Contact with the Vet about Dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

LoufsMama

Member Since 2022
So yesterday I did Lucifer’s numbers steadily and while he did go down, not incredibly low but from a 400 level to 316, he ended up spiking at night because of the dosing being once a day.

I know that everyone in here had stated that it would do that because it’s supposed to be every 12 hours so I sadly expected that after hearing that. When I followed up on the vet about this and explained my paperwork stated ones a day. They tell me oh I’m sorry that was a mistake it was busy that day. It’s 2 units twice a day. I’m going to continue my search for a better veterinary situation today. So frustrating.
 
So yesterday I did Lucifer’s numbers steadily and while he did go down, not incredibly low but from a 400 level to 316, he ended up spiking at night because of the dosing being once a day.

I know that everyone in here had stated that it would do that because it’s supposed to be every 12 hours so I sadly expected that after hearing that. When I followed up on the vet about this and explained my paperwork stated ones a day. They tell me oh I’m sorry that was a mistake it was busy that day. It’s 2 units twice a day. I’m going to continue my search for a better veterinary situation today. So frustrating.

un-be-lievable! So now it's not 3u 1x/day it's 2u 2x/day? That's still too high as a starting dose according to people who specialize in treating diabetic felines. 1u 2x/day is the traditional starting dose. You hold that for 7 days and do as much testing as possible to get an idea of how your cat reacts to the insulin and food, and carbs. It is super logical and reasonable and methodical.

what did you shoot this morning? Your SS doesn't show.
 
Its ridiculous I was so mad about the whole thing, the doctor that was on call was not the same as yesterday and he was like we always start out twice a day and stated that maybe I gave the doctor the impression that with my schedule I couldn't do twice a day, which is totally untrue. I literally told them that I work from home and I can do whatever needs to be done. I just updated my spreadsheet now. At around 1030 he was down to 333. They seem very scattered when I talk to them and like they don't know what they are doing because its a different answer from each person. I don't know why they would start at 3 units, when I asked they stated they normally start them at 3 there. It seems they are a mess. Hes doing well and seems much more himself today with the seizure meds and the insulin but I'm pretty sure hes tired of me looming over him lol.
 
So you're going with 2u 2x a day then I guess.

still high but safer than 3, certainly. Hendrick started on 1u, we slowly increased (following Tight Regulation).

It took six weeks of increases to get to 2u.

During that time we learned how the insulin hit, adjusted feeding times and food types, always tweaking and guiding the numbers with food and learning how his behavior changes as the insulin hits, and when it hits him, and where his nadir lives. (low point)

and some weeks later we ended up at 2.75u 2x/day....and then a miracle happened where the methodical, detailed, structured approach of TR worked.

And now we've reduced the dose 3 times!! We're down to shooting 2u 2x/day now. And his behavior, weight, coat, everything...you wouldn't even know he's diabetic right now. Lucifer will get there I'm sure.

If you're going to stick with the 2u as a starting dose just please do a metric #$%ton of testing for his safety.
 
I’m so happy to hear that Hendrick is doing so well with this. Louf is more himself today, he was even playing again and I haven’t seen him do that for days. He was exhausted yesterday. Yes we will definitely ensure that he is tested and keep track. I wish I didn’t have to poke him to test him I feel terrible but he takes it really well he’s a very relaxed boy to begin with.
 
Ashley --

I'm so sorry that you're having to deal with poor communication from your vet's office. For what it's worth, the starting dose of glargine if you are planning on following the Tight Regulation Protocol is based on weight. (Initial dose. = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms). For most cats, this is around a 1.0u dose. If you opt to follow Start Low Go Slow, the starting dose is 0.5u since you're feeding Lucifer a low carb diet.
 
Good morning Ashley

just keep in mind, if you're truly on board to follow Tight Regulation that it requires at least two tests every cycle. So a pre-shot test and then at least one other test, most commonly a +2 or +3. In the evening if you can get a +2 at 1030pm that would be a really good idea and help you have some idea what is in store for Lucifer that cycle while you sleep.

Many cats go lower in BG at night than during day cycles. Hendrick had his first BG under 50 at 12:30 AM one Sunday night. Under 50 is considered too low and at risk of hypo, which I think you know at this point so sorry if restating.
 
Thank you both. I will keep all this in mind when testing. This morning he is giving me a hard time to eat. He’s refusing just about everything and only ate a slight bit of tuna.
 
Thank you both. I will keep all this in mind when testing. This morning he is giving me a hard time to eat. He’s refusing just about everything and only ate a slight bit of tuna.

Hendrick will do that sometimes too, always gets me worried, but then later as the insulin onsets he changes his mind! With Lantus/Basaglar onset is about 2 hours after shot so you still have time to get more food in him before the insulin hits.

hey somehow I missed the fact that you're shooting Basaglar. We just switched to it from Lantus, so far so good no difference to speak of.
 
I tested him this morning and he was 229 gave him some more food he’s barely eating and now he’s 196. I know I can’t give him his insulin. Does this mean I have to skip his morning again? I’m so upset
 
I am sorry that you encountered such an unprofessional veterinarian. I understand perfectly how you feel. Unfortunately, many vets do not take their work seriously and do not take enough care of our pets. I don't understand them. They are doctors and should be responsible for the life of your pet. I also went through similar situations with the vet I used to go to, and I got to a point when my dog almost died. But I quickly found a professional emergency vet on https://shelterapet.com/vet-near-me/emergency-vet-near-me-24-hour-emergency-vet-near-me-2022/, and due to him, my dog still lives. We must draw great attention to veterinary care.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top