Continue from new members thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacobthecat

Member Since 2022
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @FrostD


Here is the new thread I'm trying to link the first one but it won't paste for some reason


Working on getting jacobs 4 hour in reading but having issues getting him from under the bed. I'm wondering if I should make it so he can't go under there but I don't want to take away his safe space.


Edit:I'm going to skip getting his 4 hour reading because I can't get to him without possibly stressing him out a lot. I gave him one unit and he was reading the same numbers as this morning so I don't think he can get in a danger zone.
 
Last edited:
I did block the under bed areas, but he has a little cat house thing instead. So still has a safe space, but I can easily get him out. Perhaps a cat bed under an end table with a blanket draped.over top?
 
I did block the under bed areas, but he has a little cat house thing instead. So still has a safe space, but I can easily get him out. Perhaps a cat bed under an end table with a blanket draped.over top?


He likes the closet so I've been wanting to fix that up for him I've just been in a bad mental place and I'm slowly getting caught up with everything.

I did edit my other post that I am skipping his 4 hour check since he was reading the same numbers as this morning and I gave him 1 unit. I'll end up stressing him out more and he isn't coming for the treats. He has eaten a few times since his shot so im not worried about him I just wish I could get the numbers for the data....
 
Just keep doing the best you can. Probably creating another safe spot for him where you can get you him would probably ease your stress.
 
Just keep doing the best you can. Probably creating another safe spot for him where you can get you him would probably ease your stress.
I'm going to work on that today. Just took his BG and it's 407 this morning which is the highest I've had maybe cause he ate more food last night?I'm hoping he eats before his shot but I think he's mad at me for stabbing him. It was horrible timing cause he came to sleep with me on the bed an hour before I had to check him lol
 
I'm going to work on that today. Just took his BG and it's 407 this morning which is the highest I've had maybe cause he ate more food last night?I'm hoping he eats before his shot but I think he's mad at me for stabbing him. It was horrible timing cause he came to sleep with me on the bed an hour before I had to check him lol
Well done getting the test.
Dont forget to update your SS so we can see when you have time.
 
@FrostD @Bron and Sheba (GA)

So his levels his morning were 407 and I took them 4 hours after his shot and he's 367 which is still pretty high? Maybe I should give him a little more then 1 unit? When they are high like that is there anything I can do other then give him more insulin? I didn't give him a treat after since he was already high. I'm just not sure what to do about higher levels.

I also got a lancing device which he doesn't mind and doesn't act like it hurts him like when I do it myself but the lancing device doesn't get enough blood? I figured out I get errors when there's not enough blood.
 
Ok best I can advise is go up to 1.25U. You can try 1.5 U if you can keep a close eye, and I'd test at +3 just in case he starts to drop hard

Maybe need to set lancet at the next deeper setting? Sometimes you have to do multiple poles until more capillaries form
 
Ok best I can advise is go up to 1.25U. You can try 1.5 U if you can keep a close eye, and I'd test at +3 just in case he starts to drop hard

Maybe need to set lancet at the next deeper setting? Sometimes you have to do multiple poles until more capillaries form

I'll give him 1 unit tonight depending on his levels and then try higher if he is still high in the morning. We only really have our room as space(he also feels safe in here) and my fiancee has to sleep for work so it gets harder to do tests later at night since the light will keep them awake so right now I feel safer changing anything in the morning cause I can monitor him better.

I think I have it on the deepest setting but I'll have to check. I'm using 28 gage because I couldn't find anything lower then that in the store.

What is considered a high BG and what happens if it goes to high? If he ever got too high is it safe to give insulin earlier? I know this may never happen but I rather know now then panic if it does.
 
High is relative really, meters do even read HI once you're outside the range. There's no number at which you should be concerned/panic. Cats "handle" hyperglycemia much better than humans do. Just over time, the prolonged high numbers will start to cause neuropathy, wear on the kidneys, etc. I personally feel better when I see pinks and lower, that's still above renal threshold but it usually means cat isn't in too bad of shape. I do not like the reds/blacks/HIs, but the hope is with methodical insulin increases those come down quickly
 
High is relative really, meters do even read HI once you're outside the range. There's no number at which you should be concerned/panic. Cats "handle" hyperglycemia much better than humans do. Just over time, the prolonged high numbers will start to cause neuropathy, wear on the kidneys, etc. I personally feel better when I see pinks and lower, that's still above renal threshold but it usually means cat isn't in too bad of shape. I do not like the reds/blacks/HIs, but the hope is with methodical insulin increases those come down quickly

This makes me feel so much better thank you :)

So I just have to watch if the numbers go too low and I'll be keeping track as much as I can. Once I start working I'll be off Wednesday to Friday so Tuesday to Thursday I'll be able to take extra readings. I'm hoping he takes this well because I've been working from home the last year and a half.
 
Please give him a treat every time you test even if he’s in high numbers. He doesn’t know and he needs to know he will always get a treat each test. It won’t hurt him:)
 
Please give him a treat every time you test even if he’s in high numbers. He doesn’t know and he needs to know he will always get a treat each test. It won’t hurt him:)

Ok will do! I did give him one tonight even though he was still a little high but he was very upset when I was testing.(it took a few tries and he was growling at me) I have issues getting his ear to bleed enough(one of the times I did get enough he tried to run out of my arms and smeared the blood)
 
@FrostD

Since you also use the relion do you have stuff In the memory that wasnt what you marked down on your sheet? I was looking back and some of the numbers are different then what the ss has

Also for you or @Bron and Sheba (GA) is there any explanation for high BG. Jacob was 382 this morning and then 433 tonight. I didnt check him at the +4 mark cause we had a rough time getting his eat to bleed this morning I wanted to give him a break. He also threw up a little(which is "normal" for him and its been a while that I know that he's done it) right before I took his levels and I don't know if that can raise them?


I want to say thank you again for helping and answering all these questions :)
 
@FrostD

Since you also use the relion do you have stuff In the memory that wasnt what you marked down on your sheet? I was looking back and some of the numbers are different then what the ss has

Also for you or @Bron and Sheba (GA) is there any explanation for high BG. Jacob was 382 this morning and then 433 tonight. I didnt check him at the +4 mark cause we had a rough time getting his eat to bleed this morning I wanted to give him a break. He also threw up a little(which is "normal" for him and its been a while that I know that he's done it) right before I took his levels and I don't know if that can raise them?


I want to say thank you again for helping and answering all these questions :)
Questions are never a bother! The more you understand, the safer he is (and the less questions I have to answer over time :p kidding of course)

Both those numbers are within meter variance. Another thing to keep in mind is that insulin is hormone, it is not going to work exactly the same way every time. Plus there are a million other confounding factors - liver, pancreas, stress, day vs night, carbs from treats, etc. At these numbers I only really raise an eyebrow and analyze if I see something maybe 75-100+ points different than usual at preshot. So the low 300s to low 400s is a little curious, but I'm chalking that up to carbs.

Don't forget to increase that dose ;)

Oh the ReliOn question...no? Sometimes i used it on myself, or if I got wonky numbers I'd retest. If you're getting a lot of errors, perhaps it is still storing some number? We have also had people transpose numbers, or read them upside down (like 396 instead of 369)
 
Questions are never a bother! The more you understand, the safer he is (and the less questions I have to answer over time :p kidding of course)

Both those numbers are within meter variance. Another thing to keep in mind is that insulin is hormone, it is not going to work exactly the same way every time. Plus there are a million other confounding factors - liver, pancreas, stress, day vs night, carbs from treats, etc. At these numbers I only really raise an eyebrow and analyze if I see something maybe 75-100+ points different than usual at preshot. So the low 300s to low 400s is a little curious, but I'm chalking that up to carbs.

Don't forget to increase that dose ;)

Oh the ReliOn question...no? Sometimes i used it on myself, or if I got wonky numbers I'd retest. If you're getting a lot of errors, perhaps it is still storing some number? We have also had people transpose numbers, or read them upside down (like 396 instead of 369)

I'll probably give him a little more tonight and then check him in 4 hours.(maybe like 1.5 i wont do 3 again after seeing how much it dropped him the one night) I seen this number was 433 then I went to double check and it was saying 407 was the last number but if I went back one the 433 was there.

He has a vet appointment tomorrow to have his levels checked and im going to ask her about changing his insulin. I'll have to go back and look at what was recommended.

Edit: looking back at his numbers with 1 unit it looks like he does sit in the mid to high 300s and low 400s
 
@FrostD @Bron and Sheba (GA)

Thank you guys so much for all the information you have given me :) jacob right now is doing 2 units and has been in the mid to high 200 but mainly jumping around 300. We're moving the 2nd and I found a cat only vet 5 minutes from our apartment and they are going to see him on the 10th and I told them he was on novlin n and she was like "we dont even have that here isn't that a human insulin?"

I just want to say I appreciate all the information and help with understanding everything. Still trying to find a treat he likes thats healthier but things have been going ok. (His file is out dated cause it was glitching and I made a new one that isn't shared)
 
Hi, I am new but I might be able to help with the meter readings issue.

I noticed on my relion prime meter that it sometimes give averages. It confused me at first. So, instead of the last reading, it gives a 14 day average number. It states on the screen that it is an average, but it threw me off at first. It is a bit random about when it will offer that info. It also sometimes gives a 30 day average. The numbers come up exactly the same as a usual reading, so now I check the text on the screen to confirm date and time to make sure it was an actual reading.

This may account for what is happening with your meter.

Best wishes for you and your kitty,
Laura
 
Hi, I am new but I might be able to help with the meter readings issue.

I noticed on my relion prime meter that it sometimes give averages. It confused me at first. So, instead of the last reading, it gives a 14 day average number. It states on the screen that it is an average, but it threw me off at first. It is a bit random about when it will offer that info. It also sometimes gives a 30 day average. The numbers come up exactly the same as a usual reading, so now I check the text on the screen to confirm date and time to make sure it was an actual reading.

This may account for what is happening with your meter.

Best wishes for you and your kitty,
Laura
Thank you so much thats good to know! I ended up setting the date and time so I'd stop getting confused if I forgot to put the number in lol



General update on jacob he is now being changed to Purina pro plan diabetic food and changed insulin to prozinc 1 unit with a u 40 syringe :) vet was nice and jacob was exploring the room which is a first for him. We also are kinda moved into our apartment and I think he enjoys having the space to himself!(early morning zoomies across the apartment) He goes back in 4 to 6 weeks for them to see how he is doing.
 
Glad you've gotten moved in and the new place is zoomie worthy. (Our sugar cat just had her first case of zoomies in a long, long time. It was thrilling to see, neuropathy aside.)

If you made a change in food, consider changing your signature with the new food name for the helpers here to see.

We, cats included, are lucky to have found ourselves here. The collective generosity of knowledge is awe inspiring and a huge relief.

All the best!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top