 1u and going to bed. Will test him in 8hrs and see where he is at and decide what dosing to give. Probably will stay on the 2,8u unless a very low amps.

Goodnight.

Lori
 
I was thinking, as i always do this late at night, that i want to stay on my schedule tomorrow because i have a play we are going to at night and will not be home after pmps shot for several hours. So, i will give him the 1.2u dose now. Test him in 10hrs and shoot. My pmps will have to be earlier too. That is of course if he doesn't pull another trick like today's pmps. I have done several days where i have shot him in 10hrs because of my schedule. I don't think it will hurt him.They say that the PZI is out of system in 8hrs. Maybe i can shoot as early as that and use a sliding scale tomorrow? So much to think about.
 
Lori,
Sorry, I missed the whole conversation....

I see that you debated various ways to deal with this, and arrived at a conclusion, which is great!
So he got 1.2u at 12:30 or so. That should be fine, and is really better than a total skipped dose. It'll stop him hopefully from being sky high in the AM.
That is going to put his AMPS around 10-11 in the AM, right? I will try to check during that time to see what you get when you test him. If he's in the 300s, the 2.8 would be good. If he's lower, then maybe less insulin? Won't know for sure till then.

You said his PMPS will need to be earlier too? What time would that be?

I'll check back in the AM.

Good job tonight!
Carl
 
I am going to test him now and see what to do. It will be about +11hrs from 1.2u shot last night. Will post back on new thread.

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top