Continuation of Borg The Gorb #2

@CORKY any reccomendations for medium carb treats? Im going to go to the store i work at and get some supplies so I figured i could try out some treats as snacks. Hes not really a treat cat so im not sure how he will react if at all
 
Go to the drs food list on fancy feast and look up 12% carb food, The Medleys collection has some medium carbs anything that is gravy most are 16-24 % carbs get about 2-3 high carbs too that’s your hypo kit, honey or Karo syrup
 
Go to the drs food list on fancy feast and look up 12% carb food, The Medleys collection has some medium carbs anything that is gravy most are 16-24 % carbs get about 2-3 high carbs too that’s your hypo kit, honey or Karo syrup
I already have the high carb wet food thankfully, I got the fancy feast gravy lovers
 
Oh and I did pick up those medleys that you reccomended, as well as some extra classic pate. I have plenty of his old food left so transitioning him will be easy
 
Make the transition a slow one not upset George’s stomach and perhaps you you start the transition when you have a couple of days off, because the switch from higher carbs too that’s 0-10% can dive the BG Levels and you will need to test at least every 3 hours,even if you installed the sensor you should be present in case you need to feed often, I’m always here, but you are with George 😂😉
 
Make the transition a slow one not upset George’s stomach and perhaps you you start the transition when you have a couple of days off, because the switch from higher carbs too that’s 0-10% can dive the BG Levels and you will need to test at least every 3 hours,even if you installed the sensor you should be present in case you need to feed often, I’m always here, but you are with George 😂😉
Hes 273 after his snack
 
Is definitely the food he’s eating he seems to be carb sensitive
Ill be switching him to the fancy feast classic pate slowly like you mentioned. My mother in law doesnt seem to understand the situation and insists on graze feeding them despite me explaining that george cannot eat the dry food
 
Oh well!! On this case mother-in-law loses, make sure she doesn’t sneak George carbs, put you foot down, we love mother-in-laws but we love our cats more than, right?
 
Oh well!! On this case mother-in-law loses, make sure she doesn’t sneak George carbs, put you foot down, we love mother-in-laws but we love our cats more than, right?
I told her she has to feed her cat separately and that George must eat his own food, hopefully she listens
 
So sorry to hear that. Please let her know that she’s damaging his pancreas and the longer George stays in these high levels it could also damage his kidneys, we will try again tomorrow, hopefully with better numbers
 
Good morning, well I’m glad that George ended the night with a yellow BG, it gets better so don’t despair, is all about trial and errors, you got this!!I also tagged a couple of members to review the SS to see if George should get a dose increase, I do not give dosing advice, but I’m with you all the way here ok?
 
Last edited:
Good morning, well I’m glad that George ended the night with a yellow BG, it gets better so don’t despair, is all about trial and errors, you got this!!I also tagged a couple of members to review the SS to see if George should get a dose increase, I do not give dosing advice, but I’m with you all the way here ok?
Sounds good. Im still not sure why his bloodsugar spikes in the morning. I need to talk to my MIL asap and get this dealt with because her involvement is becoming a problem
 
I’m sorry to hear that, tge reason why I tagged for dose advice is that perhaps he needs an increase, mind you we always suggest increase and decrease in increment of 0.25 units at a time, but hoping that he’s not being fed carbs, it would be a shame to increase if he’s still being fed high carbs, because apparently the dose he has now does lower the BG when it kicks in, but if he’s fed carbs during the day by shot time it will be in the purple range, I suspect it because looking at the SS George has blue BGs , and it may be that he is very sensitive to carbs, Corky is, if I were to give him one piece of dry carbs he will have yellow BGs , George must be sneaking food from your mother-in-laws cat maybe? The one thing I do not do for members is give dosing advice, but I can explain how we increase and decrease, and it would be a shame to increase without you resolving the situation first, because you could have a hypo situation with the increase as low as 0.25u, you still have hours till PMPS shot, I’m sure one of the members will plug in and advice you what you can do regarding the dose, be patient, you stress George will stress, also understand that by morning the insulin is wearing out, so is normal. to be higher until next shot, but he might be sneaking some food somewhere, while you sleep, because the BG is quite high, find the hiding place! ;)
 
Last edited:
I’m sorry to hear that, tge reason why I tagged for dose advice is that perhaps he needs an increase, mind you we always suggest increase and decrease in increment of 0.25 units at a time, but hoping that he’s not being fed carbs, it would be a shame to increase if he’s still being fed high carbs, because apparently the dose he has now does lower the BG when it kicks in, but if he’s fed carbs during the day by shot time it will be in the purple range, I suspect it because looking at the SS George has blue BGs , and it may be that he is very sensitive to carbs, Corky is, if I were to give him one piece of dry carbs he will have yellow BGs , George must be sneaking food from your mother-in-laws cat maybe? The one thing I do not do for members is give dosing advice, but I can explain how we increase and decrease, and it would be a shame to increase without you resolving the situation first, because you could have a hypo situation with the increase as low as 0.25u, you still have hours till PMPS shot, I’m sure one of the members will plug in and advice you what you can do regarding the dose, be patient, you stress George will stress
Alrighty. Thank you for all the information!! Ill have to consult with my MIL and inform her to not feed the cats and that I will handle their food. Thank you so much for your help
 
I just caught a pattern if when you test and you are home, the BG starts to stabilize and the BG gets higher in the afternoons, is it time for Sherlock Holmes to investigate?
 
I just caught a pattern if when you test and you are home, the BG starts to stabilize and the BG gets higher in the afternoons, is it time for Sherlock Holmes to investigate?
I think it is. Im not home right now but ill be home in about an hour or so. Ill test him then and see how he is. If anything I'll have to have a firm discussion with MIL about not feeding snacks to George
 
Better, don’t like the purple levels, George needs to start healing his pancreas and get stabilized is not done over night, with your love and dedication he’s going to do great
 
Good morning, I did no think George’s BG get to 105, you did good, so basically you having control of the bowls is what has kept his BG High so you gave low car sack of 1/2 tsps of low carb food right, you’re getting the hang of , it gets easier good job
 
Remember you start with low carbs 1-2 respeto at a time wait 1/2 hour test and repeat until you are comfortable with his levels, 115 is just low not hypo, a non-diabetic cats glucose level is between 50-120, thiscIS what the medium, high carbs, Karo and syrup come to play, so to be on the safe side for now, 90 lower we begin the low carb feeding testing routine
 
Good morning, I did no think George’s BG get to 105, you did good, so basically you having control of the bowls is what has kept his BG High so you gave low car sack of 1/2 tsps of low carb food right, you’re getting the hang of , it gets easier good job
Remember you start with low carbs 1-2 respeto at a time wait 1/2 hour test and repeat until you are comfortable with his levels, 115 is just low not hypo, a non-diabetic cats glucose level is between 50-120, thiscIS what the medium, high carbs, Karo and syrup come to play, so to be on the safe side for now, 90 lower we begin the low carb feeding testing routine
Got it. I did give him about half a teaspoon of medium carb because he did drop a little bit, but hes been stable between high 100s and low 200s throughout today so far, so I think hes good for now. Can you explain to me the protocol for 90 lower? Im a bit confused at your statement, apologies.
 
You are using the Alphatrak correct? I know normal numbers on that are different than on the human meter. But for SLGS when kitty gets below 90, you would take a reduction of .25u. 115 is a fantastic nadir for Borg. :-)
 
Let's say George BG is 90-100, you will feed: 1-2 tsp of LOW CARB FOOD -TEST IN 1/2hour if the levels stay the same, repeat the process, by the third time testing and BG stays low or lower: FEED 1tsp of MEDIUM CARB FOOD- TEST IN 1/2 HOUR REPEAT IF NEEDED
if BG continues to DIVE Feed - 1 TSP HIGH CARB- TEST IN 1/2 HOUR REPEAT IF NEEDED
it normally takes about 1/2-1hour for the high carb to take effect so do not over feed Medim or High carbs, , is best to test more often than feed too often!
is a trial and error, but if you follow these steps, one at a time, the possibility will be that George's BG will stabilize, by the 2nd low carb feeding, 1 tsp at a time, this is also a to get to know how George react to carbs, one step at a time, posting on the SS every BG every 1/2 hour, this way you can see the pattern, it sounds a bit confusing, but take a step back breath in and breath out, 90 is not Hypoglycemia, so you have plenty of time to stabilize, a no-diabetic cats glucose levels are between 50-120 ;) You are doing great, before you know it will be like a walk in the park, and it gets easier
 
Let's say George BG is 90-100, you will feed: 1-2 tsp of LOW CARB FOOD -TEST IN 1/2hour if the levels stay the same, repeat the process, by the third time testing and BG stays low or lower: FEED 1tsp of MEDIUM CARB FOOD- TEST IN 1/2 HOUR REPEAT IF NEEDED
if BG continues to DIVE Feed - 1 TSP HIGH CARB- TEST IN 1/2 HOUR REPEAT IF NEEDED
it normally takes about 1/2-1hour for the high carb to take effect so do not over feed Medim or High carbs, , is best to test more often than feed too often!
is a trial and error, but if you follow these steps, one at a time, the possibility will be that George's BG will stabilize, by the 2nd low carb feeding, 1 tsp at a time, this is also a to get to know how George react to carbs, one step at a time, posting on the SS every BG every 1/2 hour, this way you can see the pattern, it sounds a bit confusing, but take a step back breath in and breath out, 90 is not Hypoglycemia, so you have plenty of time to stabilize, a no-diabetic cats glucose levels are between 50-120 ;) You are doing great, before you know it will be like a walk in the park, and it gets easier
Sounds like something id have to do on a day where im not doing anything important. Sounds like a plan though! Ill schedule it and see when I can do it, hopefully itll be something I can do tomorrow or friday
 
I’m really pleased that no 300’s are in George’s SS today, Good job, George is a champ!
Hes been very good for his testing, but i do have to burrito wrap him to keep him still. But he's otherwise relatively calm for it!

1000014241.jpg
 
By +2 & +4 if 100 or more you’ll follow the “recipe” ok? Looking forward to seeing low yellows and high blues , he’s tapering out now, I guess tge bowls are still hidden?😅
 
By +2 & +4 if 100 or more you’ll follow the “recipe” ok? Looking forward to seeing low yellows and high blues , he’s tapering out now, I guess tge bowls are still hidden?😅
Yep! Bowls are hidden where MIL cannot find them, hopefully lol. So if hes 100mg/dL or more tonight I should do that process of feeding a teaspoon and then testing every half hour?
 
Back
Top