? Constipation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chuckstables

Member Since 2022
Hey folks,

So I woke up this morning to a catbox literally full of poop. Like Sam must've lost like 1/20th of his body weight after that. It was truly absurd.

Then I thought back to the last 3 days; he barely pooped at all. He had like two poops, and they were darker and almost pellet like.

So I'm thinking he's just constipated. I know some people use miralax, but given that a lot of the poop was on the mushier side I'm hesitant. It was really something else; I didn't know a cat could have that much poop.
 
Hey folks,

So I woke up this morning to a catbox literally full of poop. Like Sam must've lost like 1/20th of his body weight after that. It was truly absurd.

Then I thought back to the last 3 days; he barely pooped at all. He had like two poops, and they were darker and almost pellet like.

So I'm thinking he's just constipated. I know some people use miralax, but given that a lot of the poop was on the mushier side I'm hesitant. It was really something else; I didn't know a cat could have that much poop.
Have you ever tried slippery elm with bark I give it & Mirilax to Panzer & his poops have improved so much since I added it in. Yeah them being constipated is not easy especially to see them try & nothing comes out. Are you still feeding Sam the same fancy feast flavors or did you add more? Trying to figure out why he was constipated then dumped it all out at once. How is he acting & feeling?
 
Hey folks,

So I woke up this morning to a catbox literally full of poop. Like Sam must've lost like 1/20th of his body weight after that. It was truly absurd.

Then I thought back to the last 3 days; he barely pooped at all. He had like two poops, and they were darker and almost pellet like.

So I'm thinking he's just constipated. I know some people use miralax, but given that a lot of the poop was on the mushier side I'm hesitant. It was really something else; I didn't know a cat could have that much poop.
I see Sam earned a reduction but I'm not an expert hopefully a more experienced member will look at your spreadsheet & let you know for sure.That's great news:D @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Hey folks,

So I woke up this morning to a catbox literally full of poop. Like Sam must've lost like 1/20th of his body weight after that. It was truly absurd.

Then I thought back to the last 3 days; he barely pooped at all. He had like two poops, and they were darker and almost pellet like.

So I'm thinking he's just constipated. I know some people use miralax, but given that a lot of the poop was on the mushier side I'm hesitant. It was really something else; I didn't know a cat could have that much poop.
How about trying some fiber - a small amount. A lot of times if there is constipation you will first have hard stool followed by soft stool and/or diarrhea. Just make sure he’s having regular stool and, if not, start with a very tiny dose of maybe 1/8 tsp. of miralax. It’s the easiest and is easy to mix into food but slippery elm bark can help as well. Freeze dried pumpkin is a good fiber source as is psyllium husk. Many of my cats don’t like psyllium and some do like pumpkin and some don’t.
 
And I wonder if the clearing of constipation today was the reason for the 47. I’ve seen it before. No matter what, he is doing so great and you deserve so much credit!
 
Oh my gosh this is the second time this has happened to me today. I get a tag and I respond. I later find out that the whole thing has been discussed on a different thread on a different forum or a different post. I am trying to be responsive.
I didn't see the other post either...we are human. I only saw this post & I always look at spreadsheets it's the way I learn:bighug:
 
Feline Health is a great place to talk about topics like constipation, so it was good to start a post about that here. Talking about dosing on two forums can get confusing.
 
Oh my gosh this is the second time this has happened to me today. I get a tag and I respond. I later find out that the whole thing has been discussed on a different thread on a different forum or a different post. I am trying to be responsive.


Hey sorry about that! I know the feeling lol. Here's a link to today's thread for anyone reading, I should've added it to start with.

And I really appreciate your support. Thanks :) https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-26-sam-amps-101-2-56.273485/

He had another big poop last night; he dropped lower again this morning pretty quickly after his (reduced) dose. Down to 56 within 2 hours! But I've picked up the baby squash, gonna give him a bit this evening, hope that it helps a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top