considering switching to Levemir---need info for my vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
Hi

I have had my cat on Lantus for the last 4 months and I still cannot get him regulated. Im considering switching to Levemir. Problem is my vet has never heard of it. The sticky "Prerequisits-if you are considering Levemir" is great but there are important links on that page that dont work. Particularly the first two under "Referring your vet to the following links...." section.

Does anyone know where I can find that info? I would like to send it to my vet

thanks!
Michele
 
Michele, it looks like the University of Queensland removed the article that is linked in that Sticky...

You can follow the link, and get the UQ error message, then type "levemir" into their search box. There are two pdf files that come up. The second one has some comparisons between the various insulins, so you might find some good information there.

Also, from the Sticky, check out the pet diabetes wikia site. There is a lot of information there. I notice they have the same link issues to the UQ site.

I also found this article (pdf file) just now: www.todaysveterinarypractice.com/mags/1307/T1307F01.pdf‎
(hmmmm, looks like you need to copy and paste that into your browser to find it).
Hope that helps.
 
Me again1

Well, reading that article, I would not use it for anything other than to indicate that levemir/detrimir exists and that other vets know about it and find it a very good insulin for cats. The dosing protocol in it is flawed*, as is their claim that human meters don't work for home monitoring. At least they recognize the value of home testing.

* They suggest a 1u dose increase if preshots are above 216 and/or nadir is above 180. That is a heck of an increase. They also suggest that nadir is at +4, which is generally not the case with levemir. Lev nadirs are usually in the +7 to +9 range but can happen at any time in the cycle (if very early (+0 to +4) that is probably actually a very late nadir from the previous cycle...).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top