Cool Kitty back in the pink this morning!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Kitty amps 381. I am on my way to the vet to pick her up.

Thanks for all the well wishes!

I know this is still high, but much better than 540.
 
Kim, good luck and you are on your way to getting your Kitty back to being healthy. Also, insulin dose is not based on weight .... Payne is small but she can take a LOT of insulin at times! watch the ketones, or lack of, yah! You have time to learn all you need to know, take a deep breath!
Nancy and Payne (asleep somewhere but listening for the frig. door to open :)
 
Much better preshot today!!! That mini curve the other day shows some decent movement there. I'd be inclined to take your dose up to 3.75u. What is your gut telling you to do?

Did your vet run any tests while she was there?

I found in another thread the other day a "title" to kinda what I was describing to you about DKA changing things.... and don't let this "title" scare you at all because it is reversible..... "glucose toxicity." It happens when the body experiences hyperglycemia for so long that it results in a type of temporary insulin resistance because the hormone receptors responsible for regulating the pancreas, liver, and natural insulin output are out of whack and think that the hyperglycemia is the new normal. There are many human articles out there, but there is also a one geared toward pets too.

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Glucose_toxicity

http://care.diabetesjournals.org/conten ... 0.abstract
 
My gut tells me the dose is too low.

The vet ran some bloodwork test and found nothing, but the one test she cannot do in house is T4. I mention this because in November I had the test performed due to her symptoms. The reading came back at 2.3--in the same test her bg was 150.

The T4 test has not been repeated. I requested it to be done today--the vet wants to wait 2 weeks. She was receptive to the suggestion, but said she had never had a hyperthyroid diabetic cat.

What do you think?
 
I'd ask about HT and diabetes on health, Kim. I think there are a number of members with HT cats and diabetes.

I think it would be fine to increase the dose by .25. Just be sure you are testing fairly often so you can see right away if it helps.
 
There are a few on this board, so it isn't out of the question. I don't have any first hand knowledge of it, but I am not sure that hyperthyroid would impede insulin function though.
 
If I understand correctly, hyperthyroidism increases the metabolic rate and increases the amount of insulin needed to control bg. I am using my phone and don't know how to upload links from it, but I have seen several
sites that discuss it. Maybe I am grasping for straws--I think I will post on health and ask.
 
Based off of how she was responding pre-DKA, I don't think hyperT would cause the current dose. I really think it was the DKA and ultra high BGs from that that has caused more of a "temporary insulin resistance". It wouldn't hurt to rule out hyper T though. Make sure they run a regular T4 and a free T4 check. The regular T4 that is a part of the CBC can be thrown off by a concurrent disease, such as diabetes, and show a lower than actual number. The free T4 equilibrium isn't effected by the diabetes. I had this test run on Oscar last month because of some behavior changes and such.
 
I agree that the DKA is probably the culprit.

I would like to rule out hyper T also.

I just checked her pmps and it was high again- 540. She was starved when coming home from the vet --so I fed her 1/2 can of FF at+9-- but it shouldn't raise it that much. I gave a fat 3.5--my syringes do not have .5 marks so I have to eyeball it.

I just got a negative ketone test. We take pleasure in anything positive.

I think I need to go up in the morning.
 
You can take a LOT of pleasure in a negative ketone test! Just think if you had to be concerned about that, too! Paws crossed for better numbers tomorrow.
 
Always good to remember the positives Kim so... Yay for no ketones! Sending good vibes for better numbers tomorrow. I've wondered if DKA could cause temporary insulin resistance cause it can be so hard on the body, so it was interesting to read Kelly's post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top