Bob's Staff
Member Since 2024
I started this new thread, but I still posted a question in the previous thread. Thanks for taking a look at it ;-)
Great job, how are we doing on the spreadsheet?I started this new thread, but I still posted a question in the previous thread. Thanks for taking a look at it ;-)
Here is the link to the thread!For everyone's convenience, can you either link the previous thread or copy and paste the relevant question and summarized background here?
My question was: he was around 131 mg preshot so I skipped his dose yesterday. I was wondering if I should give the shot in between two dosing times if he would go too high then, or always wait until the next dosing moment when having skipped the previous one, no matter how high he goes until then?What was your question?
Bob seems to make a tiny tiny bit of progress with his values going so low every time. He ate his first wet food since last week, and this morning he was using his scratching post again. However, the Libre is totally dead after only 3 days, the notification to change it has appeared, so I'm on my own again. Which is not easy with his values going into all directions and the need to skip doses to prevent him from going too low. But I read some tips on how to get blood manually, warmed up his ear very well, put the lancet into the right angle, and looked for his sweet spot. And my first attempt was a good one, without Bob completely freaking out, so victory!How is Bob today?
No. If you decide to skip a shot, I would not recommend shooting mid cycle unless you are prepared to take days to gradually get him back on schedule again.My question was: he was around 131 mg preshot so I skipped his dose yesterday. I was wondering if I should give the shot in between two dosing times if he would go too high then, or always wait until the next dosing moment when having skipped the previous one, no matter how high he goes until then?
We have people who can create a spreadsheet for you in a few minutes.Bob seems to make a tiny tiny bit of progress with his values going so low every time. He ate his first wet food since last week, and this morning he was using his scratching post again. However, the Libre is totally dead after only 3 days, the notification to change it has appeared, so I'm on my own again. Which is not easy with his values going into all directions and the need to skip doses to prevent him from going too low. But I read some tips on how to get blood manually, warmed up his ear very well, put the lancet into the right angle, and looked for his sweet spot. And my first attempt was a good one, without Bob completely freaking out, so victory!
I'm still looking into the instructions on how to create a spreadsheet, while also trying to perform my job as a freelancer, doing my household and giving my daughter the attention she needs because today is her birthday while Bob is in the centre of the attention all the time. And within 10 minutes we have to leave for the vet to remove the Libre and check his blood again. I'll try to finish the spreadsheet as soon as I can ;-)
Fantastic! Congratulations on this. You CAN do it!But I read some tips on how to get blood manually, warmed up his ear very well, put the lancet into the right angle, and looked for his sweet spot. And my first attempt was a good one, without Bob completely freaking out, so victory!
My question was: he was around 131 mg preshot so I skipped his dose yesterday. I was wondering if I should give the shot in between two dosing times if he would go too high then, or always wait until the next dosing moment when having skipped the previous one, no matter how high he goes until then?
I agree on the spreadsheet, it is very difficult for Suzanne or any other member help you with dosing or any other major concerns without it, the BG numbers are not only good for us but for you and Bob, would you like another member to create the spreadsheet for you, see, you telling us the recent BG number is hard for Suzanne or any other member to decide a certain or correct answer, reviewing the spreadsheet's daily pattern is very important, we are not trying to burden you more than you already are, but we are very very numbers oriented.We have people who can create a spreadsheet for you in a few minutes.
Well, the other reason I did not have the courage to make a spreadsheet, is because I didn’t know it would still be useful… And in fact, our beloved Bobcat is no longer among usGood afternoon from this part of the World, How's Bob doing today?

Oh no. I am really really sad and sorry to read this update about your dear Bob! I completely understand and my heart goes out to you! It sounds like he loved you so much. It is right that he was in your arms. It will be very hard for you to be without him. I’m so sorry.Well, the other reason I did not have the courage to make a spreadsheet, is because I didn’t know it would still be useful… And in fact, our beloved Bobcat is no longer among us
Our vet visit yesterday did not turn out well, although his glucose level did not go up too high anymore the last few days (I gave him 0.5 units yesterday, when his preshot level was 209, and he remained within range with 110 at nadir), his kidney function had further declined, he was becoming too weak due to not eating, and we did not want to put him through another traumatising hospitalisation with little chances of survival. So we decided to let him go that same evening. He put on his angel wings being where he most loved being, right in my arms. Now I’m totally devastated and lost![]()
![]()

I have been thinking about you. I completely understand what you’re going through. Your emotions sound completely normal to me. I have lost two cats in 2025, a young one very unexpectedly and another young cat after a short battle with what we thought was autoimmune disease. It went bad very quickly and we tried everything to save that little man. I have gone round and round in my mind about what we could have done differently. Some days I feel very guilty for not being able to save them. In my case, I believe he was failed by the vets, but really I am responsible because I should have advocated for them more strenuously. But we (the family) all did the best we could with the resources we had. Kidney disease is truly horrible and eventually always fatal.Thanks for your support, it is indeed not easy for others outside this forum to support me because they do not understand how it feelsI am switching between anger, pain, frustration, gratitude, relief for Bob and guilt at an astounding pace. One minute I am relieved for him that he has finally found some rest, and one second later I feel so heartbroken it almost feels like I am dying myself. We miss him more and more every day. Tomorrow he will be cremated and at Christmas he will be back home with us
Do you happen to know if there are any Belgians on this forum who could use any of the medications I have left? We do have a whole pile left, besides the Prozinc ...![]()
Thanks for the link, but in the meantime all his meds and other supplements have left the building. Unbelievable how many cats are ill and need themI was in bed and without glasses when I saw you post, sorry for being brief I was hoping I wrote legibly, I am sure that Bob cannot be replaced, but perhaps when you heal some more, you might want to adopt again, here's the link for the supply closet as well, Stay well, we are very glad we were able to give you
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/supply-closet-for-sale-or-free.15/
I will always cherish that special night when I was in total desperation, being assisted to you to guide me through that horrible situation, which was a success in the end. I cannot thank you enough for thatYes, and so do I, you and I that last day we were posting almost all day, was a day that took me back when Corky was just diagnosed I felt so inadequate, the vet also failed me, one other vrt told me to euthanize him,, I felt your desperation within words, we tried, You tried, luckily I found this Forum and saved Corky’s Life. I feel your pain. Take good care of yourself, grief is a process![]()
I am glad, you were able to give away Bob 'supplies, This is a Worldwide Forum, and yes, so many cats that suffer from diabetes, I myself never in a million years thought that cats can get FD, and I had cats forever, Corky caught me my surprise, no one in my family suffered the illness, so I did not know the symptoms, I was told at the hospital the main reasons FD is caused, Genetically, overweight, and since an inside cat does not exercise as much, and the main thing I found out about here, was that they cannot digest carbs, so their pancreas damage. You are beginning to slowly heal by considering adopting again, I can't imagine having an empty house as well, is not a replacement, is healing, You take care Enjoy your holidays in your grief, We are here for if you were to need us again, now you know what to look for, hopefully that will not happen.Thanks for the link, but in the meantime all his meds and other supplements have left the building. Unbelievable how many cats are ill and need them
We will probably adopt again later on because I cannot stand the idea of an empty house, but this will need some time first. Bob should be succeeded, not replaced. So you are right that adoption will be for when I have healed a bit and can open my heart again for a new fur baby.

at that moment I was assisting you, I went back to one night at the beginning of this journey, that a member did the same for me from about 7:30PM to 4:40AM, until Corky finally stabilized, for me it was a joy to be there for you and give back what was so freely given to me, I must tell you though theI will always cherish that special night when I was in total desperation, being assisted to you to guide me through that horrible situation, which was a success in the end. I cannot thank you enough for that![]()
I'm so sorry to hear that. Two cats in one year is even worse, can one even feel more pain than the pain you already felt then? But I can tell from all your efforts that you did everything you could and they were both surrounded with tons of love and caring. How are you doing now?I have been thinking about you. I completely understand what you’re going through. Your emotions sound completely normal to me. I have lost two cats in 2025, a young one very unexpectedly and another young cat after a short battle with what we thought was autoimmune disease. It went bad very quickly and we tried everything to save that little man. I have gone round and round in my mind about what we could have done differently. Some days I feel very guilty for not being able to save them. In my case, I believe he was failed by the vets, but really I am responsible because I should have advocated for them more strenuously. But we (the family) all did the best we could with the resources we had. Kidney disease is truly horrible and eventually always fatal.
I would like to see some photos of Bob when he was healthy. I would like to hear more about him and what made him so special to you.
Me neither, I was assuming people get a cat, it dies 15 years later because it gets old, and that's it! But instead, I got entangled in a world of diseases I had never heard of and doctor Google became my best friend, since the vets hadn't seen his cocktail of diseases before and did very often not know what to do ...I am glad, you were able to give away Bob 'supplies, This is a Worldwide Forum, and yes, so many cats that suffer from diabetes, I myself never in a million years thought that cats can get FD, and I had cats forever, Corky caught me my surprise, no one in my family suffered the illness, so I did not know the symptoms, I was told at the hospital the main reasons FD is caused, Genetically, overweight, and since an inside cat does not exercise as much, and the main thing I found out about here, was that they cannot digest carbs, so their pancreas damage. You are beginning to slowly heal by considering adopting again, I can't imagine having an empty house as well, is not a replacement, is healing, You take care Enjoy your holidays in your grief, We are here for if you were to need us again, now you know what to look for, hopefully that will not happen.![]()
at that moment I was assisting you, I went back to one night at the beginning of this journey, that a member did the same for me from about 7:30PM to 4:40AM, until Corky finally stabilized, for me it was a joy to be there for you and give back what was so freely given to me, I must tell you though the
De Javeu was so real that I woke up in the morning with my neck in welts and a rash, I rushed to the Drs, it so happened that it was from stress, got some meds, and realized how much this FD takes a toll on us when we have no support, So thank you for giving me the trust that opportunity.![]()
Thank you I am grateful for your words, and please do stay along with us, let us know when you adopted, in case you may have concerns , questions you or can review notes, we are always happy to hear from our Members experiences. I was a pleasure! and yes the stress is gone, for now, cats have their own mind and ae unpredictable, Corky will be 13 mid year and there's is Coco 1/2 Main Coon she will be 6 in April. But thank God they are both very healthy and spoiled rotten.Me neither, I was assuming people get a cat, it dies 15 years later because it gets old, and that's it! But instead, I got entangled in a world of diseases I had never heard of and doctor Google became my best friend, since the vets hadn't seen his cocktail of diseases before and did very often not know what to do ...
One thing I learned, is that I will definitely adapt my cat's food habits in the future because of the carbs, as you mentionned too.
I will indeed stay on this forum also afterwards if that is OK? Hopefully I won't need it anymore for future cats, but in this short period of time it has been valuable to me and I will also not hesitate to refer people to this place for guidance. For now, I will continue seeking support in my grief process on the grief support page, which I will definitely need.
I do believe our night did throw you back to your own experience with this, I think that is a situation with Corky you will never forget. I'm sorry to hear Bob's horrible night made you suffer too that next morning. Hopefully you got better soon with the meds you received
I did trust you more than 100% that night, as I knew the people on this forum take these things very seriously and have enough knowledge to do this![]()