Constipation? & other questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Very Active Member
hello
New here ( again, see my intro post )

For the time being Skittles is eating Hills MD dry, he has been on it for about 2.5 weeks. I noticed that his stool is really dry & not as much as it used to be.

I just checked the litter box and there is no BM . I have 2 cats ( his brother, but his brother went upstairs today, his name is Feisty ) I know Skittles didn't go up there because he hasn't even been upstairs all day. He has neurology ( hoping it will reverse itself once he is regulated)

Has anyone else noticed constipation on this food? Or can it be from his insulin? DX on Oct 13.


I'm having a hard time getting his level down? He was moved up to 4 units a week ago ( Oct 31 ) from 3 units. I am planning on doing a mini curve tomorrow. Today at (1:30 PM) at +4 he was 343 ( gave him 4 units @ 9:30 AM)

If I give his injection between 9:00 -9:30 AM what time do I test him? I want to be sure I am testing at the correct time(s) Ya'll will notice that I second guess myself a lot when it comes to my own furbabies. I have a lot of experience in the animal field and I am an licensed wildlife rehabber and I've had a diabetic baby before, he was on PZI and I got him into remission by learning so much in this group. Dusty has now went to rainbow bridge :rb_icon::(. He would be 14 now, I just had to re-home his sister because of my move. She is now living with my ex-husband who she loved more then me anyway so that makes me happy & easier.

I haven't set up my spreadsheet yet, but plan on doing it ASAP. I am moving in 5 days and spend all my time packing and more packing. And I know its going to take me awhile to set it up .......or I could get my daughter to, she is 15 and can probably do it in no time flat :p

Thank you,
SB & SB :cat:

PS
what does OTJ stand for on the smiley bar ?
 
OTJ is short for "off the juice", used when a cat goes into remission.

Does Skittles drink much water? Especially if eating dry food, lots of water is important. Dehydration can cause constipation.
 
Hi and Welcome Sherri and Skittles,

The constipation could be partly because of the dry food. A vet explains why dry food is dehydrating and why wet low carb food is better here: www.catinfo.org. She also has a food chart:

http://catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

She calculated Hills MD as 14% carbs. We usually suggest feeding under 8-10% carbs. You might consider a lower carb wet food to bring down his levels. If you do change, be sure to monitor carefully as his levels could drop.

It will be great when you get up your spreadsheet. It's a wonderful tool for you, your vet and us, when you need dose advice. For your curve, you need to get a number before you feed/dose him in the morning. Then, it's good to get a test every 2-3 hours during the day. Then a number before he gets his insulin 12 hours later. Those numbers should give you a good idea of when he starts to go down, how low he goes and when he starts back up. ProZinc usually has a smile shaped curve - going slowly down from pre shot to a low nadir and then moving back up to about the same range as your am number.
 
Welcome Sherri and Skittles to FDMB. Sorry to hear about Skittles being dx with diabetes. When Merlin was diagnosed, we were so scared and when we found out that there was so much more to learn about diabetes, than what our vet was telling, we were relieved and felt much more in control. At least, we felt knowledge was somewhat was the key to making Merlin feeling better. So we read everything here from other people, links and other people's spreadsheets. So I would strongly suggest, reading all that you can here. Ok, I am regressing.

At first, Merlin had bouts of constipation at the beginning too. If your kitty is not blocked, then you can give 1/4 tsp of Miralax in AM and PM. Just mix it up in his wet food. You must make sure that your kitty is getting enough water. I used it for several weeks as a daily maintenance. Then I would taper and give it to him once a day. He doesn't get any at this time. If he is blocked, I believe your vet would need to give him an enema. Reiterating what Sue said, dry food does not provide enough water for your kitty. Wet food does. In fact, most here will add water to the wet food; kind of like making gravy. That will ensure adequate water for your kitty.

Back to food and also duplicating what Sue stated above...it is really best to try and get lower than 6% although anything under 10% is better than any of that dry food. Most of us that have multiple cats in our household, have switched all cats to the low carb, wet food (the same as the diabetic cat). That way, it is easier for us and no worries for the diabetic cat to get into bad food (we call it contrabrand or kitty crack). The key to getting your kitty regulated and feeling really good is giving him this low carb, wet food. If high carb food or dry food is continued, it will be extremely difficult to manage this disease. When you transition, you MUST be testing as it may lower your BG number by as much as 100 or more.

He has neurology ( hoping it will reverse itself once he is regulated)

Merlin had this condition and it was really severe. It is called diabetic neuropathy. The symptoms are walking on their back hocks. Severe conditions may also include their front feet. Merlin could never go more than a couple of steps before sitting down. We had to put down rugs all over the place so he wouldn't slip on the tile. To help this condition is to regulate the diabetes and to give them methyl B12; Zobaline. If you go with another product, you must make sure that there are no sugars. Zobaline is a small pink pill and can be crushed and put in his food. Today, you can’t even tell Merlin had it. He can run, jump and walks on his tippy toes now. Here is a link to Zobaline. http://www.ilifelink.com/zobaline-for_diabetic_cats-3_mg_x_60_tablets.html Another option is buying from Vita Cost and this is what Merlin gets today. Here is the link: http://www.vitacost.com/Vitacost-Vitamin-B-12-Methylcobalamin-500-mcg-300-Capsules I give 250mcg in AM and 250 mcg in PM.

Glad that you are going to set up your spreadsheet soon. Please back fill your previous tests and numbers as data collection is going to be your best friend. Do you know what your nadir (middle of the cycle) numbers are? With Prozinc, it is very important to know your pre-test numbers and nadir. Have you had a chance to read the Prozinc protocol? It is found in the sticky of the Prozinc Forum but here is the link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/protocol-for-prozinc-pzi.109077/

Oh, one more thing....have you put together a hypo kit? Always good to be prepared for possible hypo events which means that your cat has reached dangerously low numbers. It can be fatal, hence, the importance of home testing and collecting data in a spreadsheet. In each of the Insulin Forums are stickie’s labeled Hypo Links. Here is one: How to Handle a Hypo. Please print and post on your refrigerator so everyone in your household is aware of hypo symptoms. You will want to create your hypo kit that would include and not limited to; extra testing strips, honey/karo/maple syrup, high carb food, medium carb food, vet information, etc.

Let us know when you have questions. There are some wonderful folks here that are able to help.
 
Last edited:
Welcome Sherri and Skittles! Everyone has already given you great info. I won't repeat what they've told you, since it was all perfect! Please let us know what questions you have. It's pretty overwhelming, even when you've had a sugar baby before. We're happy to help!
 
I 100% believe that all cats should be fed canned food even without any health problems. Only using Hills MD dry cause #1. I had to get something for his diabetes right then #2 he can not jump right now and any can food I put down my dog will eat it. So I fully understand about can food and plan on using it asap. I just have to figure out how to keep kona from eating it, I have no idea how my new place set up is going to be yet. I move in 5 days ( Kona is my dog )
I have a few cans of food left over before and its some listed on the food chart its, Fancy Feast chicken feast classic and Friskies turkey & chicken dinner w cheese pate , friskies Poultry platter pate and I also have 1 can of Royal Canin glycobalance
How do I feed the can, meaning with the dry its out all the time and he can eat whenever he needs to. With the can I cant let it sit out all the time since it will get dry, go bad and kona will eat it
. I have so much stuff on my mind right now I cant remember how it did it before. I am VERY stressed out right now. I actually lost my home of 10 years and am being forced to this move I am doing. Plus I dont even have a job (YET)
Skittles drinks tons of water

my vet hasnt even mentioned Methyl B12 or Zobaline to me at all! Truth be told, Im sure I will be switching vets. I ask a LOT of questions and I can tell she doesnt like that. Im the type of person that if I dont know something I will ask questions, thats how I learn and just the way it will be. I tried asking her questions about food, but just gave up when she got mad and just told to feed the Hills MD. I know from past experience that there's better food for my cat

I do not know his Nadir number yet, I have only done one curve and afterwards he went from 3 units to 4 units. This was on Oct 31. Do you want the numbers from that day? I have tested him on and off and can post those numbers.

here are his numbers from Oct 31 , not sure if Im listed them as ya'll are used to. But will do that next time
Preshot 491
gave 3 units at 9:30 AM ( moved from 3 uints to 4 units for his 9;30 PM injections per vet )

@ +4 ( 1:30 ) 252

@+ 8 ( 5:30 ) 431

@+12 ( 9:30 PM) shoot! cant figure it out now, my meters days are one off and going back is weird with the way my meter listed stuff...dont notice that before

On Oct 27 He was moved from 2 units to 3 units ~ 9 days earlier
9:00 AM so high all the meter said was "Hi" gave me no number. gave 3 units
at 11:00 -527
at 2:00-210

I do have karo , but dont have any more keto sticks but plan on getting some today. I had planned on doing a curve today but my alarm doing go off and I am running late for church. I just went ahead and gave him insulin. I have to go to church now, will be back later :)
 
Last edited:
It sounds like you have a lot on your plate right now. I hope we can make your life a little easier. On 10/27 he got a huge drop from Hi to 210. So I am wondering if he is bouncing from lower numbers to higher ones. As you get more numbers, the picture will be come clearer - promise.

Lots of people freeze the wet food. A silicone cupcake works great for this; it's just the size of a Fancy Feast can. Or you can use an automatic feeder with cold pack. I love my PetSafe 5.

If you want, I will take one issue off your plate. I can put your spreadsheet together. I will send you a private message. (Look up on the right hand top of the page and it will have a red one on Private Conversations.

The protocol we put together is in blue in my signature. It may help.

Breathe! We will help you with him.
 
Thank you everyone!
Sue--- I am going to take you up on your offer with my spreadsheet :facepalm:...Thank you very much!!!

So when he is at 300-350 is it not as bad as I think it is? I was comparing that number to 100-150 as a normal range?

His brother has always been very stocky/muscly but now he weighs 20 pounds! On 10/13/15 skittles was 13 pounds. I tested feisty on 10/14 and he was at 89. Do ya'll think I should be testing him too,if so how often? He also eats Hills MD now and I just saw him having a pretty dry, small BM...so Im thinking it is the food

I went to walmart but forgot , so I am going back. What meter do ya'll like from there? I dont like how its difficult to go back in my history on the one Im using. I cant spend much though and for the test strips. I have a few left over from my previous cat that also has diabetes which are FreeStyle Freedom lite, One touch Ultra Mini and Ascensia Breeze 2. Do any of ya'll like those? The one Im using now is in my siggy
 
Last edited:
The Walmart Relion Confirm, Confirm Micro (both use the smallest blood droplet,) or Prime (cheapest test strips) have worked well for folks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top