Cool Kitty and Sally (Dog) 1/24

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Very Active Member
Good Morning!

Kitty's amps was 237--shot 3.2 units (tid dosing). I really need to get some bloodwork performed on Kitty--she is drinking too much water and her BGs do not support the increased intake. I am supsecting some kidney issues, but other than the excessive water consumption, she is showing no additional signs of renal issues. Hopefully, this week I can get her in for some testing. But, she looks great and seems happy! At 16.3 years old---she can't be perfect! Since Sally's illness, I haven't been able to pay as much attention to Kitty, so I brought her to work with me this morning, so I can observe her. She is happily sleeping under my desk at the moment!!!

Now, to Sally (dog)--- most of her blood work had improved yesterday--especially the liver values. The pancreas is still severly inflamed, but she seems so much better. I mentioned in an earlier post, that when Sally came home, the vet instructed me to give 7 units of insulin bid. I started testing Sally immediately upon coming home and reduced her insulin to 3 units. I even skipped a dose, due to a 130 bg---- I based all of this on my "training" from this board. Well.....it appears the reduction was the correct decision. The vet curved Sally on the 3 units yesterday and told me to stick with the 3 unit dose and to continue to home test for any changes. This morning her bg was 201. Her bg has not exceeded 201 since the reduction. I would hate to think what would have happened to Sally, if I had not tested and reduced the insulin dose--- once again I am happily indebted to this board for providing such valuable information!

Sally is eating better and unless she has a setback, I feel like she will recover fully from the Ptitis---she is still taking lots of meds and has a ways to go. I have my fingers crossed that the diabetes in transient and that once the pancreas heals, the need for insulin will not exist........we will see! She goes back next Monday for additional bloodwork and tests.

One note of interest-----my local vet charges $20 for each test on a BG curve--so, it normally cost about $120 for a full BG curve. I no longer have curves performed by the vet, but that is the cost. Yesterday, at the University Vet Hospital (state of the art and high tech)---the complete 12 hour curve they performed cost a total $25. Don't get me wrong, they have charged plenty for the treatment of Sally, but I found it interesting the difference in the price for a curve. Just thougth I would share it!

Wishing everyone a Great Day........
 
good morning Kim, kitty, sally :-D


so glad both your babies are doing good, its nice that cool kitty can go to work with moma cat_pet_icon \M/ have a great day !
 
Great news, for both fur babies! :smile:

Don't say that too loud, about taking kitty to work with you. Next thing I'll know, Poopy will have his stuff packed and waiting by the door - expecting to go to work with me! :lol:
 
SSShhhhhhh.....yes, don't say it too loud!!! I am sure it is in the fine print somewhere, in our company manual, that no animals or pets are allowed to come to work!!! But, it is Better to ask for forgiveness than permission sometimes!
 
How wonderful you can take Kitty with you and she is content. My guys would be off the wall. They hate change or travel.
Glad Sally is improving too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top