donnancarolina
Member Since 2010
Connor is going in Wednesday to have 3 lumps removed from his right hip (fibrosarcoma). He's had a time with the BG levels but he's getting nicely regulated lately.
So, I wanted to make sure I knew what to do for testing and dosing for his surgery. I put this together and wanted to know if this looks about right or should I be doing something different.
Vet said he could eat before surgery (that's why I have that entered). After everybody has a chance to comment I'll be taking this to my vet to make sure she concurs.
=================================================================================
Tuesday
9PM - test and give normal dose (4.0)
10PM - final meal for the day
Wednesday
7AM - test, skip dose
- feed small meal
8AM - check-in at vet (take test results from last few days, high carb food and regular DM)
SURGERY
- need an IV for dextrose if needed during anethesia/surgery
- monitor BG levels during anethesia/surgery
After surgery - if BG < 100 give hi-carb food, else regular DM
3PM - pick up
- test
- offer food (hi carb food if BG < 100)
6PM - test & feed
9PM - test & feed
- normal dose (4.0) if BG > 100
- if BG < 100, feed and retest to make sure it's rising
10PM - half dose (4.0) if BG < 100 and rising
=============================================================================
Sound about right?
Thanks for looking at this for me!
Donna
So, I wanted to make sure I knew what to do for testing and dosing for his surgery. I put this together and wanted to know if this looks about right or should I be doing something different.
Vet said he could eat before surgery (that's why I have that entered). After everybody has a chance to comment I'll be taking this to my vet to make sure she concurs.
=================================================================================
Tuesday
9PM - test and give normal dose (4.0)
10PM - final meal for the day
Wednesday
7AM - test, skip dose
- feed small meal
8AM - check-in at vet (take test results from last few days, high carb food and regular DM)
SURGERY
- need an IV for dextrose if needed during anethesia/surgery
- monitor BG levels during anethesia/surgery
After surgery - if BG < 100 give hi-carb food, else regular DM
3PM - pick up
- test
- offer food (hi carb food if BG < 100)
6PM - test & feed
9PM - test & feed
- normal dose (4.0) if BG > 100
- if BG < 100, feed and retest to make sure it's rising
10PM - half dose (4.0) if BG < 100 and rising
=============================================================================
Sound about right?
Thanks for looking at this for me!
Donna