Dragonfly229
Member Since 2012
Due to the shortage of ProZinc, and the fact that Linus has never had great numbers on it, I'm thinking it's an opportune time to change insulin and try something new. We are a busy family, and we do our very best with shot timing, but it's not always the perfect 12/12. Can we do this with Levemir? We can be up to an hour early and sometimes up to 2 hours late depending on everyone's activities. I do try to compensate when possible and split the time difference with the next dose.
Linus has been on ProZinc since January, his numbers are stable but not normal, 300-375 at pre shot, nadirs in the high 200's at best. I have tried to increase the dose, and he goes to high flat 300's each time. I am holding in the 1u to 1.4u range, shooting a little bit of a sliding scale. My spreadsheet is not up to date, we have been busy and out of town off and on, but I always test before shots, and in the middle when I'm around. You can get an idea of the kind of schedule we keep, though.
Any input appreciated. I would like to try something other than ProZinc, he hasn't done that well on it, and the only option left is to go for dramatically higher doses in hopes that that would force his numbers down instead of up. I need to call the vet for a prescription, and would like to have my ducks in a row when I do. Thanks!
Linus has been on ProZinc since January, his numbers are stable but not normal, 300-375 at pre shot, nadirs in the high 200's at best. I have tried to increase the dose, and he goes to high flat 300's each time. I am holding in the 1u to 1.4u range, shooting a little bit of a sliding scale. My spreadsheet is not up to date, we have been busy and out of town off and on, but I always test before shots, and in the middle when I'm around. You can get an idea of the kind of schedule we keep, though.
Any input appreciated. I would like to try something other than ProZinc, he hasn't done that well on it, and the only option left is to go for dramatically higher doses in hopes that that would force his numbers down instead of up. I need to call the vet for a prescription, and would like to have my ducks in a row when I do. Thanks!
